W2023 Senior Seminar - Library Sessions
Looking for something?
A - Z list of all journals by title
Lists both online & paper, date ranges, and where to find them at TU
A - Z list of databases by title
List of all library-paid and open-web sources available in our collection
Subject Guide
300 N. Broadway
Lexington, KY 40508-1797
Literary Criticism
Along with the library catalog, these databases can help you locate literary criticism. ERIC and LISTA are included as literary criticism does cross over to education with regard to children's and YA literature, and literary works used in secondary education.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
-
MLA This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall).
-
Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time-frames—to give students, professors, and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
-
Children's & Young Adult Literary Criticism ResearchAccess our EDU research guide for more resources for children's and young adult literature research.
News & Archives
-
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Search articles from historical African American Newspapers.
-
NPR (National Public Radio) National Public Radio is a privately and publicly funded non-profit membership media organization that delivers breaking national and world news. Also top stories from business, politics, health, science, technology, music, arts and culture.
-
Slavery, Abolition, Emancipation and Freedom This link opens in a new window"Slavery, Abolition, Emancipation, and Freedom: Primary Sources from Houghton Library (SAEF) is a growing digital collection highlighting materials related to Black history and culture from Harvard University's Houghton Library. These materials were hand-selected to provide freely accessible digitized primary sources for scholars of all sorts. You can Explore the Collection to browse the entire collection or view guides and curated selections. You can see the Collections in Context and read essays from Harvard University students that provide social and historical context for materials ranging from the eighteenth through the twentieth century. You can Teach the Collection and utilize a teaching unit for bringing Black studies and primary sources into the classroom."
Journal Articles
In addition to literary criticism resources, these databases will be helpful in identifying articles that deal with social topics, themes, and concepts you encounter in literature and film.
-
Civil Rights and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
-
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 2,700 journals covering political science, criminal justice, law, women’s studies and access to comprehensive coverage of fully-searchable U.S. federal government documents. Search both state and federal case law with Fastcase, a leading legal research service that provides “best-case-first” tools for fast research. The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is included. It also includes classic treatises as well as rare items found in only a handful of libraries around the world.
-
Semantic Scholar This link opens in a new window
"A free, AI-powered academic search engine. Semantic Scholar covers all STM and SSH disciplines including biology, medicine, computer science, geography, business, history, and economics. Nearly 200 million papers are sourced from 550+ partners such as PubMed, Springer Nature, Taylor & Francis, SAGE, Wiley, ACM, IEEE, arXiv, Microsoft Academic, and Unpaywall." If you run into a paywall, ask your librarians how to get the article for free!
