Gather Background Information
For this project, you will need to gather background information. Reading information on your topic will help you select a particular focus for your project and thus, make the project manageable.
Consider some of the following questions when reading about your topic:
- What are the issues surrounding your topic?
- What events have impacted your topic?
- Who are the people that play(ed) a significant role in this event, work, etc. and how have they contributed to this topic?
- Does place have an impact on your topic and if so, how?
- What has been the scholarly conversation on this topic? For example, what are the areas of consensus and disagreement on your topic?
- How will you add to the scholarly conversation on this topic?
The ultimate goal is to determine what interests you most about this topic and what information you will need to cover this topic adequately.
Background Information--Reference Sources
One way to gather background information is to conduct a Google search on your topic. A Google search provides information about the current conversation on your topic and therefore, gives you some ideas on how to narrow your topic. However, it is necessary to check the credibility of the information that you find on websites.
Another way to find background information on your topic is to use reference sources. These materials will lead you deeper into the research through their summation of the topic, introduction to related concepts and events, and provision of sources (bibliographies) on the topic. Some databases that contain reference sources are below. Conduct a search on your topic by clicking on the links.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
-
GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Search many top encyclopedias on multiple topics for background information on your topic. Articles in these encyclopedias are written by experts.
-
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
