Narrowing Topics & Keywords PowerPoint
Find Background Information
Explore the reference resources listed here to develop a working knowledge of your topic. These materials will lead you deeper into the research through their summation of the topic, introduction to related concepts and events, and the bibliographies used to create them.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
- Jazz MusicProvides articles about jazz music.
- Rock MusicProvides articles about rock music.
- GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Search many top encyclopedias on multiple topics for background information on your topic. Articles in these encyclopedias are written by experts.
Once you click on an e-book below, type your topic in the "Search Within Publication" box in the top right-hand corner of the screen
Finding Articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall). - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Below are some music journals. Browse within these journals to find articles on your topic.
Find a Specific Publication--Journals A-Z
Journals A-Z allows you to see if Transy library owns a particular publication (i.e. journal, magazine, etc.) and consequently, find a specific article for your research. This link can also be found under the “Quick Links” section in the bottom left corner of the library’s homepage.
- Using Journals A-ZClick here to view a tutorial on how to find a journal or an article through Journals A-Z.
Books on Jazz Music
Click on this link to search for books and articles on your topic. Type keywords relating to your topic in the box under "Search Everything." Sample searches should be narrowed by focusing on specific genres of jazz, jazz musicians, time periods, or geographic locations.
Below are some subject headings that relate to your course's topics. You can click on a subject heading to find books on that topic.
Jazz as Critique: Adorno and Black Expression Revisited by ISBN: 9781503605862Publication Date: 2018
Jazz Transatlantic, Volume I by Call Number: Transy Library General ML3508 .K83 2017 v.1ISBN: 9781628462302Publication Date: 2017-10-30
You can also find print books in the library stacks by browsing the Library of Congress call numbers. Below are some call numbers relating to jazz music. These books are located in the stacks on the main floor.
ML 410 Books about Jazz Singers
ML3506 General Works on Jazz
ML3508-3508.8 United States (Books on Jazz)
ML3918.J39 Political and social aspects of jazz
ML3921.8.J39 Religious aspects of jazz
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan allows you to request research materials (i.e. print book or article) from another library when Transy does not own what you need. Click on the icon above to request an item through interlibrary loan. You can also click on “Interlibrary Loan” under the “Quick Links” section in the bottom left corner of the library’s homepage.
Articles will appear in your email usually within 3-5 days. Books and other items will be mailed to the library. It might take two weeks or longer to receive a print book. Requested books through ILL will be held at the front desk. You will be contacted when the item arrives.
- How to submit an ILL RequestView a tutorial on how to get materials that the Transy Library does not have from other libraries by submitting a request for interlibrary loan.
Books on Rock Music
Click on this link to search for books and articles on your topic. Type keywords relating to your topic in the box under "Search Everything." Sample searches should be narrowed by focusing on specific genres of rock, rock musicians, time periods, or geographic locations.
Below are some subject headings that relate to your course's topics. You can click on a subject heading to find books on that topic.
Rock Music History and Criticism
The Musical Language of Rock by Call Number: Transy Library General MT146 .T44 2018ISBN: 9780190653774Publication Date: 2018-02-22
Tear down the Walls by Call Number: Transy Library New Book Shelf ML3917.U6 B87 2021ISBN: 9780226768182Publication Date: 2021-05-10
You can also find print books in the library stacks by browsing the Library of Congress call numbers. Below are some call numbers relating to rock music. These books are located in the stacks on the main floor.
ML385-429 Biographies
ML3469-3541 Popular Music
ML3534 Rock Music History and Criticism
ML3800-3923 Philosophical and Societal Aspects of Music
ML3916-3918 Social and political aspects of music
Katrina Salley
300 N. Broadway
Lexington, KY 40508-1797