AI and God
What can artificial intelligence teach us about religion? What can religion teach us about machine intelligence? Why do so many of us seem to have a drive to treat AI as god-like or the embodiment of evil? This section will explore these questions and many others but ultimately will look at what it means to be human in a world of continuing advancements in the field of machine intelligence. We will examine seminal texts as well as current work on the topic from a multitude of disciplinary perspectives.
Featured Books
Hover over the title words to view a book's description.
-
-
-
-
-
Science and Religions in America
by
ISBN: 9781000820720Publication Date: 2022 -
-
Gather Background Information
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall).
-
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
-
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Offers nearly 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
-
Religion - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Resource for religious studies programs and for anyone researching religious issues and perspectives. This resource presently has more than 260 journals, with most of them available with full-text. The content is full-text, scholarly, and designed to meet the needs of both religious studies programs and general library collections.
Journals
Zygon: Journal of Religion & Science - An international forum for exploring ways to unite what in modern times has been disconnected: values from knowledge, goodness from truth, religion from science. Scroll to the bottom of the page to choose issues to browse.
Scholarly Articles
Cantwell Smith, Brian. “Artificial Intelligence and Ultimate Questions.” Toronto Journal of Theology, vol. 36, no. 1, 2020, pp. 90–92.
Midson S. “Robo-Theisms and Robot Theists: How Do Robots Challenge and Reveal Notions of God?” Implicit Religion, vol. 20, no. 3, 2017, pp. 299–318.
Mokoena, Katleho K. “A Holistic Ubuntu Artificial Intelligence Ethics Approach in South Africa.” Verbum et Ecclesia, vol. 45, no. 1, 2024.
Oviedo, Lluís. “Artifical Intellgence and Theology: Looking for a Positive-But Not Uncritical - Reception." Zygon, vol. 57, no. 4, 2022, pp. 938–52.
Rähme, Boris. “Artificial Intelligence and Religion Between Existing AI and Grand Narratives.” Material Religion, vol. 17, no. 4, 2021, pp. 547–49.
Library Session Materials
-
Session 1 SlidesResources, Narrowing Topics, and Search Strategies
News & Magazines
-
The New York TimesActiviate your free digital pass
-
The Wall Street JournalActiviate your free digital pass
-
Science - The magazine 1880-2011 in JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This is the archive. Current access is provided by TU through the Science website.
-
Science - The magazine 1997-current This link opens in a new window
This is access to the Science magazine webbsite. Coverage is 1997-current. Back issues of Science are available in JSTOR.
Primary Sources
-
How AI threatens religion: An interview with John PittardProfessor John Pittard "explores the risks to spirituality and religion posed by artificial intelligence" on the Yale Divinity School podcast "Quadcast".
-
What does AI have to say about religion?Sr. Rose Pacatte, a Catholic sister and journalist, interviews GPT-3 about religion.
