ARTH 2144: Modern Art & ARTH: 2164: American Art
MODERN ART
An investigation of art and visual culture from the Realist revolutions of the mid-nineteenth century to Minimalism and Conceptual Art of the 1970s. Class discussions focus on artists, emblematic works of art, and major movements in art as well as on critical reception of works; readings and discussion will emphasize the political, social, and economic forces that shape the art of this period. Among the topics considered: new processes and materials, popular images, art criticism and critical theories, “major monuments,” and popular images. (Description from course catalog)
AMERICAN ART
This course will examine the history of American Art. In particular, we will examine how American art reflects the social, political and cultural identity of the United States throughout various moments of its history. This course aims to shed light on issues surrounding race, class, gender and sexuality in relation to major movements within American art. (Description from course catalog)
Featured Art Journals and Magazines
Try searching within these publications. Please note that if full-text is not available for a particular article we can help you gain access through inter-library loan.
American ArtCall Number: OnlineEncompasses all aspects of the nation's visual heritage from colonial to contemporary times, including new media, popular culture, and decorative arts and crafts. Primary focus is on fine arts.
Art BulletinCall Number: OnlineThe Art Bulletin publishes leading scholarship in the English language in all aspects of art history as practiced in the academy, museums, and other institutions.
ARTForumCall Number: Available in Print and OnlineArtforum Magazine features in-depth articles and reviews of contemporary art, as well as book reviews, columns on cinema and popular culture, and numerous full-page advertisements from prominent galleries around the world.
Art History: Journal of the Association of Art HistoriansCall Number: OnlineCovers essays and reviews on all aspects, areas and periods of the history of art, from a diversity of perspectives.
Art JournalCall Number: OnlineProvides a forum for scholarship and visual exploration in the visual arts; to be a unique voice in the field as a peer-reviewed, professionally mediated forum for the arts; to operate in the spaces between commercial publishing, academic presses, and artist presses; to be pedagogically useful by making links between theoretical issues and their use in teaching at the college and university levels.
ARTNewsCall Number: Available in Print and Online (minimal online coverage)Founded in 1902, ARTnews is the oldest and most widely circulated art magazine in the world. Its readership includes collectors, dealers, historians, artists, museum directors, curators, connoisseurs, and enthusiasts. It reports on the art, people, issues, trends, and events shaping the international art world.
The Drama Review: TDRCall Number: OnlineTDR provides scholarship on performances and their social, economic and political contexts, with an emphasis on the experimental, avant-garde, intercultural and interdisciplinary.
Woman's Art JournalCall Number: Available in Print and OnlineRepresenting the interests of women and art worldwide, WAJ wants to serve as a forum for re-examining feminist concerns of the women's art movement. Whether the focus is on antiquity or the present day, a woman artist or a burning issue, a new insight or a variation on a familiar theme, many topics are covered, and all voices are welcome.
WorldCat Discovery Quick Search Large Widget
Modern Art Background, Books, Documentaries, etc.
Search for films on specific artists, reference materials on specific artists or works, or identify works via subject headings in the library catalog.
- Films On Demand: Humanities & Social Sciences Collection - Master Academic This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library, in the dorm, or at home. Films and film clips can be embedded in course management system (Moodle). - GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Search many top encyclopedias on multiple topics for background information on your topic. Articles in these encyclopedias are written by experts.
Art & Museum Exhibit Catalogues
Art, Museum, or Exhibition Catalog: In art, a list or enumeration of works of sculpture or architecture, paintings, specific collection, art exhibition, and so on, classed in a certain order. Catalogs may be arranged by medium, artist, chronology, or subject. Usually each item is accompanied by a number and brief description (from McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Art).
Search the library catalog for more art catalogs
Try phrases such as "Art Museum" "Museum Catalog" "Exhibition Catalog" "Art AND Catalog"
The Art Institute of Chicago--Online CatalogsA variety of online art catalogs available for public viewing.
Chardin by Call Number: Gen Coll: ND553 .C4 A413 2000ISBN: 9780300083484Publication Date: 2000-04-10The catalogue of an international exhibition of Chardin's work, timed to coincide with both the twentieth anniversary of the great 1979 Chardin exhibition and the tercentenary of the painter's birth. Beginning at the Grand Palais in Paris, the exhibition travels to the Kunstmuseum im Ehrenhof in Dusseldorf, the Royal Academy of Arts in London, and The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.
Facing History: The Black Image in American Art--1710-1940 by Call Number: Gen Coll: N8232 .M44 1990Publication Date: 1990Catalog of an exhibition held at the Corcoran Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C., Jan. 13-Mar. 25 and the Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn, N.Y., Apr. 20-June 25, 1990.
Modern Women by Call Number: Gen Coll: N8354 .M63 2010ISBN: 9780870707711Publication Date: 2010-06-30This text examines the collection of feminist art in the Museum of Modern Art. It features essays presenting a range of generational and cultural perspectives.
Toledo Museum of Art--Online CatalogsA collection of online museum catalogs available for public viewing.
