Databases vs. the Web
Just because something is available online, that doesn’t mean it is a website. Online subscription databases like those from EBSCO are available because the library has paid to have online access to their materials, which is often more convenient for students and researchers. The open web, however, is exactly the opposite. The information is freely available, but anyone can create and host a site without any regulation. Be cautious when using the open web.
Theatre Journals to Follow
American Theatre published by TCG
Theatre Journal published by ATHE
TD & T is the same as (it changed titles to) Theatre design & technology : journal of the U.S. Institute for Theatre Technology. by United States Institute for Theatre Technology
Educational theatre journal by American Theatre Association.; American Educational Theatre Association
Do we have the Journal?
A - Z list of all journals by title
Lists both online & paper, date ranges, and where to find them at TU
Recommended Databases
- MLA This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. - Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time-frames—to give students, professors, and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall). - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Subject Guide
300 N. Broadway
Lexington, KY 40508-1797