The Big Picture: What is Success?
In this course, we will examine the idolization of perfection, excellence, and progress through the lens of humanizing research. What defines success in various situations can determine the measurables used by different stakeholders. What needs to be attained? How can a decision be determined on final success? Does it have to be good to be successful? Throughout the course, we will examine readings from The Progress Principle, Humanizing Research, The Big Picture, and The Last Lecture.
Required Textbook
The library has the following textbook for your course:
Possible Catalog Searches
Click on some of the sample searches about your class topics below in the library catalog:
Recommended E-books & Print Books
Click on this link to search for books and articles on your topic. Type keywords relating to your topic in the box under "Search Everything."
Check out these books in print and/or online for further reading on happiness and success.
Better Business: How the B Corp Movement is Remaking Capitalism by ISBN: 9780300256154Publication Date: 2020
Climate Change and the Governance of Corporations by ISBN: 9781003047124Publication Date: 2020-09-30
Country Capitalism: How Corporations from the American South Remade our Economy and the Planet by ISBN: 9781469673356Publication Date: 2023
Decision Leadership : Empowering Others to Make Better Choices by ISBN: 9780300265521Publication Date: 2022
Grit by Call Number: Transy Library New Book Shelf BF637.S8 D693 2016ISBN: 9781501111105Publication Date: 2016-05-03
Making Great Strategy: Arguing for Organizational Advantage by ISBN: 9780231553155Publication Date: 2021
Management as a Calling: Leading Business, Serving Society by ISBN: 9781503615304Publication Date: 2021
No Rules Rules by Call Number: Transy Library New Book Shelf HD9697.V544 N4828 2020ISBN: 9780593152386Publication Date: 2020-09-08
Scaling for Success: People Priorities for High-Growth Organizations by ISBN: 9780231550833Publication Date: 2021
The Sincerity Edge: How Ethical Leaders Build Dynamic Businesses by ISBN: 9781503603356Publication Date: 2017
The up Side of Down: Why Failing Well is the Key to Success by Call Number: Transy Library New Book Shelf HF5386 .M47257 2014ISBN: 9780670026142Publication Date: 2014-02-11
Gather Background Information
Use broad reference materials to find out background information about your topic. This will help you narrow your future searches and will also give you keywords to find the most relevant sources. Credo can be a good place to start for that first step in research.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
Additional Databases--Find Scholarly Articles
Below are suggested databases with scholarly articles on these topics.
Need more options? Library Databases A-Z
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887. - Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,800 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. - Communications and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides articles in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 500 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 690 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 380 journals. - Gallup Polls This link opens in a new window
Statistics and polling company. "We use data to drive decisions and make a difference across the world, in workplaces, classrooms and societies." - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall). - PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. - Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Business Journals
Below are some journals in the business field. Conduct a search on your topic in one of these journals.
Scholarly Articles
A few scholarly articles related to issues that impact the success of businesses are below.
Company Profiles
- Company Profiles--Business Source PremierContains profiles of several companies. These profiles include the following information: company overview, key facts, history, key employees, major products and services, SWOT analysis, company view, and locations and subsidaries.
News Resources
- NPR (National Public Radio) National Public Radio is a privately and publicly funded non-profit membership media organization that delivers breaking national and world news. Also top stories from business, politics, health, science, technology, music, arts and culture.
- Newsbank : America's News This link opens in a new window
America’s News covers newspapers from around the country. Updated daily, this resource offers current and archived articles and video clips from news sources nationwide. It includes content for the Lexington Herald Leader. - Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. - New York Times Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
To get full access to the nytimes.com website create an account at the site linked above using your Transy.edu email address. Don't forget to check your email to verify. - WSJ.com (The Wall Street Journal) sign up This link opens in a new window
Get full access to the business newspaper of record, The Wall Street Journal, website using your Transy.edu email address. Create your personal account at http://wsj.com/transy, then go to your email to verify. Read the Wall Street Journal at wsj.com
Citation Information
- "MLA Formatting and Style Guide." The Purdue OWL, Purdue U Writing Lab, 2022This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook (9th ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
- Google Docs Citation BuilderProvides information on how to create citations using Google Docs.
- Zotero"Zotero is a free easy-to-use tool that helps you collect, organize, cite, and share research content (e.g. articles, books, reports)."
Your Librarian
Katrina Salley
Contact:
Transylvania University Library
300 N. Broadway
Lexington, KY 40508-1797
300 N. Broadway
Lexington, KY 40508-1797
859.233.8410