It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English: Find Articles
Resources for the study of the English language and literature.
Along with the library catalog, these databases can help you locate literary criticism. ERIC and LISTA are included as literary criticism does cross over to education with regard to children's and YA literature, and literary works used in secondary education.
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall).
TU Library has access to Arts & Science Collections I through XI and XV, and the Life Sciences Collection as well as 5,000 ebooks. JSTOR has opened access to all its journal collections and added 35,000 free ebooks to its platform through June 30, 2021 for institutions that already had a relationship with them.
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time-frames—to give students, professors, and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
Listen to audio-recorded readings of former Consultants in Poetry Elizabeth Bishop, Gwendolyn Brooks and Robert Frost; Nobel Laureates Mario Vargas Llosa and Czeslaw Milosz, and renowned writers such as Ray Bradbury, Margaret Atwood, and Kurt Vonnegut read from their work at the Library of Congress.
"Slavery, Abolition, Emancipation, and Freedom: Primary Sources from Houghton Library (SAEF) is a growing digital collection highlighting materials related to Black history and culture from Harvard University's Houghton Library. These materials were hand-selected to provide freely accessible digitized primary sources for scholars of all sorts. You can Explore the Collection to browse the entire collection or view guides and curated selections. You can see the Collections in Context and read essays from Harvard University students that provide social and historical context for materials ranging from the eighteenth through the twentieth century. You can Teach the Collection and utilize a teaching unit for bringing Black studies and primary sources into the classroom."
In addition to literary criticism resources, these databases will be helpful in identifying articles that deal with social topics, themes, and concepts you encounter in literature and film.
Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 2,700 journals covering political science, criminal justice, law, women’s studies and access to comprehensive coverage of fully-searchable U.S. federal government documents. Search both state and federal case law with Fastcase, a leading legal research service that provides “best-case-first” tools for fast research. The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is included. It also includes classic treatises as well as rare items found in only a handful of libraries around the world.
"A free, AI-powered academic search engine. Semantic Scholar covers all STM and SSH disciplines including biology, medicine, computer science, geography, business, history, and economics. Nearly 200 million papers are sourced from 550+ partners such as PubMed, Springer Nature, Taylor & Francis, SAGE, Wiley, ACM, IEEE, arXiv, Microsoft Academic, and Unpaywall." If you run into a paywall, ask your librarians how to get the article for free!