Skip to Main Content

Special Collections: Transylvania Treasures: Home

About

Transylvania Treasures was an irregular publication that was released once or twice per year between 2008 and 2018.  It was the vision of Dr. Charles Ambrose who wished to bring attention to Transylvania's amazing collections.  The publication's aim was to highlight and bring attention to the unique and remarkable materials from Transylvania's Special Collections, the Moosnick Collection, and to occasionally include historic figures from Transylvania.

Transylvania publications receive two Grand Awards at CASE competition, Feb. 2009.
"Transylvania Treasures" wins international Gold Award, June 2009.
Transylvania Special Collections champion Charles Ambrose honored at National Philanthropy Day, Nov. 2010.
Transylvania publications receive awards, May 2010.

Browse Issues Chronologically

Browse Articles by Subject

Browse Articles by Author

By Issue

Volume 1, No. 1, Winter 2008

The Collected Works of Hippocrates and Galen
Le Jardin de Santé
Robert Peter’s Daguerreotype Camera
Monroe Moosnick
Medical Symposium
Horace Holley
 

Volume 1, No. 2, Spring 2008

Audubon’s The Birds of America
Transylvania’s Natural History Collections
Borelli’s De Moto Animalium
John Wright
Mary Phelps Austin Holley

 

Volume 1, No. 3, Summer 2008

The Tournament Book of William IV of Bavaria
Tulp’s Observationes Medicae
Medical Venus
Preservation of Special Collections
Lucy Shropshire Crump
Robert Peter
 

Volume 2, No. 1, Winter 2009

Rafinesque: Transylvania's Famous Naturalist
Rafinesque Comes to Transylvania
Charles Darwin: Biologist and Geologist
Charles Wilkins Short's Herbarium
J. Hill Hamon: A Transylvania Treasure
Transylvania Endures as Place of Creative Reflection
 

Volume 2, No. 2, Summer 2009

Georges-Louis Leclerc, comte de Buffon: The French Rival of Linnaeus
Carolus Linnaeus: The Swede Who Named Almost Everything
Charles Wilkins Short: Immortalized Through Plants Bearing His Name
The ‘Magic’ of Selenite Slides
Joseph Buchanan: American Psychologist
Leland Arthur Brown: Collector and Organizer of Transylvania’s Medical Collection

 

Volume 2, No. 3, Fall 2009

Transylvania’s Skull with a Hole in It
The Incomparable Benjamin Winslow Dudley
Benjamin Dudley’s Surgical Set
The Anatomical and Surgical Works of John and Charles Bell
Byron Young: The Treasure of a Transylvania Education
Our Vision for Transylvania’s Treasures
 

Volume 3, No. 1, Summer 2010

The Clara Peck Collection
Rosa Bonheur’s Sketch Book
Black Beauty: A Timeless Novel
Henry Clay’s Ashland Stud
Edward Troye’s Painting of the Thoroughbred Lexington
Ted Bassett: A Living Treasure

 

Volume 3, No. 2, Fall 2010

Rafinesque and Transylvania’s First Botanic Garden
Community Garden Thriving on Transylvania Campus
Five Early American Botanists’ Works and Opinions of Rafinesque
Les Fleurs animées
Antoine Chazal Drawings
Charles Wilkins Short’s Botanical Cabinet
 

Volume 4, No. 1, Spring 2011

John Marshall Harlan, the Great Dissenter
Samuel Woodson Price's Portrait of General George Henry Thomas
Francis Preston Blair Sr. and the Hampton Roads Conference
Transylvania Medical Alumni Served Both Sides During Civil War
Reuben Searcy Sr. Searches for His Sons After a Civil War Battle
Frances Dallam Peter's View of the Civil War

 

Volume 4, No. 2, Fall 2011

  • The Historical Importance of Transylvania University's Medical Department (1799-1859) and the Secret Kappa Lambda Society of Hippocrates

 

 

 

Volume 5, No. 1, Spring 2012

Alfred Wallace: Collaborator and Friend of Charles Darwin
Transylvania's 1,760 Early Nineteenth Century Medical Theses–11 on Yellow Fever
Victor Hammer: Typeface Designer, Publisher, PortraitistHorace Holley: Transylvania President Wrote Letters To and About Five U.S. Presidents
The Exceptional Frank Rose: Transylvania President 1951-57
Barlow's Amazing Planetarium
 

Volume 5, No. 2, Summer 2012

Transylvania's Anatomical Illustrations
John Latham's A General Synopsis of Birds
Scale of Chemical Equivalents
Emmet Horine and Transylvania's Special Collections
The Presidency of Raymond F. McLain
 

 

Volume 6, No. 1, Winter 2013

Grave Robbing for Anatomical Study
The 1818 Medical Faculty Shoot-out
Happy Effects of the Tobacco Smoke Glyster
Reading Rafinesque's Drawings
Meat Rain

 

Volume 6, No. 2, Summer 2013

George Catlin’s North American Indian Portfolio
John Fryer: Masked Alumnus Unmasked Prejudices
Horace and Mary Holley’s Scrapbook
Kate Greenaway’s Illustrations for Children’s Books
 

 

Volume 7, No. 1, Spring 2015

 

 

 

 

 

Volume 8, No.1, Spring 2016

Travels in the Interior of North America, 1832-34
Early Native American Students at Transylvania University
An Interesting Letter About Gold Rush Women
James Lan Allen: A Tale of Kentucky Hemp Fields
Milk and Honeyville

 

Volume 9, Number 1, Spring 2017

Travel, Empire, and Abolition in John Gabriel Stedman's Narrative of Five Years' Expedition Against the Revolted Negroes of Surinam
A Well Organized Museum: THe Kentucky University and Agricultural and Mechanical College Museum of Natural History
The Knollys Psalter
Gratz Park: Lexington's Village Green
A Most Beautiful Species of Illumination

 

Volume 10, Number 1, Spring 2018

Transylvania's Special Collections Being Digitized for Public Access
More Than Birds: Mark Catesby, A Colonial American Naturalist
Descartes' Heart
From the Ashes: The Story of Old Morrison
Riding High: Pioneer Women of the 1890s Bicycling Era
 

Author index

Subject & Title Index

  • Agricultural and Mechanical College : "A Well Organized Museum: The Kentucky University and Agricultural and Mechanical College Museum of Natural History." Eric Brooks. 9.1 (Spring 2017): p. 5.
  • Albinus : "Transylvania's Anatomical Illustrations: A Most Fitting Collaboration." Jack Girard. 5.2 (Summer 2012): p. 1.
  • Albinus : 5.2 (Summer 2012): back cover.
  • "Alfred Wallace: Collaborator and Friend of Charles Darwin." James Wagner. 5.1 (Spring 2012): p. 1.
  • Allen : "James Lane Allen: A Tale of Kentucky Hemp Fields." Charles T. Ambrose. 8.1 (Spring 2016): p. 12.
  • American West
    • "Travels in the Interior of North America, 1832-34." Jeremy Paden. 8.1 (Spring 2016): p. 1.
    • "Savagery And Civilization in Catlin's North American Indian Portfolio." Jeremy Paden 6.2 (Summer 2013) p. 2.
    • "An Interesting Letter About Gold Rush Women." Morris M. Weiss. 8.1 (Spring 2016): p. 8.
  • Anatomy : "The Anatomical and Surgical Works of John and Charles Bell." Jamie Day. 2.3 (Fall 2009): p. 8.
  • Anatomy : "Transylvania's Anatomical Illustrations: A Most Fitting Collaboration." Jack Girard. 5.2 (Summer 2012): p. 1.
  • "Antoine Chazal Drawings: Precise and Realistic Illustrations of Medicinal Plants." Philippe Nusbaumer. 3.2 (Fall 2010): p. 10.
  • Ashland Stud : "Henry Clay’s Ashland Stud: A Rediscovered Legacy." Eric Brooks. 3.1 (Summer 2010): p. 8.
  • Ashland, the Henry Clay Estate : "A Well Organized Museum: The Kentucky University and Agricultural and Mechanical College Museum of Natural History." Eric Brooks. 9.1 (Spring 2017): p. 5.
  • Audubon : "Audubon’s Masterpiece: The Double Elephant Folio Edition of The Birds of America." Don Boarman. 1.2 (Spring 2008): p. 2.
  • Audubon : 1.2 (Spring 2008): back cover.
  • Barlow: "Barlow's Amazing Planetarium." Jamie Day.  5.1 (Spring 2012): p. 12.
  • Bassett :  "James E. "Ted" Bassett, III: A Transylvania Living Treasure." Fran Taylor. 3.1 (Summer 2010): p. 12.
  • Bell : "The Anatomical and Surgical Works of John and Charles Bell." Jamie Day. 2.3 (Fall 2009): p. 8.
  • Bell : 2.3 (Fall 2009): back cover.
  • "Benjamin Dudley’s Surgical Set." Judy M. Chelnick. 2.3 (Fall 2009): p. 6.
  • Blair : "Francis Preston Blair Sr. and the Hampton Roads Conference." Thomas Philip Stephens. 4.1 (Spring 2011): p. 6.
  • Bodmer : "Travels in the Interior of North America, 1832-34." Jeremy Paden. 8.1 (Spring 2016): p. 1.
  • Bonheur : "Rosa Bonheur’s Sketch Book." James D. Birchfield. 3.1 (Summer 2010): p. 4.
  • Borelli : "Giovanni Borelli’s De Motu Animalium."  Charles T. Ambrose. 1.2  (Spring 2008): p. 8.
  • Botany
    • "Antoine Chazal Drawings: Precise and Realistic Illustrations of Medicinal Plants." Philippe Nusbaumer. 3.2 (Fall 2010): p. 10.
    • "Charles Wilkins Short’s Botanical Cabinet: A Uniquely Beautiful Piece of Utilitarian Furniture." Jamie Day. 3.2 (Fall 2010): p. 12.
    • "Charles Wilkins Short: Immortalized Through Plants Bearing His Name." Sarah Bray. 2.2 (Summer 2009): p. 6
    • "Dr. Charles Wilkins Short’s Herbarium." Jamie Day. 2.1 (Winter 2009): p. 8.
    • "Five Early American Botanists’ Works and Opinions of Rafinesque." Charles T. Ambrose. 3.2 (Fall 2010): p. 6.
  • Bowman, John : "A Well Organized Museum: The Kentucky University and Agricultural and Mechanical College Museum of Natural History." Eric Brooks. 9.1 (Spring 2017): p. 5.
  • "Brief Discourse on the Happy Effects of the Tobacco Smoke Glyster." Jamie Day. 6.1 (Winter 2013): p. 8.
  • Brown, Leland : "Leland Arthur Brown: Collector and Organizer of Transylvania’s Medical Collection." John D. Wright, Jr. 2.2 (Summer 2009): p. 12.
  • Buchanan : "Joseph Buchanan: American Psychologist." Peter S. Fosl. 2.2 Summer 2009, p. 10.
  • Buffon : "Georges-Louis Leclerc, comte de Buffon: The French Rival of Linnaeus." Charles T. Ambrose. 2.2 (Summer 2009): p. 1.
  • "Byron Young: The Treasure of a Transylvania Education." William A. Bowden. 2.3 (Fall 2009): p. 10.
  • Caldwell, Charles :  "An Interesting Letter About Gold Rush Women." Morris Weiss. 8.1 (Spring 2016): p. 8.
  • "Carolus Linnaeus: The Swede Who Named Almost Everything." Charles T. Ambrose. 2.2 (Summer 2009): p. 4.
  • Catlin : "Savagery And Civilization in Catlin's North American Indian Portfolio." Jeremy Paden. 6.2 (Summer 2013): p. 2.
  • "Charles Wilkins Short’s Botanical Cabinet: A Uniquely Beautiful Piece of Utilitarian Furniture." Jamie Day. 3.2 (Fall 2010): p. 12.
  • "Charles Wilkins Short: Immortalized Through Plants Bearing His Name." Sarah Bray. 2.2 (Summer 2009): p. 6
  • Chazal : "Antoine Chazal Drawings: Precise and Realistic Illustrations of Medicinal Plants." Philippe Nusbaumer. 3.2 (Fall 2010): p. 10.
  • Civil War
    • "Francis Preston Blair Sr. and the Hampton Roads Conference." Thomas Philip Stephens. 4.1 (Spring 2011): p. 6.
    • "John Marshall Harlan: The Great Dissenter." R. Owen Williams. 4.1 (Spring, 2011): p. 2.
    • "A Young Girl's View of the Civil War." 4.1 (Spring, 2011) back cover.
    • "Samuel Woodson Price’s Portrait of General George Henry Thomas." Susan Brown. 4.1 (Spring 2011) p. 4.
    • "Transylvania Medical Alumni Served Both Sides During Civil War." Charles T. Ambrose. 4.1 (Spring, 2011) p. 8.
    • "University Divided." Martha Baker. 4.1 (Spring 2011) p. i.
  • Children's books : "Kate Greenaway's Illustrations for Children's Books." Kathy Egner. 6.2 (Summer 2013): p. 11.
  • The Clara Peck Collection William A. Bowden. 3.1 (Summer 2010): p. 2.
  • Clay : "Henry Clay’s Ashland Stud: A Rediscovered Legacy." Eric Brooks. 3.1 (Summer 2010): p. 8.
  • "The Collected Works of Hippocrates and Galen: The Greatest Physicians of the Graeco-Roman World." Charles T. Ambrose. 1.1 (Winter 2008): p. 2.
  • "Community Garden Thriving on Transylvania Campus." Lori-Lyn Hurley.  3.2 (Fall 2010): p. 4.
  • Crump : "Mayor of Gratz Park: Lucy Shropshire Crump." Gabrielle Fox. 1.3  (Summer 2008): p. 10.
  • Daguerreotype : "Robert Peter’s Daguerreotype Camera." Jamie Day.  1.1  (Winter 2008): p. 6.
  • Darwin
    • "Alfred Wallace: Collaborator and Friend of Charles Darwin." James Wagner. 5.1 (Spring 2012): p. 1.
    • "Darwin: Biologist and Geologist." James Wagner. 2.1 (Winter 2009): p. 6.
  • "Dr. Charles Wilkins Short’s Herbarium." Jamie Day. 2.1 (Winter 2009): p. 8.
  • Dudley
    • "Transylvania's Great Medical Faculty Shoot-out: The Richardson Dudley Duel, 1818." Eric Christianson. 6.1 (Winter 2013): p. 5.
    • "The Incomparable Benjamin Winslow Dudley." Eric Howard Christianson. 2.3 (Fall 2009): p. 4.
    • "Benjamin Dudley’s Surgical Set." Judy M. Chelnick. 2.3 (Fall 2009): p. 6.
  • Duel : "Transylvania's Great Medical Faculty Shoot-out: The Richardson Dudley Duel, 1818." Eric Christianson.  6.1 (Winter 2013): p. 5.
  • "Early Native American Students at Transylvania University." Christina Snyder.  8.1 (Spring 2016): p. 5.
  • "Emmet F. Horine and Transylvania's Special Collections." Charles Ambrose. 5.2 (Summer 2012): p. 10.
  • "The Exceptional Frank Rose: Transylvania President 1951-57." Stephen Leist. 5.1 (Spring 2012): p. 10.
  • Farnham, Elizabeth : "An Interesting Letter About Gold Rush Women." Morris Weiss. 8.1 (Spring 2016): p. 8.
  • "Five Early American Botanists’ Works and Opinions of Rafinesque." Charles T. Ambrose. 3.2 (Fall 2010): p. 6.
  • Fleurs animees : "In the Name of the Flower: Les Fleurs animees."  Simonetta Cochis. 3.2 (Fall 2010): p.8.
  • Fleurs Animees, Les : 3.2 (Fall 2010): p. i.
  • "Francis Preston Blair Sr. and the Hampton Roads Conference." Thomas Philip Stephens. 4.1 (Spring 2011): p. 6.
  • Fryer : "John E. Fryer: Masked Alumnus Unmasked Prejudices." Mark Jackson. 6.2 (Summer 2013): p. 6.
  • Galen : "The Collected Works of Hippocrates and Galen: The Greatest Physicians of the Graeco-Roman World." Charles T. Ambrose.  1.1  (Winter 2008): p. 2.
  • Galen : 1.1  (Winter 2008): back cover.
  • Garden
    • "Rafinesque and Transylvania’s First Botanic Garden." Charles T. Ambrose. 3.2 (Fall 2010): p. 2.
    • "Community Garden Thriving on Transylvania Campus." Lori-Lyn Hurley. 3.2 (Fall 2010): p. 4.
  • Garden of Health : "Le Jardin de Santé (Ortus Sanitatis)." Simonetta Cochis. 1.1  (Winter 2008): p. 4.
  • "Georges-Louis Leclerc, comte de Buffon: The French Rival of Linnaeus." Charles T. Ambrose. 2.2 (Summer 2009): p. 1.
  • "Giovanni Borelli’s De Motu Animalium." Charles T. Ambrose. 1.2 (Spring 2008): p. 8.
  • "Gratz Park: Lexington's Village Green."  James D. Birchfield. 9.1 (Spring 2017): p. 10.
  • Gratz Park : "Mayor of Gratz Park: Lucy Shropshire Crump." Gabrielle Fox. 1.3  (Summer 2008): p. 10.
  • "Grave Robbing In Lexington and Elsewhere." Charles Ambrose. 6.1 (Winter 2013): p. 2.
  • Greenaway : "Kate Greenaway's Illustrations for Children's Books." Kathy Egner. 6.2 (Summer 2013): p. 11.
  • Gyecology, physiology, sociology, obstetrics : "An Interesting Letter About Gold Rush Women." Morris Weiss. 8.1 (Spring 2016): p. 8.
  • Hammer : "Victor Hammer: Typeface Designer, Publisher, Portraitist." Jack Girard. 5.1 (Spring 2012): p. 7.
  • Hamon : "J. Hill Hamon: A treasure of Transylvania." James D. Birchfield. 2.1 (Winter 2009): p. 10.
  • Hampton Roads Conference : "Francis Preston Blair Sr. and the Hampton Roads Conference." Thomas Philip Stephens. 4.1 (Spring 2011): p. 6.
  • Harlan : "John Marshall Harlan: The Great Dissenter." R. Owen Williams. 4.1 (Spring, 2011): p. 2.
  • "Help Catalog Special Collections." Susan Brown. 6.2 (Summer 2013): p. i.
  • "Hemp: Part I: Early History & Finances." Charles T. Ambrose. 7.1 (Spring 2015): p. 1.
  • "Hemp: Part II: Hemp in Agriculture & Manufacturing." Charles T. Ambrose. 7.1 (Spring 2015): p. 11.
  • Hemp : "James Lane Allen: A Tale of Kentucky Hemp Fields." Charles T. Ambrose. 8.1 (Spring 2016): p. 12.
  • "Henry Clay’s Ashland Stud: A Rediscovered Legacy." Eric Brooks. 3.1 (Summer 2010): p. 8.
  • Hippocrates : "The Collected Works of Hippocrates and Galen: The Greatest Physicians of the Graeco-Roman World." Charles T. Ambrose. 1.1 (Winter 2008): p. 2.
  • Hippocrates :  1.1 (Winter 2008): back cover.
  • Hippocratic Oath : "The Historical Importance of Transylvania University’s Medical Department (1799-1859), Focusing on the Little Known Secret Kappa Lambda Society of Hippocrates and the Origin of the American Medical Association's Principles of Medical Ethics." Charles T. Ambrose.  4.2  (Fall 2011).
  • The Historical Importance of Transylvania University’s Medical Department (1799-1859), Focusing on the Little Known Secret Kappa Lambda Society of Hippocrates and the Origin of the American Medical Association's Principles of Medical Ethics." Charles T. Ambrose. 4.2 (Fall 2011).
  • Holley, Horace
    • "Horace Holley: Transylvania President Wrote Letters To and About Five U.S. Presidents." Molly and Tom Eblen. 5.1 (Spring 2012): p. 8.
    • "The Scrapbook of Horace and Mary Holley Ephemera and Expression in the Nineteenth Century." James P. Cousins. 6.2 (Summer 2013): p. 8.
    • "Horace Holley: Prestigious President." John D. Wright. 1.1 (Winter 2008): p. 13.
  • Holley, Mary : "Mary Phelps Austin Holley." Melissa A. McEuen. 1.2 (Spring 2008): p. 12.
  • Horine : "Emmet F. Horine and Transylvania's Special Collections." Charles Ambrose. 5.2 (Summer 2012): p. 10.
  • Hortus Sanitatis : "Le Jardin de Santé (Ortus Sanitatis)." Simonetta Cochis. 1.1 (Winter 2008) p. 4.
  • "The How and Why of Our Transylvania Treasures." Richard D. Valentine. 1.3 (Summer 2008): p. i.
  • Illustrations : "Transylvania's Anatomical Illustrations: A Most Fitting Collaboration." Jack Girard. 5.2 (Summer 2012): p. 1.
  • "In the Name of the Flower: Les Fleurs animees." Simonetta Cochis. 3.2 (Fall 2010): p.8.
  • "The Incomparable Benjamin Winslow Dudley." Eric Howard Christianson. 2.3 (Fall 2009): p. 4.
  • "An Interesting Letter About Gold Rush Women." Morris M. Weiss. 8.1 (Spring 2016): p. 8.
  • Introduction by R. Owen Williams. 3.1 (Summer 2010) p. i.
  • "J. Hill Hamon: A Treasure of Transylvania." James D. Birchfield. 2.1 (Winter 2009): p. 10.
  • "James E. 'Ted' Bassett, III: A Transylvania Living Treasure." Fran Taylor. 3.1 (Summer 2010): p. 12.
  • "James Lane Allen: A Tale of Kentucky Hemp Fields." Charles T. Ambrose. 8.1 (Spring 2016): p. 12.
  • "Le Jardin de Santé (Ortus Sanitatis)." Simonetta Cochis. 1.1 (Winter 2008): p. 4.
  • "John Latham's A General Synopsis of Birds." Becky Fox. 5.2 (Summer 2012): p. 5.
  • "John Marshall Harlan: The Great Dissenter." R. Owen Williams. 4.1 (Spring, 2011): p. 2.
  • "John E. Fryer: Masked Alumnus Unmasked Prejudices." Mark Jackson. 6.2 (Summer 2013): p. 6.
  • "John Wright: A Transylvania Treasure" William A. Bowden. 1.2 (Spring 2008): p. 10.
  • Jousting Book "The Tournament Book of William IV of Bavaria." Simonetta Cochis and Kurt Godhe 1.3 (Summer 2008): p. 2.
  • Jousting Book | 1.3 (Summer 2008) back cover.
  • "Joseph Buchanan: American Psychologist" Peter S. Fosl. 2.2 (Summer 2009) p. 10.
  • "Kate Greenaway's Illustrations for Children's Books" Kathy Egner 6.2 (Summer 2013) p. 11.
  • Kentucky University : "A Well Organized Museum: The Kentucky University and Agricultural and Mechanical College Museum of Natural History." Eric Brooks. 9.1 (Spring 2017): p. 5. 
  • "The Knollys Psalter." Lisa Fagin Davis. 9.1 (Spring 2017): p. 8.
  • Latham  "John Latham's A General Synopsis of Birds." Becky Fox 5.2 (Summer 2012) p. 5.
  • Leclerc  "Georges-Louis Leclerc, comte de Buffon: The French Rival of Linnaeus." Charles T. Ambrose. 2.2 (Summer 2009) p. 1.
  • "Leland Arthur Brown: Collector and Organizer of Transylvania’s Medical Collection." John D. Wright, Jr. 2.2 (Summer 2009) p. 12.
  • "Lexington: Edward Troye's Exquisite Portrait." Genevieve Baird Lacer. 3.1 (Summer 2010) p. 10.
  • Linnaeus: "Georges-Louis Leclerc, comte de Buffon: The French Rival of Linnaeus." Charles T. Ambrose. 2.2 (Summer 2009) p. 1.
  • Linnaeus: "Carolus Linnaeus: The Swede Who Named Almost Everything." Charles T. Ambrose. 2.2, (Summer 2009): p. 4.
  • Liturgical Text : "The Knollys Psalter." Lisa Fagin Davis. 9.1 (Spring 2017): p. 8.
  • Luminous Temples :  "A Most Beautiful Species of Illumination." Jamie Day. 9.1 (Spring 2017): p. 12.
  • Manuscript : "The Knollys Psalter." Lisa Fagin Davis. 9.1 (Spring 2017): p. 8.
  • "The ‘Magic’ of Selenite Slides." Jamie Day. 2.2 (Summer 2009) p. 8.
  • Maximillian : "Travels in the Interior of North America, 1832-34." Jeremy Paden. 8.1 (Spring 2016): p. 1.
  • "Mary Phelps Austin Holley." Melissa A. McEuen. 1.2 (Spring 2008) p. 12.
  • "Mayor of Gratz Park: Lucy Shropshire Crump." Gabrielle Fox. 1.3 (Summer 2008) p. 10.
  • McClain: "Surviving Depression and War: The Presidency of Raymond F. McLain." Stephen Leist. 5.2 (Summer 2012) p. 12
  • "Meat Rain." Kurt Gohde. 6.1 (Winter 2013) p. 12.
  • Medical Collection Graffiti. 2.3 (Fall 2009) p. i.
  • Medical Plants : Antoine Chazal : "Antoine Chazal Drawings: Precise and Realistic Illustrations of Medicinal Plants." Philippe Nusbaumer. 3.2 (Fall 2010): p. 10.
  • Medical School; medical department:
    • "Transylvania Medical Alumni Served Both Sides During Civil War." Charles T. Ambrose. 4.1 (Spring, 2011) p. 8.
    • "Transylvania Medical Graduate [Reuben Searcy Sr]. Searches for His Sons After a Civil War Battle." Charles T.  Ambrose. 4.1 (Spring, 2011) p. 12.
    • "The Historical Importance of Transylvania University’s Medical Department (1799-1859), Focusing on the Little Known Secret Kappa Lambda Society of Hippocrates and the Origin of the American Medical Association's Principles of Medical Ethics." Charles T. Ambrose. 4.2 (Fall, 2011).
    • "Grave Robbing In Lexington and Elsewhere." Charles Ambrose. 6.1 (Winter 2013) p. 2.
    • "Symposium Showcases Transylvania's 1799-1859 Medical Department." William A. Bowden. 1.1 (Winter 2008) p. 10.
    • "Transylvania's Great Medical Faculty Shoot-out: The Richardson Dudley Duel, 1818." Eric Christianson. 6.1 (Winter 2013) p. 5.
  • Medical Theses: "A Unique Treasure: Transylvania's 1,760 Medical Theses from the Early Nineteenth Century–11 on Yellow Fever." Charles Ambrose. 5.1 (Spring 2012) p. 4.
  • "Medical Venus." Jamie Day. 1.3 (Summer 2008) p. 6.
  • Medieval
    • "The Knollys Psalter." Lisa Fagin Davis. 9.1 (Spring 2017): p. 8.
    • "Le Jardin de Santé (Ortus Sanitatis)." Simonetta Cochis. 1.1 (Winter 2008) p. 4.
  • "Milk and Honeyville." Maurice Manning. 8.1 (Spring 2016) back cover
  • Moosnick: "Monroe Moosnick." William A. Bowden. 1.1 (Winter 2008) p. 8.
  • Moosnick Collection
    • "Natural History Collections at Transylvania." Jamie Day. 1.2 (Spring 2008) p. 6.
    • "Leland Arthur Brown: Collector and Organizer of Transylvania’s Medical Collection." John D. Wright, Jr. 2.2 (Summer 2009) p. 12.
    • "Transylvania’s Skull with a Hole in It." Charles T. Ambrose. 2.3 (Fall 2009) p. 2.
    • "Medical Venus." Jamie Day.  1.3 (Summer 2008) p. 6.
  • "Morlan Gallery Exhibition Celebrates the Illustrious Horse." 3.1 (Summer 2010) back cover.
  • "A Most Beautiful Species of Illumination." Jamie Day. 9.1 (Spring 2017): p. 12.
  • Native Americans
    • "Savagery And Civilization in Catlin's North American Indian Portfolio." Jeremy Paden. 6.2 (Summer 2013) p. 2.
    • "Travels in the Interior of North America, 1832-34." Jeremy Paden. 8.1 (Spring 2016) p. 1.
    • "Early Native American Students at Transylvania University." Christina Snyder. 8.1 (Spring 2016) p. 5.
  • "Natural History Collections at Transylvania." Jamie Day. 1.2 (Spring 2008) p. 6.
  • Ornithology
    • 1.2 (Spring 2008): back cover.
    • "Audubon’s Masterpiece: The Double Elephant Folio Edition of The Birds of America." Don Boarman. 1.2 (Spring 2008): p. 2.
    • "John Latham's A General Synopsis of Birds." Becky Fox.  5.2 (Summer 2012): p. 5.
    • "More Than Birds: Mark Catesby, a Colonial American Naturalist." Jeremy Paden 10.1 (Spring 2018): p. 2.
  • "Our Wish List For Transylvania Treasures." Susan Brown. 6.1 (Winter 2013) p. i.
  • "Our Vision for Transylvania’s Treasures." Mark V. Blankenship. 2.3 (Fall 2009) p. 12.
  • Peck Collection:
    • "The Clara Peck Collection." William A. Bowden. 3.1 (Summer 2010) p. 2.
    • "Rosa Bonheur’s Sketch Book." James D. Birchfield. 3.1 (Summer 2010) p. 4.
    • "Travels in the Interior of North America, 1832-34." Jeremy Paden. 8.1 (Spring 2016) p. 1.
    • "Savagery And Civilization in Catlin's North American Indian Portfolio." Jeremy Paden. 6.2 (Summer 2013) p. 2.
    • "Black Beauty by Anna Sewell." Kathy Egner. 3.1 (Summer 2010) p. 6.
    • "John Latham's A General Synopsis of Birds." Becky Fox. 5.2 (Summer 2012) p. 5.
    • "The Tournament Book of William IV of Bavaria." Simonetta Cochis and Kurt Godhe. 1.3 (Summer 2008) p. 2.
    • "Le Jardin de Santé (Ortus Sanitatis)." Simonetta Cochis. 1.1 (Winter 2008) p. 4.
    • "In the Name of the Flower: Les Fleurs animees." Simonetta Cochis. 3.2 (Fall 2010) p.8.
  • Peter, Frances Dallum:  "A Young Girl's View of the Civil War." 4.1 (Spring, 2011) back cover.
  • Peter, Robert
    • "Robert Peter’s Daguerreotype Camera." Jamie Day. 1.1 (Winter 2008) p. 6.
    • "Robert Peter Citizen of the Commonwealth and Transylvania Treasure." Eric Howard Christianson. 1.3 (Summer 2008) p. 12.
  • Photography: "Robert Peter’s Daguerreotype Camera." Jamie Day. 1.1 (Winter 2008) p. 6.
  • Planetarium: "Barlow's Amazing Planetarium." Jamie Day." 5.1 (Spring 2012) p. 12.
  • Polarization: "The ‘Magic’ of Selenite Slides." Jamie Day. 2.2 (Summer 2009) p. 8.
  • Polarization:  2.2 (Summer 2009) back cover.
  • Prayer Book: "The Knollys Psalter." Lisa Fagin Davis. 9.1 (Spring 2017): p. 8.
  • "Preservation of Special Collections." Gabrielle Fox. 1.3 (Summer 2008) p. 8.
  • Price: "Samuel Woodson Price’s Portrait of General George Henry Thomas." Susan Brown. 4.1 (Spring 2011) p. 4.
  • Prince Maximillian : "Travels in the Interior of North America, 1832-34." Jeremy Paden. 8.1 (Spring 2016): p. 1.
  • Rafinesque
    • "Rafinesque and Transylvania’s First Botanic Garden." Charles T. Ambrose. 3.2 (Fall 2010) p. 2.
    • "Five Early American Botanists’ Works and Opinions of Rafinesque." Charles T. Ambrose. 3.2 (Fall 2010) p. 6.
    • "Reading Rafinesque’s Drawings." Charles Boewe. 6.1 (Winter 2013) p. 10.
    • "Transylvania's famous Naturalist." Charles T. Ambrose. 2.1 (Winter 2009) p. 1.
    • "Rafinesque Comes to Transylvania." Charles Boewe 2.1 (Winter 2009) p. 4
    • Rafinesque 2.1 (Winter 2009) back cover.
  • Ramsay : "Transylvania's Anatomical Illustrations: A Most Fitting Collaboration." Jack Girard. 5,2 (Summer 2012): p. 1.
  • "Reading Rafinesque’s Drawings." Charles Boewe. 6.1 (Winter 2013) p. 10.
  • Richardson: "Transylvania's Great Medical Faculty Shoot-out: The Richardson Dudley Duel, 1818." Eric Christianson. 6.1 (Winter 2013) p. 5.
  • "Robert Peter’s Daguerreotype Camera." Jamie Day. 1.1 (Winter 2008) p. 6.
  • "Robert Peter Citizen of the Commonwealth and Transylvania Treasure." Eric Howard Christianson. 1.3 (Summer 2008) p. 12.
  • "Rosa Bonheur’s Sketch Book." James D. Birchfield. 3.1 (Summer 2010) p. 4.
  • Rose, Frank:  "The Exceptional Frank Rose: Transylvania President 1951-57." Stephen Leist. 5.1 (Spring 2012) p. 10.
  • "Samuel Woodson Price’s Portrait of General George Henry Thomas." Susan Brown. 4.1 (Spring 2011) p. 4.
  • "Savagery And Civilization in Catlin's North American Indian Portfolio." Jeremy Paden. 6.2 (Summer 2013) p. 2.
  • "Scale of Chemical Equivalents." Jennifer Landry. 5.2 (Summer 2012) p. 8.
  • "The Scrapbook of Horace and Mary Holley Ephemera and Expression in the Nineteenth Century." James P. Cousins. 6.2 (Summer 2013) p. 8.
  • Searcy: "Transylvania Medical Graduate [Reuben Searcy Sr]. Searches for His Sons After a Civil War Battle." Charles T.  Ambrose. 4.1 (Spring 2011) p. 12.
  • Secret Societies 6.1 (Winter 2013) back cover
  • Selenite Slides: "The ‘Magic’ of Selenite Slides." Jamie Day. 2.2 (Summer 2009) p. 8.
  • Selenite Slides 2.2 (Summer 2009) back cover.
  • Sewell: "Black Beauty by Anna Sewell." Kathy Egner." 3.1 (Summer 2010) p. 6.
  • Short:
    • "Dr. Charles Wilkins Short’s Herbarium." Jamie Day. 2.1 (Winter 2009) p. 8.
    • "Charles Wilkins Short’s Botanical Cabinet: A Uniquely Beautiful Piece of Utilitarian Furniture." Jamie Day. 3.2 (Fall 2010) p. 12.
    • "Charles Wilkins Short: Immortalized Through Plants Bearing His Name." Sarah Bray. 2.2, (Summer 2009): p. 6.
  • Slavery : "Travel, Empire, and Abolition in John Gabriel Stedman's Narrative of Five Years' Expedition Against the Revolted Negroes of Surinam." Jeremy Paden. 9.1 (Spring 2017): p. 1.
  • Surgery
    • "Transylvania’s Skull with a Hole in It." Charles T. Ambrose. 2.3 (Fall 2009): p. 2.
    • "Benjamin Dudley’s Surgical Set." Judy M. Chelnick. 2.3 (Fall 2009) p. 6.
    • "The Anatomical and Surgical Works of John and Charles Bell." Jamie Day. 2.3 (Fall 2009) p. 8.
  • "Surviving Depression and War: The Presidency of Raymond F. McLain. Stephen Leist. 5.2 (Summer 2012) p. 12.
  • "Symposium Showcases Transylvania's 1799-1859 Medical Department." William A. Bowden. 1.1 (Winter 2008) p. 10.
  • Temples Lumineux: "A Most Beautiful Species of Illumination." Jamie Day. 9.1 (Spring 2017): p. 12.
  • Thomas: "Samuel Woodson Price’s Portrait of General George Henry Thomas." Susan Brown. 4.1 (Spring 2011) p. 4.
  • Tobacco Smoke Glyster: "Brief Discourse on the Happy Effects of the Tobacco Smoke Glyster." Jamie Day. 6.1 (Winter 2013) p. 8.
  • "Transylvania Endures as Place of Creative Reflection." William F. Pollard. 2.1 (Winter 2009) p. 12.
  • "Transylvania Medical Alumni Served Both Sides During Civil War." Charles T. Ambrose. 4.1 (Spring 2011) p. 8.
  • "Transylvania Medical Graduate [Reuben Searcy Sr]. Searches for His Sons After a Civil War Battle." Charles T.  Ambrose. 4.1 (Spring 2011) p. 12.
  • "Transylvania Special Collections: A Hub of Activity." BJ Gooch 1.2 (Spring 2008) p. i.
  • "Transylvania's Anatomical Illustrations: A Most Fitting Collaboration." Jack Girard. 5.2 (Summer 2012) p. 1.
  • "Transylvania's Great Medical Faculty Shoot-out: The Richardson Dudley Duel, 1818." Eric Christianson. 6.1 (Winter 2013) p. 5.
  • "Transylvania’s Skull with a Hole in It." Charles T. Ambrose. 2.3 (Fall 2009) p. 2.
  • "Travel, Empire, and Abolition in John Gabriel Stedman's Narrative of Five Years' Expedition Against the Revolted Negroes of Surinam." Jeremy Paden. 9.1 (Spring 2017): p. 1.
  • "Travels in the Interior of North America, 1832-34." Jeremy Paden. 8.1 (Spring 2016) p. 1.
  • Trepanning: "Transylvania’s Skull with a Hole in It ." Charles T. Ambrose. 2.3 (Fall 2009) p. 2.
  • Troye: "Lexington: Edward Troye's Exquisite Portrait." Genevieve Baird Lacer. 3.1 (Summer 2010) p. 10.
  • "The Tournament Book of William IV of Bavaria." Simonetta Cochis and Kurt Godhe. 1.3 (Summer 2008) p. 2.
  • Tournament Book 1.3 (Summer 2008) back cover.
  • "Tulp’s Observationes Medicae." Charles T. Ambrose. 1.3 (Summer 2008) p. 4.
  • "A Unique Treasure: Transylvania's 1,760 Medical Theses from the Early Nineteenth Century–11 on Yellow Fever." Charles Ambrose. 5.1 (Spring 2012) p. 4.
  • "University Divided." Martha Baker. 4.1 (Spring 2011) p. i.
  • "Victor Hammer: Typeface Designer, Publisher, Portraitist." Jack Girard. 5.1 (Spring 2012): p. 7.
  • Vesalius : "Transylvania's Anatomical Illustrations: A Most Fitting Collaboration." Jack Girard. 5.2 (Summer 2012): p. 1.
  • Wallace : "Alfred Wallace: Collaborator and Friend of Charles Darwin." James Wagner. 5.1 (Spring 2012): p. 1.
  • Wax medical body: "Medical Venus." Jamie Day. 1.3  (Summer 2008): p. 6.
  • Welcome to the First Issue. Susan Brown. 1.1 (Winter 2008): p. i.
  • "A Well Organized Museum: The Kentucky University and Agricultural and Mechanical College Museum of Natural History." Eric Brooks. 9.1 (Spring 2017): p. 5.
  • Women
    • "An Interesting Letter About Gold Rush Women." Morris M. Weiss. 8.1 (Spring 2016): p. 8.
    • A Young Girl's View of the Civil War. 4.1 (Spring, 2011): back cover.
    • "Mary Phelps Austin Holley." Melissa A. McEuen. 1.2 (Spring 2008): p. 12.
    • "Riding High: Pioneer Women of the 1890s Bicycling Era." Sharon Brown. 10.1 (Spring 2018): p. 11.
  • Wright : "John Wright: A Transylvania Treasure." William A. Bowden. 1.2  (Spring 2008) p. 10.
  • Young, Byron : "Byron Young: The Treasure of a Transylvania Education." William A. Bowden. 2.3 (Fall 2009): p. 10.
  • A Young Girl's View of the Civil War. 4.1 (Spring, 2011): back cover.