Subject Specific Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Explore the reference resources listed here to develop a working knowledge of your topic. These materials will lead you deeper into the research through their summation of the topic, introduction to related concepts and events, and the bibliographies used to create them.
Online
- GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Search many top encyclopedias on multiple topics for background information on your topic. Articles in these encyclopedias are written by experts. - OED - Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The best English language dictionary in the world. It provides the history of words including their first recorded use.
Reference Books and Theatre History: A Select List
Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama
Ref: PN1861 .C65 2007
Covering the period 1860 to the present, this two-volume set includes entries on 540 plays, 640 playwrights, and over 60 countries. Organized alphabetically.
Critical Survey of Drama
Ref: PN1625 .C68 2003
A set of eight volumes including 538 essays on individual dramatists and 64 essays on broad overview topics. Organized alphabetically.
The Drama Dictionary
Ref: PN1625 .H62 1988bx
Hodgson's work contains more than 1,300 entries that define and illustrate dramatic theory and theatrical practice.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater by Eladio Cores, Mirta Barrea-Marlys (ebook)
McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama: An International Reference Work in 5 Volumes by Stanley Hochman (print)
Encyclopedia of Asian Theater by Samuel Leiter (print)
A Century of Musicals in Black and White : An Encyclopedia of Musical Stage Works by, about, or involving African Americans by Bernard L. Peterson (ebook)
International Dictionary of Theatre by Mark Hawkins-Dady; Leanda Shrimpton; David Pickering (print)
The Cambridge Guide to World Theatre by Martin Banham
The Cambridge Guide to Asian Theatre by James R. Brandon and Martin Banham (print)
The Cambridge Companion to Medieval English Theatre by Richard Beadle (print)
The Cambridge Companion to English Restoration Theatre by Deborah Payne Fisk (print)
The Oxford Companion to Theatre by Phyllis Hartnoll (print)
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre by Gerald Martin Bordman and Thomas S. Hischak (print)
The Oxford Companion to the American Musical: Theatre, Film, and Television by Thomas S. Hischak (book)
Kennedy, Dennis. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance. New York: Oxford University Press, 2003. Internet resource
The Biographical Encyclopaedia & Who's Who of the American Theatre by Walter Rigdon (print)
Women in American Theatre by Helen Krich Chinoy; Linda Walsh Jenkins (print)
Theatre by Robert Cohen and John von Szieliski (print)
The Classic Theatre by Eric Bentley (print)
The Modern Theatre by Robert W. Corrigan (print)
The Kabuki Theatre by Earle Ernst (ebook)
Community Theatre: Global Perspectives by Eugene Van Erven (ebook)
Contemporary Theatre in Education by Roger Wooster (ebook)
The American Theatre by J. A. Anderson and Rene Fulop-Miller
The Cambridge Illustrated History of British Theatre by Simon Trussler (print)
The British Theatre by Alec Clunes (print)
Theatre in Southeast Asia by James R. Brandon
The Chinese Theatre by Jack Chen (book)
Jewish Theatre: A Global View by Edna Nahshon (ebook)
The Theatre: An Introduction by Oscar G. Brockett (book)
Subject Guide
