Do we have the Journal?
A - Z list of all journals by title
Lists both online & paper, date ranges, and where to find them at TU
Databases vs. the Web
Just because something is available online, that doesn’t mean it is a website. Online subscription databases like those from EBSCO are available because the library has paid to have online access to their materials, which is often more convenient for students and researchers. The open web, however, is exactly the opposite. The information is freely available, but anyone can create and host a site without any regulation. Be cautious when using the open web.
Keywords
As you explore topics, develop a keyword list for your topic. Brainstorm for synonyms, keep track of dates, events, and key people related to your topic. Add to the list as you delve into encyclopedia articles, book chapters, journal articles and other resources.
Religion Databases
Try searching these subject-specific resources to begin your religion research.
Religion is a topic that is discussed and critiqued in tandem with so many facets of society including, but not limited to, education, employment, medicine, law, mental health, etc. Depending on your topic, you may need to explore other database resources from other disciplines.
- All Lib Databases: A-ZSearch for other databases that apply to your unique research topic
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window HeinOnline Academic includes more than 2,700 journals covering political science, criminal justice, law, women’s studies and access to comprehensive coverage of fully-searchable U.S. federal government documents. Search both state and federal case law with Fastcase, a leading legal research service that provides “best-case-first” tools for fast research. The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is included. It also includes classic treatises as well as rare items found in only a handful of libraries around the world.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall).
- Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window Coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Offers nearly 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
- Religion - Proquest This link opens in a new window Resource for religious studies programs and for anyone researching religious issues and perspectives. This resource presently has more than 260 journals, with most of them available with full-text. The content is full-text, scholarly, and designed to meet the needs of both religious studies programs and general library collections.
- Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window Access to more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Search Google Scholar
Did you know that when you are logged into your Transy Google account can help you locate scholarly sources in the library collections? When you do research in Google Scholar, be sure to log into your Transy account. Many of our library holdings are synced with Google Scholar and you can locate more resources when you use both resources together.
- Semantic Scholar This link opens in a new window
"A free, AI-powered academic search engine. Semantic Scholar covers all STM and SSH disciplines including biology, medicine, computer science, geography, business, history, and economics. Nearly 200 million papers are sourced from 550+ partners such as PubMed, Springer Nature, Taylor & Francis, SAGE, Wiley, ACM, IEEE, arXiv, Microsoft Academic, and Unpaywall." If you run into a paywall, ask your librarians how to get the article for free!
Peer Reviewed Vs Popular
Use this chart for a quick reference to determine if your article falls into the peer-review/scholarly or popular realm of publication.
Click image to enlarge
Credit: Syracuse University Library
Inter-Library Loan
- Interlibrary LoanCan't find what you need? We've got you covered. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a FREE service. ILL obtains books, articles, book chapters, and other research materials not owned by Transy Library for students, faculty and staff.
Subject Guide
