Assignment
-
Chicago Manual of Style online This link opens in a new window
This searchable edition of The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Available are the full contents of the latest edition of the Manual.
Mapping Project and Presentation
For this project, students will choose a "place" (i.e., region, country, city) in consultation with the instructor. Find at least ten (10) different maps of your chosen "place". The maps should express the relationship between power and place, the construction, contestation, and reconfiguration of political spaces, and the formation of geopolitical images of the world. To complete the project, you MUST have:
1. At least three (3) "historical" maps (i.e., maps showing changes to borders over time, important events in the history of the place).
2. At least (2) maps showing socio-economic ideas or issues (i.e., maps showing data on class, ethnicity, the environment, etc.).
3. At least two (2) "popular" maps, showing cultural issues (i.e., tourist maps, maps used in advertising).
4. At least two (2) maps using a "minority" cartographic perspective (i.e., indigenous mapping, a non-Western map, a Marxist or feminist approach to mapping).
Each map MUST be different; DO NOT use the same map for multiple parts of the project.
For each map, you MUST provide approximately 200-300 words explaining the map and considering how the map demonstrates power and place, the construction, contestation, and reconfiguration of political spaces, or the formation of geopolitical images of the world.
For this assignment you should create a Google document. Cut and paste each map (from the internet or scanned from a text) into the document followed by your explanation. You should use the Chicago Manual of Style and provide the full bibliographic reference for each image after your explanation.
The Google document should be shared with me (as an editor).
On May 19 or 20, you will give a 15-20 minute presentation of your project to the class. For the presentation, you will need to create a Google Slide presentation that includes your selected maps. It SHOULD NOT include the 200-300 word explanations. Share the presentation with me by 8:00am on the day of your presentation.
Your presentation should explain the maps, the reason you chose them, and what they demonstrate.
After your presentation, you will be expected to take questions from your peers and the instructor about the maps.
Link to Canvas Course page - check the assignment here there is more detail.
Mock assignment
1: Historical Maps
To find historical maps, go to the Map Collections tab to the left (or above if you are on your phone). Pick a collection, then search it for place and limit by date.
2: Idea or data maps (Socio economic, etc)
-
More of Less in Common: Environmental Justice in the Human Landscape - Leventhal Map Collection, Boston PL"In More or Less in Common, we take a look at how questions of social justice and injustice are essential topics to confront when trying to understand the human landscape that we live in. And these questions must also be at the center of our attention as we might challenge ourselves to build better, healthier environments in the future. Through maps as well as photographs, images, and data visualizations, this exhibition encourages you to confront stories about how environmental conditions have sometimes served to worsen inequalities along lines of social division. At the same time, our shared environment offers the possibility to bring people together across differences and the inspiration to forge new kinds of common action."
-
Superfund sites"A Superfund site, officially known as a Superfund site under the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA), is a location designated by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) due to contamination of hazardous substances posing a threat to human health or the environment. These sites are prioritized for cleanup because they are considered especially contaminated and hazardous."
3: Popular maps
Search for popular maps in the collections listed in the "Map Collections" tab, or below. You might search for newspaper maps, tourist maps, auto maps, etc.
-
Maps: Persuasive Cartography - PJ Mode Map Collection - Cornell U. This link opens in a new window"This is a collection of “persuasive” cartography: more than 800 maps intended primarily to influence opinions or beliefs - to send a message - rather than to communicate geographic information. The collection reflects a variety of persuasive tools , including allegorical, satirical and pictorial mapping; selective inclusion; unusual use of projections, color, graphics and text; and intentional deception. Maps in the collection address a wide range of messages: religious, political, military, commercial, moral and social."
4: Alternate viewpoints
-
East Asian Maps at Hong Kong UniversityIs there a map of your area that was created by an mapmaker from Asia?
-
Indigenous search - Library of Congress mapsSome of these will be from western viewpoints and some from indigenous viewpoints
-
Women in cartography - Leventhal Collection, Boston Public Library"Histories of map-making generally emphasize the role of men; however, since the advent of the printed map, women have worked as colorists, engravers, shop owners, publishers, and, most importantly, as map-makers themselves. Women are active in all aspects of cartography today and are leaders in the world of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and digital mapping. In this exhibition of forty maps, globes, atlases and works of art from the 17th century to the present, visitors will encounter works by female map creators, designers and educators, learn about the various cartographic skills employed by women over the centuries, and observe the transition of women in cartography from marginalized to celebrated. "
-
Native Land Digital This link opens in a new window
"Native Land Digital strives to create and foster conversations about the history of colonialism, Indigenous ways of knowing, and settler-Indigenous relations, through educational resources such as our map and Territory Acknowledgement Guide. We strive to go beyond old ways of talking about Indigenous people and to develop a platform where Indigenous communities can represent themselves and their histories on their own terms. In doing so, Native Land Digital creates spaces where non-Indigenous people can be invited and challenged to learn more about the lands they inhabit, the history of those lands, and how to actively be part of a better future going forward together."
Your Librarian
