Find Articles
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
-
Arxiv.org This link opens in a new window
Open access to 639,712 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from 1,900+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences and around 5,000 ebooks. Coverage dates for journals are from the very first issue of each journal (the nineteenth or early twentieth centuries for many) and continues to 2 – 5 years prior to the current year (moving wall).
-
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. This is the electronic extension of Mathematical Reviews.
-
Nature - The Journal This link opens in a new window
We have access to the current year and the previous four years online. The previous years are in EBSCO's Academic Search Complete: 06/05/1997 - 1 year ago.
-
Science - The magazine 1880-2011 in JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This is the archive. Current access is provided by TU through the Science website.
-
Science - The magazine 1997-current This link opens in a new window
This is access to the Science magazine webbsite. Coverage is 1997-current. Back issues of Science are available in JSTOR.
Featured Mathematics Journals (for Senior Seminar)
-
A-Z Journal Finder - Do We Have That Journal? This link opens in a new window
Discover if we have the journal that you are looking for and which years are available.
Journals in this Discipline
Click here to access a list of academic journals on this subject available through Transylvania University Library
Top Journals
Information on the ranking of scholarly journals in this subject may be found by clicking here.
Anatomy of an Article
Remember that you don't need to read an entire scholarly article in order to grasp its general topic. Scan the abstract, introduction, and conclusion/discussion sections of a scholarly article in order to determine whether it is appropriate for your project before you read the entire article.
Check out this diagram on the anatomy of a scholarly article for more help!
