Course Description-Happy Societies
What makes a happy society? Why do some countries rank consistently at the top in the World Happiness Report? What role do issues of equity play in collective happiness? This section will explore what sort of society allows people to live well and how we can create a happy and egalitarian society. While exploring various measures of individual and collective well-being, we will also problematize the idea of individual happiness and current notions of self-help. Among other texts, we will focus on Anu Partanen's The Nordic Theory of Everything: In Search of a Better Life and we will compare and contrast life in the United States with life in the Nordic countries, particularly in Finland and Denmark.
Access the textbook for this course below.
The Nordic Theory of Everything by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780062316554Publication Date: 2017-06-27
Possible Catalog Searches
Here are some example searches on your class topic in the library catalog. To conduct your own searches, go to the library homepage.
Recommended Books & eBooks
Cooperation and Conflict the Nordic Way by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783110444278Publication Date: 2016-01-29
Introduction to the Finnish Educational System by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789004394285Publication Date: 2019-02-07
The Nordic Edge: Policy Possibilities for Australia by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780522877632Publication Date: 2021
PISA and Global Education Policy: Understanding Finland's Success and Influence by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9004407537Publication Date: 2019
Gather Background Information
Use broad reference materials to find out background information about your topic. This will help you narrow your future searches and will also give you keywords to find the most relevant sources. Credo can be a good place to start for that first step in research.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
- Nordic ModelProvides background information about the Nordic Model.
Introduction to Nordic Cultures by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781787354005Publication Date: 2020-09-01
Databases with Articles
Need more options? Library Databases A-Z
Need a specific journal? Journals A-Z
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887. - Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,800 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. - ERIC This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall). - PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. - Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world’s largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for over 560 journals. - Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Scholarly Articles
The scholarly articles below provide some information about topics relating to your assignment.
Library PowerPoints & Activities
Additional Resources
- Finland's Educational Successes: Dan Rather Reports on Global Education Systems"Finland has transformed its public school system to one that consistently produces some of the world's best students. Its students spend less time in the classroom than any other industrialized nation and the government spends $3,000 dollars less per student than the United States. Learn the secrets behind their success and how America might incorporate the methodology on this episode of Dan Rather Reports."
- Nordic Health & Welfare Statisics"NHWStat is the shared website for the Nordic Medico-Statistical Committee (NOMESCO) and the Nordic Social Statistical Committee (NOSOSCO)." The site provides health and social statistics about the Nordic Countries.
- The Nordic ModelThis website is published by Aarhus University and contains articles, films, and podcasts about the Nordic Model.
- Nordic Statistics Database"Nordic Statistics is a collection of comparative Nordic statistics which has existed and been funded by the Nordic Council of Ministers since the mid-1960s. "
News Resources
- NPR (National Public Radio) National Public Radio is a privately and publicly funded non-profit membership media organization that delivers breaking national and world news. Also top stories from business, politics, health, science, technology, music, arts and culture.
- Newsbank : America's News This link opens in a new window
America’s News covers newspapers from around the country. Updated daily, this resource offers current and archived articles and video clips from news sources nationwide. It includes content for the Lexington Herald Leader. - Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. - New York Times Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
To get full access to the nytimes.com website create an account at the site linked above using your Transy.edu email address. Don't forget to check your email to verify. - WSJ.com (The Wall Street Journal) sign up This link opens in a new window
Get full access to the business newspaper of record, The Wall Street Journal, website using your Transy.edu email address. Create your personal account at http://wsj.com/transy, then go to your email to verify. Read the Wall Street Journal at wsj.com
Media Bias Chart
Citation Information
- MLA Formatting & Style Guide The Purdue OWL, Purdue U Writing Lab, 2022This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook (9th ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Your Librarian
Katrina Salley
Contact:
Transylvania University Library
300 N. Broadway
Lexington, KY 40508-1797
300 N. Broadway
Lexington, KY 40508-1797
859.233.8410