Books by Subject
Searching the library catalog via Subject Heading enables you to locate all books in our library organized under a single subject. Click the following links for a list of resources under theses indicated subject headings in our library.
.JPG)
Featured eBooks
Art, Global Maoism and the Chinese Cultural Revolution by ISBN: 9781526117472Publication Date: 2019-11-18
Transmedial Landscapes and Modern Chinese Painting by ISBN: 9780674267947Publication Date: 2023-01-03
Featured Print Books and Art Catalogs
Books about Chinese art history have a call number between N7343 and N7345. They are located in the stacks on the main floor of the library.
Art and Artists of Chinese Modern Painting, 1890-1949 by Call Number: General ND1045.B36 2005ISBN: 9780773461161Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Art and Artists of Twentieth-Century China by Call Number: Oversize on Main Floor N7345.S79 1996ISBN: 0520075560Publication Date: 1996-11-15
ARTiculations by Call Number: General N6538.C48 A76 2010ISBN: 9780691148601Publication Date: 2010-11-21
Art in China by Call Number: General N7340.C59 2009ISBN: 9780199217342Publication Date: 2009-04-15
The Art of Modern China by Call Number: Circulation Desk - 2 Hour Reserves N7345.A53 2012ISBN: 9780520238145Publication Date: 2012-09-24
Blooming in the Shadows by Call Number: General N7345.S53 2011ISBN: 0977405478Publication Date: 2011-09-12
A Century in Crisis by Call Number: Oversize on Main Floor N7345.A53 1998ISBN: 9780810969094Publication Date: 1998-09-30
Chinese Art in an Age of Revolution by Call Number: General ND1049.F8 A4 2011ISBN: 9780300169744Publication Date: 2012-01-08
Contemporary Chinese Art: a History by Call Number: General N7345 W84 2014ISBN: 9780500239209Publication Date: 2014-10-14
Exhibiting Experimental Art in China by Call Number: General N7345 W817 2000ISBN: 9780935573336Publication Date: 2000-02-15
Experimental Beijing: Gender and Globalization in Chinese Contemporary Art by Call Number: General N7345.6.W46 2018ISBN: 9780822369288Publication Date: 2018-04-13
The Future History of Contemporary Chinese Art by Call Number: New Book Shelf N7345.W348 2020ISBN: 9781517909161Publication Date: 2021-01-26
Making History: Wu Hung on Contemporary Art by Call Number: General N7345.W843 2008ISBN: 9789889961701Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Painters and Politics in the People's Republic of China, 1949-1979 by Call Number: General ND1045.A53 1994ISBN: 9780520079816Publication Date: 1995-01-12
Picturing Power in the People's Republic of China by Call Number: General DS778.7 .P535 1999ISBN: 9780847695102Publication Date: 1999-08-31
Transience by Call Number: General N7345.W82 1999ISBN: 9780935573275Publication Date: 1999-09-01
The Winking Owl by Call Number: Oversize on Main Floor N7345.L35 1988ISBN: 0520060970Publication Date: 1989-04-14
Zhang Hongtu by Call Number: General ND1049.Z455 A4 2015ISBN: 9780822360254Publication Date: 2016-04-04
Gather Background Information
Use broad reference materials to find out background information about your topic. This will help you narrow your future searches and will also give you keywords to find the most relevant sources. Credo can be a good place to start for that first step in research. Narrow your topic by focusing on a specific time period, art movement/style, medium, artist, or theme within contemporary and modern Chinese art.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
- Modern Chinese ArtProvides a mind map and articles on this topic.
Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall). - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Asian Art & Culture Journals
Try searching within these publications. Please note that full-text is not available for all of these titles, but we can help you gain access through inter-library loan.
Archives of Asian ArtEach issue presents articles by leading scholars and a selection of outstanding works of Asian art acquired by North American museums during the previous year.
Ars OrientalisArs Orientalis is a peer-reviewed annual volume of scholarly articles and book reviews on the art and archaeology of Asia, including the ancient Near East and the Islamic world.
Artibus AsiaeArtibus Asiae is a semi-annual publication of original scholarly articles, research notes, and book reviews mostly written in English and devoted to the history of art and archaeology of Asia.
Journal of Asian StudiesThe most authoritative and prestigious publication in the field of Asian Studies, each issue of this quarterly contains four to five feature articles on topics involving the history, arts, social sciences, philosophy, and contemporary issues of East, South, and Southeast Asia, as well as a large book review section.
Modern Chinese Literature and Culture (MCLC)Modern Chinese Literature and Culture is a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal devoted to the culture of modern and contemporary China, with “China” understood not in the narrow, political sense. The journal publishes on literature of all genres, film and television, popular culture, performance and visual art, print and material culture, etc.
ONLINE Site https://u.osu.edu/mclc/Orientations
Orientations is an authoritative source of information on the many and varied aspects of the arts of East Asia, the Indian Subcontinent and Southeast Asia and provides invaluable insights into the international Asian art market. Orientations is indexed in Art and Architecture Complete. The library can obtain articles for you via ILL.
Yishu: Journal of Contemporary Chinese ArtEach bi-monthly issue features scholarly essays on topical issues, interviews with artists and curators, conference proceedings, and critical commentary on exhibitions and books.
Do we have the Journal?
- A-Z Journal Finder - Do We Have That Journal? This link opens in a new windowDiscover if we have the journal that you are looking for and which years are available.
Course PowerPoint
- Library PowerPointThis PowerPoint provides information on how to find library sources on your topic.
Websites
Citing Sources
- Chicago Manual of Style online This link opens in a new window
This searchable edition of The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Available are the full contents of the latest edition of the Manual.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan allows you to request research materials (i.e. print book or article) from another library when Transy does not own what you need. You can also click on “Interlibrary Loan” under the “Quick Links” section in the bottom left corner of the library’s homepage.
Articles will appear in your email usually within 3-5 days. Books and other items will be mailed to the library. It might take two weeks or longer to receive a print book. Requested books through ILL will be held at the front desk. You will be contacted when the item arrives.
Directions on how to request an interlibrary loan are below.
- How to submit an ILL RequestView a tutorial on how to get materials that the Transy Library does not have from other libraries by submitting a request for interlibrary loan.