- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
We're glad you've joined us for the Wikipedia Edit-a-Thon! This page is full of resources and tips as you begin your searching. The General Research page may be helpful as a starting place before you delve into discipline-specific resources! As always, if you're feeling stuck, just ask for help.
As you explore topics, develop a keyword list for each topic of interest. Brainstorm for synonyms, names of events and people for your topics. You may identify words or subjects in the records of the items you locate in library resources. Add to the list as you delve into encyclopedia articles, journal articles and other resources. Combine keywords together to focus your searches.
Below are listed general resources that may aid you in your searching if you aren't quite ready to dive deeper into a specific discipline.
- GVRL Search: "business and professional women" - this will cover a variety of disciplines, not just business/econ.
- Commire, Anne, editor. Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia. Yorkin Publications, 2002. 17 vols. Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Goldberg, Abbie E., editor. The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies. Vol. 2, SAGE Reference, 2016. Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Lee, Lily Xiao Hong, and A.D. Stefanowska, editors. Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Women: Tang Through Ming, 618-1644. M.E. Sharpe, 2014. University of Hong Kong Libraries Publications 25. Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- O'Brien, Jodi, editor. Encyclopedia of Gender and Society. Vol. 1, SAGE Publications, 2009. Gale Virtual Reference Library
- O'Connor, Karen, editor. Gender and Women's Leadership: A Reference Handbook Vol. 2, SAGE Reference, 2010. Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search available through the Transy library catalog. A Quick Search will bring you back any results with the keyword you chose. Books will bring back results that are both physical books and ebooks. An Articles search will show journal articles that Transylvania provides access to, and Videos will bring back just multimedia results.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of reference materials and ebooks that relate to a wide variety of disciplines. This is a good general reference resource for locating biographical information about women in their respective fields and their subsequent contributions to said field/industry.