Subject Specific Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Explore the reference resources listed here to develop a working knowledge of your topic. These materials will lead you deeper into the research through their summation of the topic, introduction to related concepts and events, and the bibliographies used to create them.
Online
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
-
GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Search many top encyclopedias on multiple topics for background information on your topic. Articles in these encyclopedias are written by experts.
Print (located in the reference area)
-
History of Art
by
Call Number: Ref: N5300 .J3 2001Publication Date: 2001-03-01Organized chronologically, this encyclopedia includes primary sources, timelines, bibliographies, a directory, a glossary, and index. -
The Dictionary of Art
by
Call Number: Ref: N31 .D5 1996Publication Date: 2003-02-11With 6700 contributors, this encyclopedia covers all aspects of the visual arts in all places at all times, with a weather eye to the contemporary and a discerning eye to the non-Western arts. Coverage includes biographical, geographical, philosophical, and theoretical information, as well as forms and themes, social aspects, and cultural influences.
