Transy Library: Philosophy: Find Articles

Find Background Info--Subject Specific Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Explore the reference resources listed here to develop a working knowledge of your topic. These materials will lead you deeper into the research through their summation of the topic, introduction to related concepts and events, and the bibliographies used to create them.

PRO TIP: Finding a reference source that relates to or covers your topic, doesn't mean it is a source that should be cited to build an argument. Some sources help us understand a topic so we can do further research in resources like academic books, peer-reviewed journals, and more.

Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias
Search many top encyclopedias on multiple topics for background information on your topic. Articles in these encyclopedias are written by experts.

Find Articles (in library databases)

A-Z Journal Finder - Do We Have That Journal?
Discover if we have the journal that you are looking for and which years are available.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Business Source Premier
Provides full text for nearly 3,800 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
CINAHL with Fulltext
Comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for nearly 600 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index – with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
JSTOR
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall).

TU Library has access to Arts & Science Collections I through XI and XV, and the Life Sciences Collection as well as 5,000 ebooks. JSTOR has opened access to all its journal collections to its platform through June 30, 2023 for institutions that already had a relationship with them.
Medline
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
PsycArticles
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO
American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals in more than 27 languages.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
Coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Offers nearly 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
Sociological Collection
Access to more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.

Library Session Materials

Session Slides (March 18, 2024)
Balancing your bibliography - diversifying and understanding source types
Session Slides (March 20, 2025)
Academic integrity & citation, searching for scholarly sources in the library catalog, and evaluating sources

Journals in the Field

Information on the ranking of scholarly journals in this subject may be found by clicking here.

Open Access Databases (does not require Transy login)

You can search these resources without a Transy login, but they may lead you to resources that cost money. Don't spend your money...SPEND OURS or USE ILL!

If you encounter articles on the open web that cost money try searching the journal title or article in the Transy library catalog or other library database. If you cannot find full text in the library resources, use inter-library loan and the library will try to acquire a free copy for you from another library.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of disciplines. When you are logged into your Transy Google in a Chrome browser, it will map back to library subscription databases for full-text access to some articles.
Semantic Scholar
"A free, AI-powered academic search engine. Semantic Scholar covers all STM and SSH disciplines including biology, medicine, computer science, geography, business, history, and economics. Nearly 200 million papers are sourced from 550+ partners such as PubMed, Springer Nature, Taylor & Francis, SAGE, Wiley, ACM, IEEE, arXiv, Microsoft Academic, and Unpaywall." If you run into a paywall, ask your librarians how to get the article for free!