Possible Catalog Searches
Here are some example searches on your class topic in the library catalog:
Gather Background Information
Use broad reference materials to find out background information about your topic - this will help you narrow your future searches and will also give you keywords that will help you find the most relevant sources. Credo or the Encyclopedia Britannica can be good places to start for that first step in research.
-
GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Search many top encyclopedias on multiple topics for background information on your topic. Articles in these encyclopedias are written by experts.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
Recommended Reference Books
Try these sources for background information and a brief overview of key ideas related to your chosen topic.
-
-
-
Manga
by
Publication Date: 2010
Class resources
- 1st library session for Lin's class - slides
- 2nd session for Lin's class - slides
Recommended Books & eBooks
Check out these books in print and/or online for further reading on your topic once you've gotten started.
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
Hayao Miyazaki's World Picture
by
Publication Date: 2015 -
Japanese Visual Culture
by
Publication Date: 2008 -
The Moral Narratives of Hayao Miyazaki
by
Publication Date: 2016 -
-
-
-
Search the catalog for more books
Search for books and other materials that you have immediate access to through Transy.
Films
Studio Ghibli Films are available from HBOmax.
Some are on reserve at the library.
Scholarly Articles
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall).
-
Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time-frames—to give students, professors, and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
Scholarly Article
Is it scholarly?
Quirk, Monice Alice. “Stepping into the Bathhouse: Physical Space and Shinto Revival in Miyazaki’s Spirited Away.” Intermountain West Journal of Religious Studies, vol. 11, no. 1, Fall 2021, pp. 19–33.
Gatti, Tom. “Animating Principle.” New Statesman, vol. 143, no. 5209, May 2014, pp. 52–53.
JACKSON, PAUL. “Pigs Might Fly.” Screen Education, no. 74, Winter 2014, pp. 46–51
Alexandra Roedder. “The Localization of Kiki’s Delivery Service.” Mechademia, vol. 9, 2014, pp. 254–67.
Citation Info
-
"MLA Formatting and Style Guide." The Purdue OWL, Purdue U Writing Lab.This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook (8th ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Your Librarian
Section Topic
Fantasy and Reality: The Worlds of Miyazaki Hayao. In this section of FYRS, we will take a journey through wondrous worlds created by the celebrated Japanese anime artist/director Miyazaki Hayao (in works such as My Neighbor Totoro (1988) and Spirited Away (2001)). Through the study of his memorable female characters, unique narrative structures, and distinctive thematic and visual elements, we will examine the ways in which Miyazaki envisioned his fantasy worldscapes which, with the mixture of fantastic and realistic details, are both exotic and recognizable, ideal and real. We will also investigate the ways in which Miyazaki used fantasy to bridge past and present as well as to connect traditional and contemporary Japanese cultures. Special attention will be given to the relationships and differences between Miyazaki's anime and Western cartoons, particularly Disney films, as we explore the impact of Miyazaki's works on modern society and art world.