Subject Specific Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Explore the reference resources listed here to develop a working knowledge of your topic. These materials will lead you deeper into the research through their summation of the topic, introduction to related concepts and events, and the bibliographies used to create them.
Online
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology. - GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Search many top encyclopedias on multiple topics for background information on your topic. Articles in these encyclopedias are written by experts.
Reference Resources--getting started with your research
Early Childhood Education by Call Number: LB1139.23 .E272 2007 [4 vols], Reference Room -- main floorISBN: 0313331006Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Education Reform by Call Number: LA212 .F75 2011, Reference Room -- main floorISBN: 0816082383Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Encyclopedia of Education Law by Call Number: Online accessISBN: 9781452265902Publication Date: 2008-06-27
Encyclopedia of Special Education: a reference for the education of children, adolescents, and adults with disabilities and other exceptional individuals by Call Number: LC4007 .E53 2007 [3 vols], Reference Room -- main floorISBN: 0471677981Publication Date: 2007-01-02
The Greenwood Dictionary of Education by Call Number: Online and Print: REF LB15 .G68 2003ISBN: 0313379300Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Historical Dictionary of School Segregation and Desegregation by Call Number: Internet access onlyISBN: 9780313007736Publication Date: 1998
Subject Guide
Katrina Salley
Contact:
Transylvania University Library
300 N. Broadway
Lexington, KY 40508-1797
300 N. Broadway
Lexington, KY 40508-1797
859.233.8410