Transy Library: Professional Development Readings: Mellon Grant for Faculty Teaching Development

Educational Development

Bernhagen, Lindsay ; Emily Gravett (2017). Educational Development as Pink Collar Labor: Implications and Recommendations. To Improve the Academy, 36(1), 9-19
David A. Green & Deandra Little (2011): Academic development on the margins, Studies in Higher Education, DOI:10.1080/03075079.2011.583640 see Melissa Fortner for full text
Grupp, Laurie L. (2014). Faculty developer as change agent: A conceptual model for small institutions and beyond. Journal on Centers for Teaching and Learning, 6, 45-58.
McDonald, J., Kenny, N., Kustra, E., Dawson, D., Iqbal, I., Borin, P., & Chan, J. (2016). Educational Development Guide Series: No. 1. The Educational Developer’s Portfolio. Ottawa, Canada: Educational Developers Caucus.
Muir, G., & Craig, J. (2017, April). Getting started in an educational development career: From faculty to small college CTL director. Nederland, CO: POD Network.
Mullinix, B.B. (2008). Credibility and effectiveness in context: An exploration of the importance of faculty status for faculty developers. To improve the academy, 26, 173-195. See Melissa Fortner for full text.

The Breadth of Current Faculty Development - Practioners' Perspectives by C. William McKee (Editor); Mitzy Johnson (Editor); William F. Ritchie (Editor); W. Mark Tew (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118648308

Publication Date: 2013
A Guide to Faculty Development by Kay J. Gillespie (Editor); Douglas L. Robertson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470600030

Publication Date: 2010
Rethinking Teaching in Higher Education: From a Course Design Workshop to a Faculty Development Framework by Alenoush Saroyan; Cheryl Amundsen
ISBN: 9781417544523

Publication Date: 2004

Centers for Teaching and Learning

American Council on Education (n.d.). The Faculty Development Center Matrix. Washington, D.C.: ACE
Chism, N.V.N., et al. (2012). Researching the Impact of Educational Development: Basis for Informed Practice. To Improve the Academy, vol. 31, 129-145. see Melissa Fortner for full text
Dunwoody, P.T., Westcott, K., Drews, D., & Hosler, J. (2012). Case study of a shoe-string SoTL Center. International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, 6(1), Article 21.
D’Avanzo, Charlene (2009). Supporting faculty through a new teaching and learning center. Peer Review, 11(2).
Felten, P., Little, D., Ortquist-Ahrens, L., & Reder, M. (2013). Program planning, prioritizing, and improvement: A simple heuristic. To Imrpove the Academy, 32, 183-198. see Melissa Fortner for full text
Flaherty, Colleen (2014). Some teaching and learning centers have closed after the recession, but field is growing over all. Inside Higher Ed
Frantz, A.C., Beebe, S.A., Horvath, V.S., Canales, J., and Swee, D. E. (2005). The roles of teaching and learning centers. To improve the academy, 23, 72-90. See Melissa Fortner for full text
Grush, Mary (2014). Reinventing Teaching and Learning Centers for the 21st Century. CampusTechnology.com
Hines, Susan R. (2017). Evaluating Centers for Teaching and Learning: A field-tested model. To Improve the Academy, 36(2), 89-100. see Melissa Fortner for full text
Hines, Sue (Oct 2017). Program evaluation, program assessment, program review: What's the difference? Presented at the 42nd annual POD Network Conference, Montreal, Quebec. See Melissa Fortner for powerpoint
Kressel, Kenneth, Bailey, James R., & Forman, Susan G. (1999). Psychological consultation in higher education: Lessons learned from a university faculty development center. Journal of Educational and Psychological Consultation, 10(1), 51-82.
Mooney, Kim M., & Reder, M. (2008). Faculty development at small and liberal arts colleges. To Improve the Academy, 26, 158-172. see Melissa Fortner for full article
Plank, K. M., & Mares, A. S. (2013). The paths people take through teaching center services: A descriptive analysis. Journal on Centers for Teaching and Learning, 5, 5-21. see Melissa Fortner for full text
Reder, M., Mooney, K.M., Holmgren, R.A., & Kuerbis, P.J. (2009). Starting and sustaining successful faculty development programs at small colleges. To improve the academy, 27, 267-286. See Melissa Fortner for full text.
Schroeder, Connie. 2015. Unpacking and Communicating the Multidimensional Mission of Educational Development: A Mission Tool for Centers of Teaching and Learning. To Improve the Academy: A Journal of Educational Development 34: 20-62. See Melissa Fortner for full text
Schumann, David W., John Peters, and Taimi Olsen. "Cocreating Value In Teaching And Learning Centers." New Directions For Teaching & Learning 2013.133 (2013): 21-32.
Singer, Susan R. 2002. Learning and Teaching Centers: Hubs of Educational Reform. New Directions for Higher Education, 119, 59-64. Wiley Publications.
White, Mark (2014). Perceptions of Success and Impact of Interactions on Faculty Development Centers in Higher Education. Dissertation. abstract only
Wilkerson, L. (1984). Starting a faculty development program: Strategies and approaches. To improve the academy, 3, 25-43. See Melissa Fortner for full text
Zakrajsek, T. (2013). Essentials skills in building and sustaining a faculty development center: Budget and staff. Journal on Centers for Teaching and Learning, 5, 121-132.
Zakrajsek, Todd. (2016). Oh, the places your center can go: Possible programs to offer. Journal on Centers for Teaching and Learning, 8, 93-109.

Advancing the Culture of Teaching on Campus: How a Teaching Center Can Make a Difference by Constance Cook (Editor); Matthew Kaplan (Editor); Lester P. Monts (Foreword by)
Call Number: LB1745 -- .A34 2011eb

ISBN: 9781579227234

Publication Date: 2012
Coming in from the Margins by Connie Schroeder; Phyllis Blumberg (As told to); Nancy Van Note Chism (As told to); Catherine E. Frerichs (As told to); Susan Gano-Phillips (As told to); Devorah Lieberman (As told to); Diana G. Pace (As told to); Tamara Rosier (As told to)
Call Number: LB1731 -- .S375 2011eb

ISBN: 9781579225032

Publication Date: 03-12-2012

Institutional Considerations

Abedor, Allen J., & Sachs, Steven G. (1978). The relationship between faculty development (FD), organizational development (OD), and instructional development (ID): Readiness for instructional innovation in higher education. In Instructional Development:
Brown, Jesse & Kurzweil, Martin. (2017). Institutional Quality, Student Outcomes, and Institutional Finances. Washington, D.C.: American Council on Education
Diamond, Robert M. 2005. The institutional change agency: The expanding role of academic support centers. In Chadwick-Blossey, Sandra (Ed.), To Improve the Academy, 23, pp. 24-37. Bolton, MA: Anker Publishing Company. Ask Melissa Fortner for copy
Diamond, Robert M. 2006. Why colleges are so hard to change. Inside Higher Ed.
Fairweather, James. 2002. The Mythology of Faculty Productivity: Implications for Institutional Policy and Decision Making. The Journal of Higher Education 73 (1): 26-48.
Gullatt, Daved E., & Weaver, Sue Wells. (1997). Use of faculty development activities to improve the effectiveness of U.S. institutions of higher education. Paper presented at the Annual Meeting of the Professional and Organizational Development Network i
Haras, C., et al. (2017). Institutional commitment to teaching excellence: Assessing the impacts and outcomes of faculty development. Washington, D.C.: American Council on Education.
McKee, C. William, & Tew, W. Mark (2013). Setting the stage for teaching and learning in American higher education: Making the case for faculty development. New Directions for Teaching and Learning, 133, 3-14.
Nemko, M., & Simpson, R. D. (1991). Nine keys to enhancing campus wide influence of faculty development centers. To improve the academy, 10, 83-87. See Melissa Fortner for full text.
Reder, M. 2007. Does your college really support teaching and learning? Peer Review 9(4): 9–13.
Shulman, L.S. (1993). Teaching as community property: Putting an end to pedagogical solitude. Change, 25(6), 6-7.
Wilson, Robin. 2010. Why Teaching is Not Priority No. 1. The Chronicle of Higher Education, September 5.
Wright, M. C., Howery, C. B., Assar, N., et al. (2004). Greedy institutions: The importance of institutional context for teaching in higher education. Teaching Sociology, 32, 144-159.
See Melissa Fortner for copy
Zahorski, D. (1993). Taking the lead: Faculty development as institutional change agent. To improve the academy, 12, 227-245. See Melissa Fortner for full text.

The Handbook of Organization Development in Schools and Colleges by Richard A. Schmuck; Philip J. Runkel See Melissa Fortner
ISBN: 0881337986

Publication Date: 1994

Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

O’Meara, Kerry Ann (2005). Encouraging multiple forms of scholarship in faculty reward systems: Does it make a difference? Research in Higher Education, 46(5), 479-510.
O’Meara, KerryAnn (2006). Encouraging multiple forms of scholarship in faculty reward systems: Have academic cultures really changed? New Directions for Institutional Research, 129, 77-95.
Robinson, J. M., & Nelson, C. E. (2003). Institutionalizing and diversifying a vision of the scholarship of teaching and learning. Journal on Excellence in College Teaching, 14 (2/3), 95-118. Ask Melissa Fortner for copy
Shapiro, H. N. (2006). Promotion & tenure & the scholarship of teaching & learning. Change, 38(2), March/April, 39-43.

Enhancing Learning Through the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning by Kathleen McKinney; Patricia K. Cross (Foreword by)
Call Number: LB 2326.3.M36 2007

ISBN: 9781933371290

Publication Date: 2007-05-25
Scholarship of Teaching and Learning In Higher Education by Rowena Murray
ISBN: 9780335237647

Publication Date: 2008

Journals and Blogs

Collected Essays on Teaching and Learning
Essays on Teaching Excellence (blog)
Faculty Development entries on Faculty Focus
Insight: A Journal of Scholarly Teaching
International Journal for Academic Development
International Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
Journal of Effective Teaching
Journal of Faculty Development No access
The Journal of Higher Education full text with 12-mo delay
A Journal of Scholarly Teaching
Journal on Centers for Teaching and Learning
Journal on Excellence in College Teaching no access
Learning Communities Journal no access
New Directions for Higher Education full text with 12-mo delay
New Directions for Teaching and Learning full text with 12-mo delay
Peer Review (online magazine)
Studies in Higher Education
Teaching & Learning Inquirty
To Improve the Academy TU library has some volumes (see books box); Melissa Fortner has current subscription

To Improve the Academy, vol 30 by Judith E. Miller; James E. Groccia
ISBN: 9781118145319

Publication Date: 2011
To Improve the Academy, vol 31 by James E. Groccia; Laura Cruz (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9781118257814

Publication Date: 2012
To Improve the Academy, vol 32 by James E. Groccia (Editor); Laura Cruz (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9781118746486

Publication Date: 2013

New Faculty Development

Beane-Katner, L. (2013). Developing the next generation of faculty: Taking a learning community approach. Journal on Centers for Teaching and Learning, 5, 91-106.

Peer Observation

Amrein-Beardsley, Audrey; & Osborn Popp, Sharon E. (2012). Peer observations among faculty in a college of education: Investigating the summative and formative uses of the Reformed Teaching Observation Protocol (RTOP). Educational Assessment, Evaluation, See Melissa Fortner for a copy
Atkinson, D.J., & Bolt, S. (2010). Using teaching observations to reflect upon and improve teaching practice in higher education. Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, 10(3), 1-19.
Berk, Naumann & Appling, (2004). Beyond Student Ratings: Peer Observations of Classroom and Clinical Teaching
Carroll, C., & O’Loughlin, D. (2014). Peer observation of teaching: enhancing academic engagement for new participants. Innovations In Education & Teaching International, 51(4), 446-456.
DiVall, Margarita, et al. (2012). Follow-up assessment of a faculty peer observation and evaluation program. American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education, 76(4), Article 61.
Gosling, D. (2013) Collaborative Peer-Supported Review of Teaching. Peer Review of Learning and Teaching in Higher Education: International Perspectives, J.Sachs & M. Parsell, Dordrecht, Springer, 13 - 31. See Melissa Fortner for full text.
Hendry, G.D., & Oliver, G.R. (2012). Seeing is believing: The benefits of peer observation. Journal of University Teaching & Learning Practice, 9(1), Article 7.
McCloud, J.D. (2015). More than the sum of its parts: Five fundamentals for formative peer observation of classroom teaching in higher education. Dissertation, Virginia Tech See Jonathan McCloud (jdmccloud@transy.edu) for a copy.
O'Keefe, M., Lecouteur, A., Miller, J., & McGowan, U. (2009). The Colleague Development Program: A multidisciplinary program of peer observation partnerships. Medical Teacher, 31(12), 1060-1065.
Richardson, Matthew O. (2000). Peer observation: Learning from one another. The NEA Higher Education Journal, 16(1), 9-20
Sachs, J., Parsell, M. (eds.) (2014). Peet Review of Learning and Teaching in Hìgher Education: International Perspectives. Springer Science+Business Media Dordrecht.
Siddiqui, Z.S., Jonas-Dwyer, D., & Carr, S.E. (2007). Twelve tips for peer observation of teaching. Medical Teacher, 29, 297-300.
Webb, J., & McEnerney, K. (1995). The view from the back of the classroom: A faculty-based peer observation program. Journal On Excellence In College Teaching, 6(3), 145-160. See Melissa Fortner for a copy
Weimer & Maryellen (2017). Peer review strategies that keep the focus on better teaching. FacultyFocus.com

Better Feedback for Better Teaching : A Practical Guide to Improving Classroom Observations by Thomas Kane, Steven Cantrell, Steven L. Holtzman, Jilliam N. Joe, Cynthia M. Tocci, and Jess Wood
Call Number: LB2838.A764 2016

ISBN: 9781118702000

Publication Date: 2016
Peer Review of Teaching by Nancy Van Note Chism; W. J. McKeachie (Foreword by); Grady W. Chism see Melissa Fortner for full text
ISBN: 9781933371214

Publication Date: 2007-06-04

Student-Faculty Partnerships

Faculty Teaching Development

Adams, Allison (2016). Helping Professors Find Time to Think. The Chronicle of Higher Education
Birdwell, T., Roman, T. A., Hammersmith, L., & Jerolimov, D. (2016). Active learning classroom observation tool: A practical tool for classroom observation and instructor reflection in active learning classrooms. Journal on Centers for Teaching and Learni
Bledsoe, R. S., & Richardson, D. S. (2016). An innovative award catches faculty in the act of great teaching. Journal on Centers for Teaching and Learning, 8, 51-69.
Condon, Williams, Iverson, Ellen R., Manduca, Cathryn, Rutz, Carol, & Willett, Gudrun. 2016). Faculty Development and Student Learning: Assessing the Connections. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press
D’Avanzo, C., and D. Morris. 2008. Investigating your teaching: faculty as research practitioners. Academe 94(1), 40–44.
Edwards, L. C., Snyder, S. J., & Sanders, A. L. (2016). Faculty development for fostering students’ critical thinking. Journal on Centers for Teaching and Learning, 8, 4-27.
Fink, L.D. (2016). Five high impact teaching practices. Collected Essays on Learning and Teaching, IX, 3-17.
Haras, Catherine (2018). Faculty Development as an Authentic Professional Practice.
Huber, M. T., & Hutchings, P. (2006). Building the teaching commons. Change, 38(3), May/June, 24-31.
Hurney, Carol A., et al. (2016). The faculty learning outcome assessment framework. Journal of Faculty Development, 30(2), 69-77. See Melissa Fortner for full text copy
Jankowski, Natasha (2017). Unpacking Relationships: Instruction and Student Outcomes. Washington, D.C.: American Council on Education.
Lesnick, A., & Cook-Sather, A. (2010). Building civic capacity on campus through a radically inclusive teaching and learning initiative. Innovations in Higher Education, 35, 3-17.
McWilliam, Erica (2008). Unlearning how to teach. Innovations in Education and Teaching International, 45(3), 263-269 see Melissa Fortner for full text
Palmer, Michael S., et al. A syllabus rubric to evaluate learner-centered focus
Quinn, L. (2012). Understanding resistance: an analysis of discourses in academic staff development. Studies In Higher Education, 37(1), 69-83. doi:10.1080/03075079.2010.497837
Rahilly, Timothy J., & Saroyan, Alenoush (1997). Characterizing poor and exemplary teaching in higher education: Implications for faculty development. Paper presented at the Annual Meeting of the American Education Research Association (Chicago, IL, March

Creating Significant Learning Experiences by L. Dee Fink
Call Number: LB2331 -- .F495 2013eb

ISBN: 9781118419014

Publication Date: 2013
Teaching What You Don't Know by Therese Huston
ISBN: 0674054024

Publication Date: 2009
What the Best College Teachers Do by Ken Bain
Call Number: LB2331 \.B

ISBN: 9780674065543

Publication Date: 2011
A Handbook for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education by Heather Fry; Steve Ketteridge; Stephanie Marshall
ISBN: 9780585450445

Publication Date: 2003
The Power of Problem-based Learning: a practical "how to" for teaching undergraduate courses in any discipline by Barbara J. Duch; Susan E. Groh; Deborah E. Allen
ISBN: 9781417544585

Publication Date: 2001
The 30 Goals Challenge for Teachers: Small Steps to Transform Your Teaching by Shelly Sanchez Terrell
ISBN: 9781317819325

Publication Date: 2014

Faculty Learning Communities

Website for Developing Faculty Learning Communities (FLCs): Communities of Practice in Higher Education Milton Cox and Miami University of Ohio
Barton, M. A., & Richlin, L. (2004). Managing multiple faculty learning communities. New Directions For Teaching & Learning, 2004(97), 81-85.
Blaisdell, M. L., & Cox, M. D. (2004). Midcareer and senior faculty learning communities: Learning throughout faculty careers. New Directions For Teaching & Learning, 2004(97), 137-148.
Cox, M. D. (2004), Introduction to faculty learning communities. New Directions for Teaching and Learning, 97, 5–23.
Cox, Milton D. (2016). Four positions of leadership in planning, implementing, and sustaining faculty learning community programs. New Directions for Teaching and Learning, 148, 85-96. see Melissa Fortner for copy
Hubball, H., Clarke, A., & Beach, A. L. (2004). Assessing faculty learning communities. New Directions For Teaching & Learning, 2004(97), 87-100.
Petrone, M. C. (2004). Supporting diversity with faculty learning communities: Teaching and learning across boundaries. New Directions For Teaching & Learning, 2004(97), 111-125.
Petrone, M. C., & Ortquist-Ahrens, L. (2004). Facilitating faculty learning communities: A compact guide to creating change and inspiring community. New Directions For Teaching & Learning, 2004(97), 63-69.
Richlin, L., & Cox, M. D. (2004). Developing scholarly teaching and the scholarship of teaching and learning through faculty learning communities. New Directions For Teaching & Learning, 2004(97), 127-135.
Richlin, L., & Essington, A. (2004). Overview of faculty learning communities. New Directions For Teaching & Learning, 2004(97), 25-39.
Sandell, K. L., Wigley, K., and Kovalchick, A. (2004). Developing facilitators for faculty learning communities. New Directions for Teaching and Learning, 97 51-62.
Shulman, G. M., Cox, M. D., & Richlin, L. (2004). Institutional considerations in developing a faculty learning community program. New Directions For Teaching & Learning, 2004(97), 41-49.
Teeter, Christopher; et al. (2011). Using communities of practice to foster faculty development in higher education. Collected Essays on Learning and Teaching, 4, 52-57.
Vaughan, N. (2004). Technology in support of faculty learning communities. New Directions For Teaching & Learning, 2004(97), 101-109.