Research 101
You will not find all the information you need in one place nor will you find it using a single search term. Collect keywords as you search. Use keywords in various combinations to focus your search and refine your results list. Gather information from a wide variety of sources (encyclopedias, journal articles, book chapters, reviews, etc.). Synthesize the information you find to support your thesis. Remember to give credit when using the words or ideas of others.
Possible Catalog Searches
Here are some sample subject searches on your class theme in the library catalog:
Featured Books
The following is a list of book titles on piracy and seafaring life. A larger collection of Transy print titles can be viewed as a WorldCat List.
-
-
-
-
-
The Northern Conquest: Vikings in Britain and Ireland by Call Number: DA158 .H655 2007ISBN: 1904955347Publication Date: 2007 -
Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by Call Number: VK57 .R43 1987ISBN: 9780521303422Publication Date: 1987 -
Somalia, the New Barbary? by Call Number: HV6433.786.S58 M87 2011ISBN: 9780231701549Publication Date: 2011
Transy Library Catalog
Credo Reference: Basic Search Box with descriptive text
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Find Articles--Library Databases to Use
Remember to limit to scholarly articles. Depending on your topic, you may wish to use other limits such as date or publication type.Alphabetic List--all library databases
Do we have that journal? Check the A-Z list of all journals to find out!
-
Academic Search Complete Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
-
Sociological Collection Access to more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
-
PsycArticles PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
-
Military & Government Collection Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Find Scholarly Articles--JSTOR
Subject Guide
300 N. Broadway
Lexington, KY 40508-1797