Know where to go...
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
-
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
-
AllSides
Multi-partisan news site dedicated to evaluating news via crowd-sourced media bias ratings. See topics and stories reported across a variety of news outlets.
-
New York Times Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
To get full access to the nytimes.com website create an account at the site linked above using your Transy.edu email address. Don't forget to check your email to verify. -
Lexington Herald-Leader (Newspaper) This link opens in a new window
Full coverage from Lexington's daily newspaper, 1983 to the present. -
Newsbank : Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News covers newspapers from around the globe. Updated daily, this resource offers current and archived articles and video clips from news sources nationwide. It includes content for the Lexington Herald Leader.
-
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
-
NPR (National Public Radio)
National Public Radio is a privately and publicly funded non-profit membership media organization that delivers breaking national and world news. Also top stories from business, politics, health, science, technology, music, arts and culture.
-
WSJ.com (The Wall Street Journal) sign up This link opens in a new window
Get full access to the business newspaper of record, The Wall Street Journal, website using your Transy.edu email address. Create your personal account at http://wsj.com/transy, then go to your email to verify. Read the Wall Street Journal at wsj.com
-
KY General Assembly - Legislative Record"The Legislative Record contains a digest of all bills and resolutions (and amendments thereto) introduced in the General Assembly and also reflects all daily legislative action occurring on or reported to the House and Senate floors. Hence, the Legislative Record provides a current summary of the status of each bill and resolution before the General Assembly."
-
KY General Assembly - Tracking of Kentucky Administrative Regulations (KARs)"RegWatch is a free service that enables users to register with state government agencies to receive notification of changes to existing administrative regulations or to receive notice of newly-proposed administrative regulations. Users have the ability to register by agency, by topic, or a combination of both."
-
Ballotpedia: The Encyclopedia of American Politics (Kentucky)"Ballotpedia is a 501(c)3 charitable nonprofit organization and is not affiliated with any campaigns or candidates for office. Ballotpedia is the digital encyclopedia of American politics, and the nation’s premier resource for unbiased information on elections, politics, and policy."
-
Common Cause - Find Your Representative"Find your representatives, how to contact them, bills they’ve introduced, committees they serve on, and political contributions they’ve received. Enter your full address below to get started."
-
Renee Shaw (@ReneeKET)@KET Director of Public Affairs and Moderator
@kytonightKET, Kentucky Edition, Connections, Legislative & Election Coverage ❤️/ RTs necessarily ≠ endorsements
Search Google for local or national organizations that speak to your issue or concern. These sites often include advocacy material or larger campaigns you can join or expand.
-
American Civil Liberties Union - KY"The American Civil Liberties Union of Kentucky (ACLU) is freedom’s watchdog, working daily in courts, legislatures and communities to defend the individual rights and liberties guaranteed to all people by the Constitutions of the United States and the Commonwealth of Kentucky"
-
American Library Association"From privacy education to effective school library programs across the country — ALA advocates have been at the heart of our nation’s greatest advances for libraries. Learn how you can be an advocate for every library across the country."
-
Black Lives Matter"Black Lives Matter Global Network Foundation, Inc. is a global organization in the US, UK, and Canada, whose mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and vigilantes."
-
Civic Lex"We are a non-profit civic education organization building civic health through education, media, and relationship building. We envision a Lexington in which all residents are able to meaningfully participate in the decisions that shape where they live."
-
Human Rights Campaign"The Human Rights Campaign strives to end discrimination against LGBTQ+ people and realize a world that achieves fundamental fairness and equality for all."
-
Kentucky Education Association"We unite, organize and empower our members to advocate for themselves and to ensure a quality public education for every Kentucky student."
-
KY Fairness Campaign"The Fairness Campaign is Kentucky’s LGBTQ advocacy organization founded in 1991 by 10 Louisvillians. Its primary goal is comprehensive civil rights legislation prohibiting discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity and to dismantle systemic racism."