Society of American Archivists
Library of Congress
American MemorySite features historical collections from the Library of Congress. American Memory provides free access to historical images, maps, sound recordings and many other archived materials.
Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch scanned copies of American newspapers, 1860-1922.
Votes for WomenSelections from the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection (1848-1921) of the Rare Books Division of the Library of Congress.
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American SouthCurrently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
Kentucky Virtual Library
KyleidoscopeAccess primary sources regarding the history of Kentucky.
Newspaper Sources
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Search articles from historical African American Newspapers. - New York Times Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
To get full access to the nytimes.com website create an account at the site linked above using your Transy.edu email address. Don't forget to check your email to verify.
U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
KY Women in the Civil Rights Era
Kentucky Women in the Civil Rights EraPart of a community outreach program at the University of Kentucky that seeks to collaborate with any interested individuals or organizations who wish to focus on the participation of Kentucky women in the twentieth century civil rights era.
On the Web
Barnard Center for Research on Women (BCRW)Promotes women’s and social justice issues in the local spheres of the Barnard College community and academic and activist networks in New York City, as well as having a voice in national and transnational feminist organizing and research.
Distinguished Women of Past and PresentBiographical coverage of historical and current women; search by name or subject.
Women's Liberation MovementTaken from the archival collection of Duke University. Focuses primarily on the radical origins of the movement, the second wave of feminism, in the 1960s and 1970s.
Lexington Public Library
Special Collections @ Transy
UK’s Special Collections - Breckinridge Research Room
UK’s Special Collections Breckinridge Research RoomThe Breckinridge Research Room is the place to go for physical access to rare books, archival collections, and oral histories. It is not required to make an appointment prior to your visit but many collections are stored off-site. Advanced notice will ensure that the materials you want are here for your visit.
Subject Guide
Susan Brown
she/her
Contact:
Make an appointment to talk about your research. Or email me for an appointment that works best for you.
859-233-8408