Databases vs. the Web
Just because something is available online, that doesn’t mean it is a website. Online subscription databases like those from EBSCO or JSTOR are available because the library has paid to have online access to their materials, which is often more convenient for students and researchers. The open web, however, is exactly the opposite. The information is freely available, but anyone can create and host a site without any regulation. Be cautious when using the open web.
Do we have the Journal?
- A-Z Journal Finder - Do We Have That Journal? This link opens in a new windowDiscover if we have the journal that you are looking for and which years are available.
Other research resources (additional libraries and resources)
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)--Transy Library
If we do not have an item, we may be able to borrow it from another library.
Recommended databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall). - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Newspapers and News Sources
- Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
Alt-PressWatch is a full text database comprised of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Alternative newsweeklies, available in most cities, give readers alternative perspectives on politics, government, policy and culture; report on issues of government. - Newsbank : America's News This link opens in a new window
America’s News covers newspapers from around the country. Updated daily, this resource offers current and archived articles and video clips from news sources nationwide. It includes content for the Lexington Herald Leader. - Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. - New York Times Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
To get full access to the nytimes.com website create an account at the site linked above using your Transy.edu email address. Don't forget to check your email to verify.
- NPR: National Public Radio
National Public Radio is a privately and publicly funded non-profit membership media organization that serves as a national syndicator to a network of 900 public radio stations in the United States. NPR reports national and world news.
Need help?--contact me
Susan Brown
she/her
Contact:
Make an appointment to talk about your research. Or email me for an appointment that works best for you.
859-233-8408