Image & Museum Resources
- Artcyclopedia This link opens in a new window
A portal for art-related information on the world wide web, Artcyclopedia lists material on over 9,000 artists, 2,900 websites, and 160,000 total art-related links. - ARTstor This link opens in a new windowCurated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. ARTstor contains 3,000,000 images and associated catalog data including contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists' estates worldwide. TU has access to the free public collection but not the full database.
- College Art Association This link opens in a new window
CAA includes among its members those who by vocation or avocation are concerned about and/or committed to the practice of art, teaching, and research of and about the visual arts and humanities. - Google Art Project This link opens in a new window
Amazing searchable collection of images from multiple art museums. - Metropolitan Museum of Art This link opens in a new window
Search the Met's image database of their collection.
Locating Credible Sources: Evaluate, evaluate, evaluate...
Authority
who has written this information? what credentials does this person/group have on this subject? Is your source credible? What is the reputation of the source or content author?
Source
who is responsible for the Web site or resource? what organization is hosting (and paying to keep alive) this page or publish this resource?
Purpose
why does this site or resource exist? why was it created? Who is the intended audience?
Accuracy
is the information accurate? can it be verified through another source? is the language objective and impartial or is it subjective and inflammatory? is the information or research documented?
Depth
how thoroughly is the topic covered? is it written for college level research? is the information sufficiently complete for your purposes?
Currency
when was the information on the site last updated or when was the source published? is the information timely?
Databases vs. the Web
Just because something is available online, that doesn’t mean it is a website. Online subscription databases like those from EBSCO are available because the library has paid to have online access to their materials, which is often more convenient for students and researchers. The open web, however, is exactly the opposite. The information is freely available, but anyone can create and host a site without any regulation. Be cautious when using the open web.