Recommended Reference Books
- GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Search many top encyclopedias on multiple topics for background information on your topic. Articles in these encyclopedias are written by experts.
Try these sources for background information and a brief overview of key ideas related to your chosen topic.
The Anime Encyclopedia by Call Number: REF: NC1766.J3 C53 2006ISBN: 9781933330105Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Do we have that journal?
- A-Z Journal Finder - Do We Have That Journal? This link opens in a new windowDiscover if we have the journal that you are looking for and which years are available.
Chicago Style--Citation
- Chicago Manual of Style online This link opens in a new window
This searchable edition of The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Available are the full contents of the latest edition of the Manual.
presentation
Places to look for articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall). - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Notable Journals--scholarly articles
Try searching within these publications. Please note that full-text is not available for all of these titles, but we can help you gain access through inter-library loan.
Animation Studies Online JournalAnimation Studies is the Society for Animation Studies’ peer-reviewed online journal. It publishes the society’s conference proceedings and is open to submissions from SAS members.
Journal of Asian StudiesThe most authoritative and prestigious publication in the field of Asian Studies, each issue of this quarterly contains four to five feature articles on topics involving the history, arts, social sciences, philosophy, and contemporary issues of East, South, and Southeast Asia, as well as a large book review section.The Journal of Japanese studies
The Journal of Japanese Studies is the most influential journal dealing with research on Japan available in the English language. Since 1974, it has published the results of scholarly research on Japan in a wide variety of social science and humanities disciplines.
MechademiaSubjects for this journal include manga, anime, game design, fashion, graphics, packaging, and toy industries as well as a broad range of fan practices related to pop culture in Japan.
Possible Catalog Searches
Here are some example searches on your class topic in the library catalog:
Recommended Books & eBooks
Check out these books in print and/or online for further reading on your topic once you've gotten started.
Anime: A Critical Introduction by Call Number: NC1766.J3 D46 2015ISBN: 9781847884794Publication Date: 2015
Anime and Its Roots in Early Japanese Monster Art by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789004202870Publication Date: 2010-01-01
