Subject Specific Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Explore the reference resources listed here to develop a working knowledge of your topic. These materials will lead you deeper into the research through their summation of the topic, introduction to related concepts and events, and the bibliographies used to create them.
Online
- GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Search many top encyclopedias on multiple topics for background information on your topic. Articles in these encyclopedias are written by experts. - OED - Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The best English language dictionary in the world. It provides the history of words including their first recorded use.
Print (located in the reference area)
Brill's New Pauly Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Classical Tradition- Ref: DE5 .N48513
Five volume encyclopedia on the classical world, including alphabetically-arranged articles with tables and illustrations.
Brill's New Pauly: Supplements - Ref: DE5 .N48313
Three volumes: (1) Chronologies of the Ancient World, (2) Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts, and (3) Historical Atlas of the Ancient World.
Classical Literature and Its Times - Ref: PA3003 .M67 2006
Volume 8 of World Literature and Its Times. Provides encyclopedic entries on literary works as well as a chronology of historical events and a comprehensive index.
History of Art - Ref: N5300 .J3 2001
Organized chronologically, this encyclopedia includes primary sources, timelines, bibliographies, a directory, a glossary, and index.
Who's Who in Classical Mythology - Ref: BL715 .G68 2002
Over 1,200 entries on ancient gods and heroes, including detailed maps, comprehensive family trees, and biographical listings of key classical authors.
Subject Guide
