Course Description--Fashion The Avatars of Style in Society
How did the idea of Haute Couture develop? Why is champagne the toasting drink of choice for celebrations? What made Coco Chanel famous? What possesses people to spend fortunes on the latest trend? What does the image we put out to the world say about us as humans? This class will address these and myriad other questions concerning how Fashion "fashions" our society in ways that are both fruitful and pernicious. The production of fashion and luxury items, their distribution, and the acquisition of wealth they require, all point to philosophical, ethical, political, and social issues. Fashion and style spark questions involving social justice (sweatshops), health and psychology (body image), the economy (globalization), and the environment (sustainability), among many others.
Suggested Searches
Here are some example searches on your class topic in the library catalog. To conduct your own searches, go to the library homepage.
Recommended eBooks & Print Books
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
Fashion Through History: Costumes, Symbols, Communication
by
ISBN: 9781527511965Publication Date: 2017 -
-
-
-
-
Putting on the Dog: The Animal Origins of What We Wear
by
ISBN: 9781595348654Publication Date: 2019 -
-
Gather Background Information
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
-
FashionProvides background information and articles on the fashion industry.
Databases--Find Scholarly Articles
Below are suggested databases with scholarly articles on these topics.
Need more options? Library Databases A-Z
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,800 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
-
Communications and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides articles in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 500 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 690 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 380 journals.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall).
Do We Have the Journal?
-
A-Z Journal Finder - Do We Have That Journal? This link opens in a new window
Discover if we have the journal that you are looking for and which years are available.
Some journals that relate to your course topic are below.
- Fashion Theory: The Journal of Dress, Body and Culture
- Journal of Business Ethics (type "fashion in the search box)
- Sustainability: Science, Practice, & Policy (type "fashion" in the search box)
Scholarly Articles
The scholarly articles below provide some information about topics relating to your assignment.
Library PowerPoints & Activities
Citation Information
-
"MLA Formatting and Style Guide." The Purdue OWL, Purdue U Writing Lab, 2022This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook (9th ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Films
-
Films On Demand: Humanities & Social Sciences Collection - Master Academic This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library, in the dorm, or at home. Films and film clips can be embedded in course management system (Moodle).
Your Librarian
300 N. Broadway
Lexington, KY 40508-1797