Faculty and Staff Information: Tutorials on Library Resources

Quick Search allows you to search for Transy’s online and print resources in one place. On the library’s homepage, type your search in the “Quick Search” box and hit return/enter. 

You can narrow your search.  Look for the following on the left-hand side of the screen.

• Held By Library: You can choose to search for articles, books, etc. located in libraries worldwide or only by Transy.
• Format: You can select the format of the resource (i.e. print book, ebook, article, etc.).
• Content Type: You can choose full text, peer reviewed, or a specific genre.
• Publication Year: You can select a range of publication years for the sources (i.e. 1980-2023).
• Subject: You can choose one or more subjects to use in your search.

Databases A-Z allows you to search for articles within specific databases that relate to your research topic. You can search for a specific database by using the alphabetical feature or typing the database's name into the search box. In addition, you can search for databases by subject and type (i.e. audio/video). 

You can access news resources (i.e. New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Lexington Herald-Leader, etc.) by selecting the "Subject" category and clicking on "Newspapers and News Sources." The video tutorial below demonstrates how to do this.

To access the library's databases, click on the link above or select “Databases A-Z” under the “Quick Links” section in the bottom left corner of the library’s homepage.

Journals A-Z allows you to see if Transy library owns a particular publication (i.e. journal, magazine, etc.) and consequently, find a specific article for your research. This link can also be found under the “Quick Links” section in the bottom left corner of the library’s homepage.

Directions on searching for an article are below.

• Type the name of the journal, article, or book into the search box.
• If Transy owns the journal, results will appear on the right-hand side of the screen. 
• Look at the years available and select the link to the journal title that includes the year of publication of the article that you need.
• Select the year, volume, and issue number of the journal that you need.
• Click on the title of the article that you need.

The library has streaming videos available for faculty, staff, and students. If you are looking for a specific video, you can enter the title in the search box on the library’s homepage and limit the results to eVideo. You can also look for streaming videos within specific library databases, such as Films on Demand. The "How to Get Streaming Video" tab above and the video tutorial below provide more information on how to find streaming videos for your courses.

Interlibrary Loan allows you to request research materials (i.e. print book or article) from another library when Transy does not own what you need.  You can also click on “Interlibrary Loan” under the “Quick Links” section in the bottom left corner of the library’s homepage.

Directions on how to request an interlibrary loan are below.

• Click on “Submit IL Request."
• Log in using your Transy username and password (same as your email account).
• At the top of the screen, select “Book,” “Journal Article,” or “Other.”
• Provide information about the item that you are requesting.
• Provide your contact information.
• Click on “Submit Request.”

Articles will appear in your email usually within 3-5 days. Books and other items will be mailed to the library. It might take two weeks or longer to receive a print book. Requested books through ILL will be held at the front desk. You will be contacted when the item arrives.