Library Student Worker Handbook

Like most academic libraries, we use the Library of Congress (LC) classification system for arranging books and other materials on the shelf to make them easy to find and return.  “LC” is easier for managing large collections than the Dewey system, which you may already be familiar with from your use of school and public libraries.  Like the Dewey system, the LC system puts subjects and topics near each other on the shelf.  Check out the LC classification outline to see what subjects the leading letters indicate.

The LC system is similar to Dewey, except that it is an alpha-numeric system, rather than just numbers. You will receive training on LC shelving when you begin work at the library, and should always ask for help if you are unsure of shelving procedures.

An LC call number may look like this on the spine of a book:

PQ
2660
.A4
2004

OR in the online catalog like this:  PQ2660 .A4  2004

The first section of the call number, noted by a letter or letters, represents the subject area, so it is read alphabetically.  This is followed by a number, and the letter number combination is read in alphabetical and numerical order.

The third line or section of the call number, which features a decimal with letter and number usually represents the author of the work.  This should be read as a decimal point.  For example, .A35 would come before .A4 on the shelf.  Sometimes there is a fifth section with a letter/number combination, and this is read the same way.  The last section showing the year represents the date of publication

There are multiple shelving locations for books/materials in the library. Sometimes these are referred to as collections.

Click here to view a tutorial on how to locate the library's collections.

Below is a description and location for each collection.

• General - This is the big main collection.  Items are shelved on the three levels of the main stacks beyond the quiet area.
  • The lower level houses call numbers A - HC
  • The main level houses call numbers HD - PQ3999
  • The upper level houses call numbers PQ4000 - Z
• Reserves - Contains books that professors have placed on reserve for students in their courses. These books do not leave the library. Students view them for a specified time (a few hours) in the library. They are stored on shelves behind the circulation desk and have a maroon "Transylvania University" slip marked as a "Reserve" item.
• Reference - Labeled “Ref” above the call number. Shelved to the right of the circulation desk. Can be shelved immediately.
• New Books: Contains the library’s new books. It is on a wall behind the Reference section and next to the computer station on the active side of the main floor. The catalog system indicates if a book is shelved in this area.
• Project One: Has readings, videos, and other resources that support diverse viewpoints. Items in this collection have a “Project One” label above the call number. They are located on the active side of the main floor near the Reference section.
• Education Collection (children's books) - Has distinguishing labels (i.e. Juvenile has a blue castle tag; Young Adult has a YA tag) and are located just inside the quiet section of the lbrary. These books are placed on a separate cart for shelving.
• Special Collections - In general, these will not be at the front desk. Special Collections materials will be available on a case-by-case basis and must be viewed in the library. If you see something with a "Spec Coll" tag, leave it on the hold shelf and let a librarian know.
• Transylvania University (TU) Publications - These are articles and books written by TU faculty and staff.  There is a shelf of books in the first cubby to the left in the quiet area. There are also articles located on display shelves in front of study carrels in the quiet study area. 
• Popular Fiction - Do not have a call number. Just contains the first two initials of the author’s last name. Shelved on the quiet side of the main floor. Can be shelved immediately.
• Oversize - Books that do not fit on regular shelving. They are located on the quiet side of the main floor and have an oversize label (Oversz) above the call number. Can be shelved immediately.
• Transylvania University Yearbooks -  Does not have spine labels. Located on the back wall behind the study carrels in the quiet study area.
• Loeb Collection - Shelved on the quiet side, near the study tables. "Loeb" label above call number, all books in this collection look similar. Can be shelved immediately.
• CD Collection – Located by the stacks on the main floor of the library. The label “MusCD” is above the call number. 
• Back Periodicals -  Contains bound and unbound periodicals, such as magazines and journals. Located in the basement of the Glenn building and accessed through the door at the far end of ACE in the lower level.

A call number is like an address for a book. It tells you exactly where to go to find the book, or where the book should be returned. The call number is made up of letters, whole numbers, decimals, a publication date, and occasionally a volume and/or copy number. This allows for each book to have a specific location. One book’s location cannot be confused with another book's location.

For example, a library patron may wish to find William J. Reese’s book, America’s Public Schools. To find this book the patron must go to the library website and search for the book. After the patron conducts the search they will find this call number in the catalog record record:

LA212 .R423 2005

But the call number looks like this on the spine of the book:

LA
212
.R423
2005

Alphanumeric Subject
The Library of Congress classification system uses the beginning letters (LA in the example above) and first line of numbers (212 in the example above)  to indicate the subject of the book.  In this example, LA 212 = Education > History of Education > United States. As you might expect, the letters are ordered alphabetically. For example, the letter D comes before K, and so forth. Similarly, the letter L (by itself) comes before LA, which comes before LB. The numbers immediately following the first letter(s) are read as whole numbers. For example, 212 comes before 761 but after 115. Sometimes there are decimals in the first number. In these cases, the whole numbers are read as before, but the numbers following the decimal are read as decimals.

How do we read decimals? How are they different from whole numbers?

For example, 212.16 comes before 212.5 because .16 is a smaller decimal number than .50. Similarly, 212.257836 comes before 212.3 because .25783 is a smaller decimal number than .30000.

Cutter Numbers

The next part of the call number (.R423 in our example) is referred to as the Cutter number. It is called a Cutter number after Charles Ammi Cutter, who developed the Cutter Expansive Classification scheme in the late 19th century. This original system was later adapted by the Library of Congress. For more information about Cutter, follow this link: http://www.forbeslibrary.org/about/cacutter.shtml.

Cutter numbers usually refer to the author or title of a book.

Cutter numbers contain letters, which are ordered alphabetically, and decimal numbers. So, for example, .R423 comes after .B76 and .R227, but before .R966 and .T381.

Some books have two Cutter numbers. They are both read as decimals even though the second Cutter number does not contain a decimal (in order to distinguish the two numbers). An example of such a call number is below, with the Cutter numbers in bold:

ML
420
.S77
R33
2004

Date of Publication

The last number in the above example, 2004, is the date of publication. This is to be shelved in chronological order for the same book. For example, a 2004 second edition comes after the original 1978 publication but before the 2006 third edition, and so forth.

Volume Numbers

Sometimes a call number will contain a volume number, labeled v.1, v.2, etc. These are shelved in whole number numerical order within the set of books.

Copy Numbers

A call number will contain a copy number if there are multiple copies of the same book on the shelf, labeled c.1, c.2, etc. These are shelved in whole number order.

One thing to always keep in mind when shelving books and shelf-reading is that nothing comes before something.
If a book contains no volume number, that book comes before a book within a set that does contain a volume number. If a book contains no date in the call number, that book comes before the same book that does have a date in the call number.

Watch this video on the Library of Congress classification system. Then, take the quiz below.

When you have completed the test (whether you've gotten them all correct, or run out of chances), please screenshot the page showing that you've done the shelving quiz, and send it to me at ksalley@transy.edu. If you have any questions, let me know!

As part of your training, it’s time to complete the shelving activities.  Below is an explanation for each shelving activity.

1. Watch the tutorial on the Library of Congress classification system.

2. Take the quiz on the Library of Congress classification system. It is in the last box on the bottom of this  guide.

3. Go to the shelving tab of the Student Worker Handbook. Review the shelving cheat sheet and video on locations of the collections.

4. For each set of flashcards, put the cards in correct order according to LOC call numbers and have your staff member view the order. The flashcards are in the second drawer between the two computer stations at the front desk (lower desk). Have a staff member put the flashcards back in the mixed-up order before putting the cards away or another student worker uses them.

5. Shelve books in correct LOC order on the top shelf of the cart labeled “Shelving Cart Activity.” Books should be shelved in ascending order from left to right. Separate books that do not belong in the general collection (i.e. Reference, Loeb, Project 1, etc.). Show a library staff member and have them provide feedback on your performance of this task.

6. Shelve books in correct LOC order in the stacks. Each student worker will shelve two sets of six books in the stacks. In other words, shelve six books and have your assigned library staff member check the shelving of those six books before proceeding to shelve the remaining six books. Review the shelving tab on the Student Worker Handbook before shelving.