Where to Look for Scholarly Journal Articles
Scholarly articles are published in academic journals, which can be searched in several places:
Searching in Library Databases
We have access to many databases, all of which have different content. Some of our most popular databases include:
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall).
If you are looking for a subject-specific database, browse the A-Z List of Databases by subject.
Looking for a Specific Journal Article
-
A-Z Journal Finder - Do We Have That Journal? This link opens in a new window
Discover if we have the journal that you are looking for and which years are available.
During your research, you might come across a citation for an article that you want to read.
To locate the article with the A-Z journal finder, determine the Journal Title, Year, Volume, and Issue Number for the article.
In this citation example:
Ramos-Galarza, C., et al (2018). Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder: Behavioral report from professors and self-report from university students. Psychology & Neuroscience, 11(1), 95–104.
Search for the journal title in the A-Z Journals
In this case, we have the journal Psychology & Neuroscience for the years 2008-present in the database PsycARTICLES. You can browse the journal in this database to find the relevant volume and issue number.
