Transy Library: WS 2294 : Feminist Rhetorics: Archives

Society of American Archivists

American Memory
Site features historical collections from the Library of Congress. American Memory provides free access to historical images, maps, sound recordings and many other archived materials.
Votes for Women
Selections from the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection (1848-1921) of the Rare Books Division of the Library of Congress.

Chronicling America - Library of Congress Newspapers, 1789-1963
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963. Chronicling America is a website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). Papers included can be browsed by state.

NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories.
African American Newspapers - Chronicling America, Library of Congress
Black Newspapers digitized by Library of Congress as part of the Chronicling America project. Covers 1800 to current with the bulk in 1850-1949.

Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

The University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill sponsors Documenting the American South, and the texts and materials come primarily from its southern holdings. The UNC University Library is committed to the long-term availability of these collections and their online records. An editorial board guides development of this digital library.

Kentucky Digital Library - KDL
This database covers primary historic materials from libraries all over the state of Kentucky. Find old documents, photos, newspapers, letters, diaries, and more. It also includes some of the collections from Transylvania like Coleman photos and the Rambler student newspaper.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Search articles from historical African American Newspapers.
New York Times Academic Pass
To get full access to the nytimes.com website create an account at the site linked above using your Transy.edu email address. Don't forget to check your email to verify.

Kentucky Women in the Civil Rights Era
Part of a community outreach program at the University of Kentucky that seeks to collaborate with any interested individuals or organizations who wish to focus on the participation of Kentucky women in the twentieth century civil rights era.

Barnard Center for Research on Women (BCRW)
Promotes women’s and social justice issues in the local spheres of the Barnard College community and academic and activist networks in New York City, as well as having a voice in national and transnational feminist organizing and research.
Distinguished Women of Past and Present
Biographical coverage of historical and current women; search by name or subject.
Internet Archive and Wayback Machine
Women's Liberation Movement
Taken from the archival collection of Duke University. Focuses primarily on the radical origins of the movement, the second wave of feminism, in the 1960s and 1970s.

Kentucky Room Digital Archives - Lexington Public Library (LPL)
The Lexington Public Library's Kentucky Room has been digitizing materials having to do with Lexington history. This includes newspapers, guides, photos, and other resources.

UK’s Special Collections Breckinridge Research Room
The Breckinridge Research Room is the place to go for physical access to rare books, archival collections, and oral histories. It is not required to make an appointment prior to your visit but many collections are stored off-site. Advanced notice will ensure that the materials you want are here for your visit.

ExploreUK
Historical Photos, documents, newspapers, and more from the University of Kentucky Special Collections and archives. Great resource for materials on Lexington and Kentucky.

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Make an appointment to talk about your research. Or email me for an appointment that works best for you.

859-233-8408