PS 3294: Mapping Power

Provides access to digitized maps held by the Ky Historical Society in Frankfort, Ky. Can be browsed or searched.

"The American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection contains over 19,000 maps, ranging from early maps of Asia to historical maps of Wisconsin and Milwaukee, and other American cities, states, and national parks. The digital collection is under continuing development. "

"This collection consists of almost 40 East Asian maps, manuscripts, woodblock prints and rubbings, in Chinese, Japanese and Mongolian. It features all the ancient maps in East Asian languages in our holdings."
In addition, click on the collections tab to select other map collections held at Hong Kong University

The David Rumsey Map Collection was started over 35 years ago and contains more than 200,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, globes, wall maps, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date from around 1550 to the present.
Digitization of the collection began in 1996 and there are now over 126,000 items online, with new additions added regularly. The site is free and open to the public. Viewers can access high resolution images of maps that are extensively cataloged, and also to a variety of tools that allow users to compare, analyze, and view items in new and experimental ways.

Digitized maps and atlases from the New York Public Library collection.

This is the Digital Collections portal for the Leventhal map collection. It includes nearly 10,000 objects, primarily flat maps but also including some bound atlases, ephemera, and series. The Digital Collections portal features an advanced search for filtering material by date and theme, as well as many maps that have been georeferenced for display on top of a modern map layer. Leventhal Center also has an additional 300 atlases & books in the Internet Archive - https://archive.org/details/normanbleventhalmapcenter

Searchable collection of more than 50,000 maps from the Library of Congress collections. Includes Kentucky and Lexington maps.

"The Sanborn map collection consists of a uniform series of large-scale maps, dating from 1867 to the present and depicting the commercial, industrial, and residential sections of some twelve thousand cities and towns in the United States, Canada, and Mexico."