Course Description: Health Inequalities
Health Inequalities: How are health and illness produced through biological, social, and cultural processes that impact individual bodies? How do health and illness affect social outcomes of individuals and communities? This section will explore the role that cultural understandings of race, gender, and difference played -- and continue to play -- in the development of Western science and medicine. Considering the dynamics of various forms of power, we will examine the structures that mediate health inequalities and the ways that power influences the distribution of illness and well-being in a society.
Possible Catalog Searches
Sample searches on your class topic in the library catalog:
Recommended Books & eBooks
Click on this link to search for books and articles on your topic. Type keywords relating to your topic in the box under "Search Everything."
Check out these books in print and/or online for further reading on your topic once you've gotten started.
Black Health : The Social, Political, and Cultural Determinants of Black People's Health by ISBN: 9780197620281Publication Date: 2023
A City Without Care : 300 Years of Racism, Health Disparities, and Health Care Activism in New Orleans by ISBN: 9798890862938Publication Date: 2023
Just Health: Treating Structural Racism to Heal America by ISBN: 9781479802685Publication Date: 2022
Just medicine : a cure for racial inequality in American health care by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781479899630Publication Date: 2015
My Quest for Health Equity: notes on learning while leading by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781421438320Publication Date: 2020-09-08
Understanding and Navigating Discrimination in America by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780780819023Publication Date: 2021-02-17
Unequal Cities: structural racism and the death gap in America's largest cities by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781421441009Publication Date: 2021-09-07
Gather Background Information
Use broad reference materials to find out background information about your topic. This will help you narrow your future searches and will also give you keywords to find the most relevant sources. Credo can be a good place to start for that first step in research.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
- Health EquityProvides a mind map and articles on health equity.
- Social Determinants of HealthProvides a mind map and articles on social determinants of health.
Additional databases--find scholarly articles
Multidisciplinary databases for all FYRS classes
Need more options? Library Databases A-Z
Scholarly Articles
Below are journals that contain articles relating to your course topics. Use keywords to search for articles on your topic.
A few scholarly articles on topics relating to your course are below.
Additional Resources
- Office of Health Equity Reports"This page includes select publications and scientific articles relevant to minority health by the Office of Health Equity (OHE), CDC, HHS, and others."
- Centers for Disease Control and PreventionData and statistics gathered by the CDC.
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development"The OECD Health Database offers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries. It is an essential tool to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from international comparisons of diverse health systems."
- World Health Statistics"WHO's annual World Health Statistics reports present the most recent health statistics for the WHO Member States."
- Movement Is Life (Podcast Series)"This podcast highlights disparities evidenced in common chronic conditions featured in the “vicious cycle”. . . with emphasis on disparities and how social determinants of health impact these conditions and their management."
News Resources
- NPR (National Public Radio) National Public Radio is a privately and publicly funded non-profit membership media organization that delivers breaking national and world news. Also top stories from business, politics, health, science, technology, music, arts and culture.
- Newsbank : America's News This link opens in a new window
America’s News covers newspapers from around the country. Updated daily, this resource offers current and archived articles and video clips from news sources nationwide. It includes content for the Lexington Herald Leader. - Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. - New York Times Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
To get full access to the nytimes.com website create an account at the site linked above using your Transy.edu email address. Don't forget to check your email to verify. - WSJ.com (The Wall Street Journal) sign up This link opens in a new window
Get full access to the business newspaper of record, The Wall Street Journal, website using your Transy.edu email address. Create your personal account at http://wsj.com/transy, then go to your email to verify. Read the Wall Street Journal at wsj.com
Citation Information
- "MLA Formatting and Style Guide." The Purdue OWL, Purdue U Writing Lab, 2022This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook (9th ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Your Librarian
Katrina Salley
Contact:
Transylvania University Library
300 N. Broadway
Lexington, KY 40508-1797
300 N. Broadway
Lexington, KY 40508-1797
859.233.8410