More documents
Search or Browse Transylvania Related Documents & Materials
As we digitize documents having to do with the university, they will be added here. Browse for items such as announcements, song books, a list of the 1829 laws of Transylvania and more.
Board of Trustees Minutes
- Transylvania University Board of Trustees Minutes, 1827-1850The Board of Trustees Minutes for Transylvania University includes information on the history of Transylvania, its nineteenth century medical school, the law school, the preparatory school, the faculty, students, buildings, finances and operations. Names of students who attended and graduated are sometimes included. They also may provide insight into the history of enslaved people, the history of Lexington, and the history of tensions between different Christian denominations in the first half of the 19th century.
- Kentucky University Board of Trustees Minutes 1862-1877These transcribed and digitized minutes are included in the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees minutes at the University of Kentucky's ExploreUK site. From 1860 to 1878 the University of Kentucky and Transylvania University were the same institution known as Kentucky University.
Catalogs of the Institution
Depending on the year that they were created, college catalogs can provide information about the curriculum, university rules, lists of students, faculty & trustees, and more.
Catalogue of Officers and Students of Transylvania University, 1820-1826
This bound set of catalogs includes both catalogs from this time period and theses.
Catalogue of the Trustees and Faculty of Transylvania University, 1828.
Published at the end of the Inaugural Address of Alva Woods, President of TU.
Transylvania Catalog - Medical Department - 1847
BROWSE CATALOGS AVAILABLE FROM OTHER INSTITUTIONS:
Catalogue of Medical Graduates with appendix, 1838.
Copy found at NIH, loaded at archive.org
Kentucky University. Annual Announcement of Kentucky University. Louisville, KY: Morton & Griswold, 1859.
This is a catalog for Kentucky University in Harrodsburg before the merger with Transylvania.
Kentucky University Catalogs 1865-1876 - These Kentucky University Catalogs are digitized and available under the University of Kentucky collection of catalogs. Kentucky University was the name used by the institution in the later half of the 19th Century. See the history of our name for more information.
Kentucky University., Kentucky University. Agricultural and Mechanical College. Catalogue of the officers and students of Kentucky University for the academical year 1867-68 ... Lexington, Ky. 1868. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University., Kentucky University. Agricultural and Mechanical College. Catalogue of the officers and students of Kentucky University for the academical year 1868-69 ... Lexington, Ky. 1869. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University., Kentucky University. Agricultural and Mechanical College. Catalogue of the officers and students of Kentucky University for the academical year 1869-70 ... Lexington, Ky. 1870. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University., Kentucky University. Agricultural and Mechanical College. Catalogue of the officers and students of Kentucky University for the session 1870-71 ... Lexington, Ky. 1871. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University., Kentucky University. Agricultural and Mechanical College. Catalogue of the officers and students of Kentucky University for the session of 1871-72 ... Lexington, Ky. 1871. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University., Kentucky University. Agricultural and Mechanical College. Annual catalogue of the officers and students of Kentucky University for the session of 1872-73 ... Lexington, Ky. 1871. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University., Kentucky University. Agricultural and Mechanical College. Catalogue of the officers and students of Kentucky University for the session 1877-78 ... Lexington, Ky. 1878. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University. Annual catalogue of Kentucky University, Lexington Kentucky, for the 25th session, ending June 12, 1884 and the announcement for 1884-85. Lexington, Ky. 1884. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University. Annual catalogue of Kentucky University, Lexington Kentucky, for the 27th session, ending June 10, 1886 and the announcement for 1886-87. Lexington, Ky. 1886. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University. Annual catalogue of Kentucky University, Lexington Kentucky, for the 28th session, ending June 9, 1887 and the announcement for 1887-88. Lexington, Ky. 1887. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University. Annual catalogue of Kentucky University, Lexington Kentucky, for the 29th session, ending June 14, 1888 and the announcement for 1888-89. Lexington, Ky. 1888. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University. Annual catalogue of Kentucky University, Lexington Kentucky, for the 31st session, ending June 12, 1890 and the announcement for 1890-91. Lexington, Ky. 1890. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University. Catalogue of Kentucky University and of the College of the Bible. Lexington, Ky. 1891. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University. Catalogue of Kentucky University and of the College of the Bible. Lexington, Ky. 1892. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University. Catalogue of Kentucky University, 1892-93. Lexington, Ky. 1893. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University. Catalogue of Kentucky University, 1893-94. Lexington, Ky. 1894. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University. Catalogue of Kentucky University, 1895-96. Lexington, Ky. 1896. Accessed in HathiTrust, 2022.
Kentucky University. Catalogue of Kentucky University, 1899-1900. Lexington, Ky. 1900.
Kentucky University. Catalogue of Kentucky University, 1900-01. Lexington, Ky. 1901.
Kentucky University. Catalogue of Kentucky University, 1903-04. Lexington, Ky. 1904.
Kentucky University. Catalogue of Kentucky University, 1904-05. Lexington, Ky. 1905.
Kentucky University. Catalogue of Kentucky University, 1905-06. Lexington, Ky. 1906.
Transylvania University. Catalogue 1908-09. [Lexington], [1909]
Transylvania University. Catalogue 1909-10. [Lexington], [1910]
Transylvania University. Catalogue 1911-12. [Lexington], [1912]. Includes College of the Bible Catalog.
Student Publications
- Rambler Student NewspaperThis digitized collection of the Rambler covers 1949-1975. As additional years are digitized they will be added here.
- The Crimson - The Transylvania YearbookCreated by students, the Crimson was published annually from 1897 - 2013. It is a snapshot of campus life as seen by students and can include student pictures, club information, athletic and information on student life. They sometimes also include photos of faculty and staff. As additional yearbooks are digitized they will be added here.
- The Transylvanian - Student Arts magazineFirst published in 1891, The Transylvanian is a student literary arts magazine. It was originally issued monthly, sometimes semi-annually, and is currently issued annually. From time to time the publication was suspended. It has been published by the Student Board of Publications. It contains juried works from student submissions of essays, poetry, fiction, songs, photographs, and other artwork. It was also called "The First Literary Magazine of the West." Copies will be added as they are digitized.
Other Documents
Kentucky university.The Statutes And Laws of Kentucky University, containing the charter as passed by the legislature of Ky., and approved January 16, 1858. Also, the laws and regulations adopted by the Board of curators, Feb. 4, 1858.. Harrodsburg, Ky., 1858.
Kentucky University. The Charter And the Other Acts of the Legislature Relating to Kentucky University: Together With the Statutes And Laws as revised and adopted by the Board of Curators, July 12, 1866. Lexington, Ky.: Gazette Printing Company, 1866.
Kentucky University. The Annual Report of the Treasurer of Kentucky University With the Financial History And Condition of the Institution: From Its Organization In 1855, to the Present Time, Prepared And Made Out for Publication Under Resolution of the Board of Curators, At Their Meeting June 5th, 1871. Lexington, Ky.: Observer and Reporter Print, 1871.