Race, Power, and Resistance: Reacting to America's Past
In this section, students will participate in two historical role playing games from the Reacting to the Past (RTTP) series. In each game, students will be placed in a moment of intense intellectual, political and cultural controversy from the past and play the role of a character from that period as they seek to advance a particular policy agenda and achieve their victory objectives by giving speeches, conducting informal debates and negotiations, and engaging in direct actions. Students will examine and reflect upon events and developments from antebellum America that came to shape many of the social, racial, and economic challenges and inequities of the contemporary United States. These topics, which include slavery, abolition, Native American removal and genocide, sovereignty, and secessionism, will be explored by playing the following games: Red Clay: Cherokee Removal and the Meaning of Sovereignty (1835) and Kentucky: Loyalty, State, and Nation (1861).
Possible Catalog Searches
Click on some of the sample searches about your class topics below in the library catalog:
Recommended Ebooks--Native American Removal
Click on this link to search for books and articles on your topic. Type keywords relating to your topic in the box under "Search Everything."
Check out these books in print and/or online for further reading on Native American removal.
Red Clay 1835 by Call Number: Transy Library General E99.C5 W438 2022ISBN: 9781469670645Publication Date: 2022-07-01
Recommended Ebooks--Kentucky and Secessionism
Click on this link to search for books and articles on your topic. Type keywords relating to your topic in the box under "Search Everything."
Check out these books in print and/or online for further reading on Kentucky and Secessionism.
Gather Background Information
Use broad reference materials to find out background information about your topic. This will help you narrow your future searches and will also give you keywords to find the most relevant sources. Credo can be a good place to start for that first step in research.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
- Native American RemovalReference sources and a mind map on Native American removal.
- Kentucky SecessionProvides information about the division in Kentucky during the Civil War. Explains Kentucky's neutral stance and eventual allegiance with the Union.
Additional databases--find scholarly articles
Below are suggested databases with scholarly articles on these topics.
Need more options? Library Databases A-Z
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887. - Communications and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides articles in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 500 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 690 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 380 journals. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall). - Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Scholarly Articles--Native American Removal
Below are some scholarly articles about Native American Removal.
Scholarly Articles--Kentucky and Secession
Below are some articles about Kentucky and slavery.
Scholarly Articles--Related Topics
Ebooks & Print Books--Related Topics
Library PowerPoints & Activities
Primary Sources
The websites below contain materials, such as letters, newspaper articles, and congressional documents and debates, created during the following historical events: Native American Removal and the American Civil War.
Videos
The videos below provide information about the Trail of Tears and Richard Pratt's educational system for Native Americans.
Citation Information
- "MLA Formatting and Style Guide." The Purdue OWL, Purdue U Writing Lab.This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook (8th ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
- MLA Citation ExamplesUMUC Library Guide--Great item-by-item examples
Your Librarian
300 N. Broadway
Lexington, KY 40508-1797