Find Articles Using Library Databases
Below are suggested databases with scholarly and popular articles relating to your discipline.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
-
Communications and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides articles in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 500 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 690 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 380 journals.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall).
-
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
More Database Options--Databases A-Z
Need more options? Library Databases A-Z
Click on the link above to find more library databases with articles or select “Databases A-Z” under the “Quick Links” section in the bottom left corner of the library’s homepage. Search by database title or subject area.
-
Using A-Z DatabasesClick here to view a tutorial on how to find a specific database through A-Z Databases.
News Resources
Below are some databases with news articles.
-
NPR (National Public Radio) National Public Radio is a privately and publicly funded non-profit membership media organization that delivers breaking national and world news. Also top stories from business, politics, health, science, technology, music, arts and culture.
-
Newsbank : Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News covers newspapers from around the globe. Updated daily, this resource offers current and archived articles and video clips from news sources nationwide. It includes content for the Lexington Herald Leader.
-
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
-
New York Times Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
To get full access to the nytimes.com website create an account at the site linked above using your Transy.edu email address. Don't forget to check your email to verify. -
WSJ.com (The Wall Street Journal) sign up This link opens in a new window
Get full access to the business newspaper of record, The Wall Street Journal, website using your Transy.edu email address. Create your personal account at http://wsj.com/transy, then go to your email to verify. Read the Wall Street Journal at wsj.com
Find a Specific Publication--Journals A-Z
Journals A-Z allows you to see if Transy library owns a particular publication (i.e. journal, magazine, etc.) and consequently, find a specific article for your research. This link can also be found under the “Quick Links” section in the bottom left corner of the library’s homepage.
-
Using Journals A-ZClick here to view a tutorial on how to find a journal or an article through Journals A-Z.