EDU 2014: Schooling in U.S. Culture: History, Philosophies, and Diversity
Historically situates current American schools while examining disparate philosophic ideas that have informed schooling practices in the past and now. Issues related to the institution of schooling in a complex and culturally diverse society form an integral part of the course: a major part of the course requires students to view schools through the lenses of dominated populations. Field work required. Prerequisites: FYS 1004 and 1104. IV; V (from Transy College Catalog).
Featured Journals
Education by Call Number: Online
Education Journal by Call Number: Online
Gender & Education by Call Number: Online
Harvard Educational Review by Call Number: Online
History of Education by Call Number: Online
Journal of Philosophy of Education by Call Number: Online
Review of Educational Research. by Call Number: Online
Featured Resources
Search the library catalog and EDU databases featured on the "Find Articles" and "Find Books" tabs for additional resources on your topic.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887. - ERIC This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall). - Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
The Fourth R: conflicts over religion in America's public schools (BOOK) by Call Number: LC111 .D43 2004ISBN: 9780300102178Publication Date: 2004-02-09- Hands on: a year in an eastern Kentucky classroom (DVD VIDEO) byCall Number: LB 1507 .H35 1992 (DVD)Hands on goes inside an eastern Kentucky classroom to examine the potential of a student-centered, democratically run learning environment. Teacher Linda Oxendine-Brown and her 24 second graders are the collective managers of their classroom and the focus of this program which chronicles their activities during the 1989-90 school year in rural Knox County
- A History of education (eVIDEO) byThis program traces the evolution of education through the ages, from oral traditions to its role in today’s ever-changing society, where the need to learn new job skills is a constant necessity.
The Right to Be Out by
An updated edition of this measured, practical, and timely guide to LGBT rights and issues for educators and school officials With ongoing battles over transgender rights, bullying cases in the news almost daily, and marriage equality only recently the law of the land, the information in The Right to Be Out could not be more timely or welcome. In an updated second edition that explores the altered legal terrain of LGBT rights for students and educators, Stuart Biegel offers expert guidance on the most challenging concerns in this fraught context. Taking up the pertinent questions likely to arise regarding curriculum and pedagogy in the classroom, school sports, and transgender issues, Biegel reviews the dramatic legal developments of the past decades, identifies the principles at work, and analyzes the policy considerations that result from these changes. Central to his work is an understanding of the social, political, and personal tensions regarding the nature and extent of the right to be out, which includes both the First Amendment right to express an identity and the Fourteenth Amendment right to be treated equally. Acknowledging that LGBT issues affect people of every sexual orientation and gender identity, Biegel provides a road map of viable strategies for school officials and educators. The Right to Be Out, informed by the latest research-based findings, advances the proposition that a safe and supportive educational environment, built upon shared values and geared toward a greater appreciation of our pluralistic society, can lead to a better world for everyone.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781452957982Publication Date: 2018-10-23
Students With Interrupted Formal Education : Bridging Where They Are and What They Need by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781506359663Publication Date: 2017
Vernacular Insurrections by
Relates Black Freedom Movements to literacy education.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781438446370Publication Date: 2013-04-02
Featured Authors and Theorists
- Aristotle--books, articles, filmsAristotle was a Greek philosopher and scientist and is well-known to educators for his philosophy of education.
John Dewey--books, articles"John Dewey was an American philosopher and educator who was a founder of the philosophical movement known as pragmatism, a pioneer in functional psychology, and a leader of the progressive movement in education in the United States."
Jonathan Kozol--books, articlesJonathan Kozol is an American writer, educator, and activist best known for his books on public education in the United States.
Maria Montessori--books, articles"Maria Montessori was an Italian physician and educator best known for the philosophy of education that bears her name, and her writing on scientific pedagogy."- Nel Noddings--books, articles"Nel Noddings is an American feminist, educator, and philosopher best known for her work in philosophy of education, educational theory, and ethics of care."
Anna Julia Cooper'Anna Julia Haywood Cooper was an American author, educator, sociologist, speaker, Black liberation activist, and one of the most prominent African-American scholars in United States history."
John Locke--books, articles"John Locke was an English philosopher and physician, widely regarded as one of the most influential of Enlightenment thinkers and commonly known as the 'Father of Liberalism'."