Search
As you explore topics, develop a keyword list for each topic of interest. Brainstorm for synonyms, names of events and people for your topics. You may identify words or subjects in the records of the items you locate in library resources. Add to the list as you delve into encyclopedia articles, journal articles and other resources. Combine keywords together to focus your searches.
Transy Library Catalog (Search Box)
This box will search everything available through the Transy library catalog. A Quick Search will bring you back any results with the keyword you chose. Books will bring back results that are both physical books and ebooks. An Articles search will show journal articles that Transylvania provides access to, and Videos will bring back just multimedia results.
Watch the tutorial below to learn how to search for sources in Transy's catalog.
Databases
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887. This may seem like a lot, and it is, but when you have good keywords and search strategies, it's not so bad!
Watch the tutorial below for tips on how to search for sources in Academic Search Complete.
Credo Reference: Basic Search Box with descriptive text
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Newspaper Sources
- Newsbank : America's News This link opens in a new window
America’s News covers newspapers from around the country. Updated daily, this resource offers current and archived articles and video clips from news sources nationwide. It includes content for the Lexington Herald Leader. - Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. - New York Times Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
To get full access to the nytimes.com website create an account at the site linked above using your Transy.edu email address. Don't forget to check your email to verify.
