Brainstorming Keywords
-
Brainstorming KeywordsUse this document to brainstorm keywords on your topic.
Featured Periodicals
-
A-Z Journal Finder - Do We Have That Journal? This link opens in a new window
Discover if we have the journal that you are looking for and which years are available.
-
ARTForum
Artforum Magazine features in-depth articles and reviews of contemporary art, as well as book reviews, columns on cinema and popular culture, and numerous full-page advertisements from prominent galleries around the world.
Call Number: Available in Print and Online
-
CRIN: Cahiers de Recherche des Instituts Néerlandais de Langue et de Littérature Française Peer-reviewed coverage of literary analysis, Covers linguistics; French Literature; French Language
-
French Forum Peer-reviewed journal of French and Francophone literature and film. It publishes articles in English and French on all periods and genres in both disciplines and welcomes a multiplicity of approaches.
Databases
-
ARTFL This link opens in a new window The ARTFL Project is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall).
-
Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time-frames—to give students, professors, and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
-
MLA This link opens in a new window The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
Scholarly Articles
Below are some scholarly articles that relate to your assignment.
Gather Background Information
-
Credo Reference - Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
Featured Books
Search the library catalog to locate additional resources. You may want to set your filter to "Libraries Worldwide" to access a more comprehensive list of resources for your topic.
-
-
-
-
The Cambridge Companion to Debussy
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780511077647Publication Date: 2003-01-01 -
-
The Classical Music Lover's Companion to Orchestral Music
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780300120691Publication Date: 2018-12-04 -
-
Dictionary of Modern French Literature
by
Call Number: Ref Collection: PQ41 .D65 1986ISBN: 9780313237843Publication Date: 1986-06-24 -
Evil in Contemporary French and Francophone Literature
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781443825870Publication Date: 2011-01-01 -
Historical Dictionary of French Theater
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780810849396Publication Date: 2010-04-27 -
A New History of French Literature
by
Designed for the general reader, this splendid introduction to French literature from 842 A.D.--the date of the earliest surviving document in any Romance language--to the present decade is the most compact and imaginative single-volume guide available in English to the French literary tradition. In fact, no comparable work exists in either language. It is not the customary inventory of authors and titles but rather a collection of wide-angled views of historical and cultural phenomena. It sets before us writers, public figures, criminals, saints, and monarchs, as well as religious, cultural, and social revolutions. It gives us books, paintings, public monuments, even TV shows. Written by 164 American and European specialists, the essays are introduced by date and arranged in chronological order, but here ends the book's resemblance to the usual history of literature. Each date is followed by a headline evoking an event that indicates the chronological point of departure. Usually the event is literary--the publication of an original work, a journal, a translation, the first performance of a play, the death of an author--but some events are literary only in terms of their repercussions and resonances. Essays devoted to a genre exist alongside essays devoted to one book, institutions are presented side by side with literary movements, and large surveys appear next to detailed discussions of specific landmarks. No article is limited to the "life and works" of a single author. Proust, for example, appears through various lenses: fleetingly, in 1701, apropos of Antoine Galland's translation of The Thousand and One Nights; in 1898, in connection with the Dreyfus Affair; in 1905, on the occasion of the law on the separation of church and state; in 1911, in relation to Gide and their different treatments of homosexuality; and at his death in 1922. Without attempting to cover every author, work, and cultural development since the Serments de Strasbourg in 842, this history succeeds in being both informative and critical about the more than 1,000 years it describes. The contributors offer us a chance to appreciate not only French culture but also the major critical positions in literary studies today. A New History of French Literature will be essential reading for all engaged in the study of French culture and for all who are interested in it. It is an authoritative, lively, and readable volume.
Call Number: PQ 119 .N48 1994ISBN: 9780674615663Publication Date: 1989 -
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French
by
Call Number: Ref Collection: PQ41 .N48 1995ISBN: 9780198661252Publication Date: 1995-05-04 -
Rethinking Debussy
by
Call Number: General ML410.D28 R48 2011ISBN: 9780199755639Publication Date: 2011-04-15
LC Classification
P = Language and Literature
Find books on the library shelves by browsing the Library of Congress call numbers.
PC2001-3761 - French Language
PQ1-3999 - French Literature
Catalog Subject Searches
Click the following links for a list of resources that are specific to French literature
French Film
-
Catalog Search: New wave films France HistoryCatalog Subject search
-
-
-
A History of the French New Wave Cinema
by
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780299217037Publication Date: 2007-04-01 -
-
Pascal Francis The site Free Access to Pascal and Francis is an archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases in science, human and social sciences, produced by the Inist-CNRS from 1972-2015.
-
Revues.org - Journals French portal to open access journals in the humanities and social sciences. Developed by Cleo (Centre pour l'édition électronique ouverte). Journals and books.
-
Studies in French Cinema Academic Journal--Film Criticism; French Studies; Focuses on the history, genres, trends, techniques, and cinematic theory in French cinema.
-
Érudit.org - Journals Érudit provides access to documents in the humanities and social sciences, as well as the natural science disciplines: academic journals, e-books, proceedings, theses and other documents and data. The Érudit site also provides access to documents on other partner sites including Persée, CNRC (Conseil national de recherches Canada), and The Electronic Text Centre at UNB (University of New Brunswick) Libraries. Part of the Synergies project.
Other research resources (additional libraries and resources)
-
University of Kentucky LibrariesDid you know that your Transy library card allows you to check out items at UK libraries? Thanks to the reciprocity agreement between our libraries, you may check out items, use UK library databases (while on the UK campus), and visit other specialized collections.
-
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)--Transy Library
If we do not have an item, we may be able to borrow it from another library.