Journals
-
Anuario de estudios medievales Founded in 1964 by Professor Emilio Sáez, the Anuario de Estudios Medievales is published annually and offers articles of original research about diverse aspects of the Medieval period, including the political and social history, the economy, culture, religion, science, art literature and philosophy. It is published in two installments with a total of 1,100 pages.
-
Archivum (Oviedo) This journal of philology from the Department of Philosophy and and Letters from the University of Oviedo publishes primarily scholarship on language and literature.
-
Bulletin Hispanique This journal offers scholarly publications on the language, literature and civilization or the history of Spain and all the countries of Spanish America.
-
Cahiers de Linguistique Hispanique MédiévaleFounded in 1976 under the name of Cahiers medieval Hispanic Linguistics, this journal was devoted to language studies on medieval Spanish. Since then, it has expanded to include civilization studies and literary history of the medieval Iberian Peninsula.
-
Celestinesca Celestinesca is a journal that publishes scholarly articles about La Celestina.
-
Criticón (Revista de Centro Virtual Cervantes) Criticón is one of the most prestigious magazines dedicated to the literature and civilization of the Spanish Golden Age. It has been publishing since 1978 under the patronage of the research group, LEMSO (Literatura Española Medieval y del Siglo de Oro/ Medieval and Golden Age Literature) from the University of Toulouse-Le Mirail.
-
eHumanista A peer-reviewed e-journal with articles on Spanish and Portuguese Medieval and Early Modern Literatures and Cultures.
-
Hispania: revista española de historia Founded in 1940, Hispania: Revista Española de Historia is a four-monthly publication dedicated to the study of medieval, early modern and contemporary societies.
-
Hispanic Review The Hispanic Review is a quarterly journal devoted to research in Hispanic literary and cultural studies. Published since 1933 by the Department of Romance Languages at the University of Pennsylvania, the journal features essays and book reviews on the diverse cultural manifestations of Spain and Latin America, from the medieval period to the present.
-
Hispanófila This journal contains articles written in any of the main Romance languages or English on a Spanish or Spanish American subject.
-
Iberoamericana (Madrid, Spain) IBEROAMERICANA is an interdisciplinary journal for literary studies, history and the social sciences. It is jointly published by the Ibero-American Institute (Berlin), the GIGA Institute for Latin American Studies (Hamburg) and the Iberoamericana/Vervuert publishing house (Madrid/Frankfurt am Main).
-
Lemir LEMIR is a magazine devoted to publications on Medieval and Early Modern Spanish Literature.
Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
-
Asociacion Hispánica de la Literatura Medieval (AHLM)The AHLM promotes and supports the study of Medeival Studies in the Iberian Peninsula. It also provides access to various journals.
-
Biblioteca Virtual del Patrimonio BibliográficoProvides access to the digital facsimiles of hundreds of manuscript collections and and rare books from Spain.
-
Centro Virtual CervantesThe CV is a site dedicated to the circulation of the Spanish language and Hispanic culture.
Of particular interest will be:
- Clásicos Hispánicos: Works of classical language in the Spanish language, in critical editions that offer extensive bibliographies of other useful works.
- El Arcipreste de Hita y el Libro de buen amor: Presentations from four conferences dedicated to the work of Juan Ruiz, Arcipreste de Hita.
-
ClariselDatabase of Spanish Medieval and XVI century Literature from the University of Zaragoza.
-
DialnetThis is a virtual library of Spanish academic journals, hosted by the Universidad de la Rioja in Spain. Primarily a bibliographic index with tables of contents, it covers more than 5,000 journals and 2.1 million documents. There are a growing number of full-text articles available as content is continuously updated. Subjects covered include the sciences, social sciences and the humanities and arts. It is particularly useful for subjects related to Spain, such as history and Islamic studies, not well covered by other popular databases. English language search is available. Coverage is 1980 to present.
-
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexIndexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E., with citations for Russia extended to 1613.
-
HispanomedievalismoA database dedicated to Medieval Spanish Literature. It provides links to journals, bibliographies, and various other resources for students.
-
Iberian Studies WebThe Iberian Studies Web is designed to provide access to scholarly resources in Iberian Studies (for Spain, Portugal and Andorra). We do not strive for exhaustiveness but rather for quality. The resources organized here have undergone a selection and evaluation process. Annotations have been added where needed, augmenting the research value of these resources to scholars.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall).
-
Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time-frames—to give students, professors, and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
-
MLA This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
-
PARESEl Portal de Archivos Españoles is a project from the Ministry of Education, Culture, and Sports dedicated to the circulation of the Patrimonio Histórico Documental Español. The site allows you to find the location of manuscripts, texts, and other resources that are available online or in archives.
-
PARNASEOFor online journals and databases, such as full-text online access to LEMIR (Revista de Literatura Española Medieval y del Renacimiento).
-
Spain Then and NowA website dedicated to various facets of Spanish culture including architecture, art, history, and literature. The link to 'Spanish Literature' contains several short summaries and studies of different themes in texts ranging from the Medieval to Golden Age.