It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books from the academic realm can provide both breadth and depth on specific subjects. More resources can be found in our library catalog.
Black Bone by Bianca Lynne Spriggs (Editor); Jeremy Paden (Editor); Frank X. Walker (Contribution by)The Appalachian region stretches from Mississippi to New York, encompassing rural areas as well as cities from Birmingham to Pittsburgh. Though Appalachia's people are as diverse as its terrain, few other regions in America are as burdened with stereotypes. Author Frank X Walker coined the term "Affrilachia" to give identity and voice to people of African descent from this region and to highlight Appalachia's multicultural identity. This act inspired a group of gifted artists, the Affrilachian Poets, to begin working together and using their writing to defy persistent stereotypes of Appalachia as a racially and culturally homogenized region. After years of growth, honors, and accomplishments, the group is acknowledging its silver anniversary with Black Bone. Edited by two newer members of the Affrilachian Poets, Bianca Lynne Spriggs and Jeremy Paden, Black Bone is a beautiful collection of both new and classic work and features submissions from Frank X Walker, Nikky Finney, Gerald Coleman, Crystal Wilkinson, Kelly Norman Ellis, and many others. This illuminating and powerful collection is a testament to a groundbreaking group and its enduring legacy.
Call Number: eBook & print book
Publication Date: 2018-02-23
Listen Here by Sandra L. Ballard (Editor); Patricia L. Hudson (Editor)"Listen Here: Women Writing in Appalachia" is a landmark anthology that brings together the work of 105 Appalachian women writers, including Dorothy Allison, Harriette Simpson Arnow, Annie Dillard, Nikki Giovanni, Denise Giardina, Barbara Kingsolver, Jayne Anne Phillips, Janice Holt Giles, George Ella Lyon, Sharyn McCrumb, and Lee Smith. Editors Sandra L. Ballard and Patricia L. Hudson offer a diverse sampling of time periods and genres, established authors and emerging voices. From regional favorites to national bestsellers, this unprecedented gathering of Appalachian voices displays the remarkable talent of the region's women writers who've made their mark at home and across the globe.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Southern Women Novelists and the Civil War by Sharon TalleyDuring and after the Civil War, southern women played a critical role in shaping the South's evolving collective memory by penning journals and diaries, historical accounts, memoirs, and literary interpretations of the war. While a few of these writings--most notably Mary Chesnut's diaries and Margaret Mitchell's novel, Gone with the Wind--have been studied in depth by numerous scholars, until now there has been no comprehensive examination of Civil War novels by southern women. In this welcome study, Sharon Talley explores works by fifteen such writers, illuminating the role that southern women played in fashioning cultural identity in the region. Beginning with Augusta Jane Evans's Macaria and Sallie Rochester Ford's Raids and Romance of Morgan and His Men, which were published as the war still raged, Talley offers a chronological consideration of the novels with informative introductions for each time period. She examines Reconstruction works by Marion Harland, Mary Ann Cruse, and Rebecca Harding Davis, novels of the "Redeemed" South and the turn of the century by Mary Noailles Murfree, Ellen Glasgow, and Mary Johnston, and narratives by Evelyn Scott, Margaret Mitchell, and Caroline Gordon from the Modern period that spanned the two World Wars. Analysis of Margaret Walker's Jubilee (1966), the first critically acclaimed Civil War novel by an African American woman of the South, as well as other post-World War II works by Kaye Gibbons, Josephine Humphreys, and Alice Randall, offers a fitting conclusion to Talley's study by addressing the inaccuracies in the romantic myth of the Old South that Gone with the Wind most famously engraved on the nation's consciousness. Informed by feminist, poststructural, and cultural studies theory, Talley's close readings of these various novels ultimately refute the notion of a monolithic interpretation of the Civil War, presenting instead unique and diverse approaches to balancing "fact" and "fiction" in the long period of artistic production concerning this singular traumatic event in American history. Sharon Talley, professor of English at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, is the author of Ambrose Bierce and the Dance of Death and Student Companion to Herman Melville. Her articles have appeared in American Imago, Journal of Men's Studies, and Nineteenth-Century Prose.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014-03-30
The WPA Guide to Kentucky by F. Kevin Simon (Editor)One of the first great reference tools on the Commonwealth, this WPA Guide is an important, vital part of our heritage. While it includes brief essays describing Kentucky's history, folklore, education, industry, geology, ethnic mix and other topics, the most remarkable feature is the driving tours that are as accurate today as they were more than half a century ago. Careful annotations give directions, point out historical and tourist sites, describe the country side, and even provide mileage for the drives.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014-10-17
Other research resources (additional libraries and collections)
Our collections focus on 20th century Kentucky history, Appalachia, Kentucky writers, agriculture, black history, the history of the University of Kentucky, broadcasting, sports, Kentucky medical history, and the experience of Kentucky war veterans.
Since 1851, obituaries in The New York Times have been dominated by white men. "Overlooked" is a history project telling the stories of other remarkable people who were omitted from the NYTime obit pages.
Academic Search CompleteMulti-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Literary Reference Center PlusProvides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time-frames—to give students, professors, and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
PsycArticlesPsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection A comprehensive database covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world’s largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for over 560 journals.
PsycINFOAmerican Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals in more than 27 languages.
Sociological CollectionAccess to more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Beyond Hill and Hollow by Elizabeth S. D. Engelhardt"The first book to focus exclusively on studies of Appalachia's women, Beyond Hill and Hollow: Original Readings in Appalachian Women's Studies is a pathbreaking collection that firmly establishes the field of Appalachian women's studies. Bringing together the work of historians, linguists, sociologists, social workers, performance artists, literary critics, theater scholars, and others, the collection portrays the diverse cultures of Appalachian women." --BOOK JACKET
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Bloodroot by Joyce Dyer (Editor)This is a print book in the library, available to check out.
Winner of the 1997 Appalachian Studies Award Appalachian Writers Association 1999 Book of the Year Winner of the Susan Koppleman Award of the Popular Culture Association for Best Edited Collection in Women's Studies Joyce Dyer is director of writing and associate professor of English at Hiram College, Ohio."
Call Number: Gen Coll: PS 286.A6 B57 1998
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
The History of Southern Women's Literature by Carolyn Perry (Editor); Mary Weaks-Baxter (Editor)Many of America?s foremost, and most beloved, authors are also southern and female: Mary Chesnut, Kate Chopin, Ellen Glasgow, Zora Neale Hurston, Eudora Welty, Harper Lee, Maya Angelou, Anne Tyler, Alice Walker, and Lee Smith, to name several. Designating a writer as ?southern? if her work reflects the region?s grip on her life, Carolyn Perry and Mary Louise Weaks have produced an invaluable guide to the richly diverse and enduring tradition of southern women?s literature. Their comprehensive history?the first of its kind in a relatively young field?extends from the pioneer woman to the career woman, embracing black and white, poor and privileged, urban and Appalachian perspectives and experiences. The History of Southern Women?s Literature allows readers both to explore individual authors and to follow the developing arc of various genres across time. Conduct books and slave narratives; Civil War diaries and letters; the antebellum, postbellum, and modern novel; autobiography and memoirs; poetry; magazine and newspaper writing?these and more receive close attention. Over seventy contributors are represented here, and their essays discuss a wealth of women?s issues from four centuries: race, urbanization, and feminism; the myth of southern womanhood; preset images and assigned social roles?from the belle to the mammy?and real life behind the facade of meeting others? expectations; poverty and the labor movement; responses to Uncle Tom?s Cabin and the influence of Gone with the Wind. The history of southern women?s literature tells, ultimately, the story of the search for freedom within an ?insidious tradition,? to quote Ellen Glasgow. This teeming volume validates the deep contributions and pleasures of an impressive body of writing and marks a major achievement in women?s and literary studies.
Call Number: Gen Coll: PS 261 .H534 2002
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
Series in Race, Ethnicity, and Gender in Appalachia by Connie Park Rice (Editor); Marie Tedesco (Editor)Scholars of southern Appalachia have largely focused their research on men, particularly white men. While there have been a few important studies of Appalachian women, no one book has offered a broad overview across time and place. With this collection, editors Connie Park Rice and Marie Tedesco redress this imbalance, telling the stories of these women and calling attention to the varied backgrounds of those who call the mountains home. The essays of Women of the Mountain South debunk the entrenched stereotype of Appalachian women as poor and white, and shine a long-overdue spotlight on women too often neglected in the history of the region. Each author focuses on a particular individual or group, but together they illustrate the diversity of women who live in the region and the depth of their life experiences. The Mountain South has been home to Native American, African American, Latina, and white women, both rich and poor. Civil rights and gay rights advocates, environmental and labor activists, prostitutes, and coal miners--all have lived in the place called the Mountain South and enriched its history and culture.
Wingless Flights by Danny L. MillerIn this innovative work, Danny L. Miller surveys some of the depictions of mountain women from the 1880s to the 1950s, in the writings of Mary Noailles Murfree, Edith Summers Kelley, Anne W. Armstrong, Emma Bell Miles, Jesse Stuart, James Still, and Harriette Arnow. The major aims of the study are to show changes in the descriptions of mountain women--from non-native to native portrayals; from romantic to realistic presentations; and from an emphasis on victimization and drudgery to an emphasis on strength and endurance. Miller identifies qualities that have consistently characterized mountain women in literature.