Journals
![Bosch-garden-delights-left-book-reading Por Hieronymus Bosch [Public domain], undefined](https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Bosch-garden-delights-left-book-reading.jpg?uselang=es)
- Anales Cervantinos Founded in 1951, Anales Cervantinos is published annually and offers scholarly publications devoted to the life, works, society and time of Miguel de Cervantes.
- Archivum (Oviedo) This journal of philology from the Department of Philosophy and and Letters from the University of Oviedo publishes primarily scholarship on language and literature.
- Bulletin Hispanique This journal offers scholarly publications on the language, literature and civilization or the history of Spain and all the countries of Spanish America.
- Bulletin of the Comediantes Founded in 1948 by Everett W. Hesse, the Bulletin of the Comediantes is published semiannually by the Comediantes, an international group of scholars interested in early modern Hispanic theater. The Bulletin welcomes articles and notes in Spanish and English dealing with 16th and 17th century peninsular and colonial Latin American drama.
- Celestinesca Celestinesca is a journal that publishes scholarly articles about La Celestina.
- Cervantes : bulletin of the Cervantes Society of America Cervantes, the official journal of the Cervantes Society of America, publishes scholarly articles in English and Spanish on Cervantes' life and works, reviews, and notes of interest to cervantistas.
- Criticón (Revista de Centro Virtual Cervantes) Criticón is one of the most prestigious magazines dedicated to the literature and civilization of the Spanish Golden Age. It has been publishing since 1978 under the patronage of the research group, LEMSO (Literatura Española Medieval y del Siglo de Oro/ Medieval and Golden Age Literature) from the University of Toulouse-Le Mirail.
- eHumanista A peer-reviewed e-journal with articles on Spanish and Portuguese Medieval and Early Modern Literatures and Cultures.
- Hispania: revista española de historia Founded in 1940, Hispania: Revista Española de Historia is a four-monthly publication dedicated to the study of medieval, early modern and contemporary societies.
- Hispanic Review The Hispanic Review is a quarterly journal devoted to research in Hispanic literary and cultural studies. Published since 1933 by the Department of Romance Languages at the University of Pennsylvania, the journal features essays and book reviews on the diverse cultural manifestations of Spain and Latin America, from the medieval period to the present.
- Hispanófila This journal contains articles written in any of the main Romance languages or English on a Spanish or Spanish American subject.
- Iberoamericana (Madrid, Spain) IBEROAMERICANA is an interdisciplinary journal for literary studies, history and the social sciences. It is jointly published by the Ibero-American Institute (Berlin), the GIGA Institute for Latin American Studies (Hamburg) and the Iberoamericana/Vervuert publishing house (Madrid/Frankfurt am Main).
- Lemir LEMIR is a magazine devoted to publications on Medieval and Early Modern Spanish Literature.
Databases
- MLA This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall). - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
- ArsTheatricaArsTheatrica provides access to scholarly texts and articles, full transcripts of dramatic works, images, recordings and other materials for those interested in early modern theater, with a particular focus on Golden Age Spanish theater.
- Biblioteca Virtual del Patrimonio BibliográficoProvides access to the digital facsimiles of hundreds of manuscript collections and and rare books from Spain.
- Centro Virtual CervantesThe CV is a site dedicated to the circulation of the Spanish language and Hispanic culture.
Of particular interest will be:
- Antología de la crítica sobre el Quijote en el siglo XX: Wide selection of major critical works published in the 20th century that treat the work of Cervantes.
- Calderón y la cultura europea: 16 critical philological analyses dedicated to the contributions of Pedro Calderón de la Barca to European culture.
- Cervantistas: Digitilization of the publication of the Association of Cervantistas, that offer critical articles on the life, work and time of Miguel de Cervantes.
- Clásicos hispánicos: Works of classical language in the Spanish language, in critical editions that offer extensive bibliographies of other useful works.
- El conjuro de los libros: Exhibition of books from the literary world of Cervantes, held in the National Library of Colombia.
- El Quijote en América: Collection of anthologies of prestigious essays that treat the reception of the Quijote in Latin America.
- España y Flandes bajo los reindos de Carlos V y Felipe II: Collection of critical studies on the relationship between the Hispanic kingdoms and the terrories of the 17 Provinces of the 16th century.
- Fortuna de España: A study of the Spanish book edited in Europe between the 15th and 17th centuries, analyzed from the point of view of language and the printing press.
- Quevedo y la crítica: Collection of essays from the 20th century dedicated to the reception and analysis of the satirical and romantic work of Quevedo.
- Cervantes en la Biblioteca Virtual del Patrimonio BibliográficoThis site offers a variety of commentary, references and documents regarding the life, works and legacy of Miguel de Cervnates
- ClariselDatabase of Spanish Medieval and XVI century Literature from the University of Zaragoza.
- Iberian Studies WebThe Iberian Studies Web is designed to provide access to scholarly resources in Iberian Studies (for Spain, Portugal and Andorra). We do not strive for exhaustiveness but rather for quality. The resources organized here have undergone a selection and evaluation process. Annotations have been added where needed, augmenting the research value of these resources to scholars.
- Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time-frames—to give students, professors, and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
- PARESEl Portal de Archivos Españoles is a project from the Ministry of Education, Culture, and Sports dedicated to the circulation of the Patrimonio Histórico Documental Español. The site allows you to find the location of manuscripts, texts, and other resources that are available online or in archives.
- PARNASEOFor online journals and databases, such as full-text online access to LEMIR (Revista de Literatura Española Medieval y del Renacimiento).