Skip to main content

Special Collections & Archives: Famous Transylvanians

Learn more about the unusual and rare collections that the college cares for.

Info

This is a list of people no longer living who are associated with Transylvania University. The links to the biographies in American National Biography, Kentucky Encyclopedia, etc. are available to the TU community on campus or through the Proxy server.  If you have suggestions for others we should add, please let us know.

Famous Transylvanians (no longer living)


Allen, James Lane (21 Dec. 1849-18 Feb. 1925), Fiction Writer, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia
Wikipedia article

Atchison, David Rice (11 Aug. 1807-26 Jan. 1886), U.S. Senator, Lawyer, TU Student
Bio from Early Republic and Antebellum America : An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Austin, Stephen Fuller (3 Nov. 1793-27 Dec. 1836), Colonist, Frontiersman / Pioneer, TU Student
Bio from Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History : An Encyclopedia
Bio from American National Biography

Barry, William Taylor (5 Feb. 1784-30 Aug. 1835), Jurist / Judge, Political Figure, Postmaster General, TU Faculty
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Bartlett, Elisha (6 Oct. 1804-19 July 1855), Physician, TU Faculty
Bio from American National Biography
Wikipedia entry

Bascom, Henry Bidleman (27 May 1796-8 Sept. 1850), Educational Institution Official, Methodist Episcopal Church, South, Bishop, TU President
Bio from American National Biography
Wikipedia entry
Portrait of Bascom which hangs in Old Morrison, Transylvania

Birney, James Gillespie (4 Feb. 1792-18 Nov. 1857), Abolitionist, Lawyer, TU Student
Wikipedia Article
Bio from Encyclopedia of African American History
Bio from American National Biography

Bishop, Robert Hamilton (26 July 1777-29 Apr. 1855), Educator, Presbyterian Clergy, TU Faculty, TU President
Bio from American National Biography

Bissell, William Henry (25 Apr. 1811-18 Mar. 1860), State Governor, U.S. Representative, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Blackburn, Luke Pryor (16 June 1816-14 Sept. 1887), Physician, State Governor, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Blair, Francis Preston (12 Apr. 1791-18 Oct. 1876), Newspaper Editor / Publisher, Presidential Adviser, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Blair, Francis Preston, Jr. (19 Feb. 1821-9 July 1875), Political Figure, Union Army Officer, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Blair, Montgomery (10 May 1813-27 July 1883), Lawyer, Postmaster General, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Bogy, Lewis Vital (9 Apr. 1813-20 Sept. 1877), U.S. Senator, Lawyer, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Boyle, Jeremiah Tilford (22 May 1818-28 July 1871), Railroad Industry Leader, Union Army Officer, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Bradford, John (6 June 1749-20 Mar. 1830), Historian, Newspaper Editor / Publisher, Printer, TU Trustee
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Breckinridge, John (2 Dec. 1760-14 Dec. 1806), Lawyer, Plantation Owner, Political Figure, TU Trustee
Bio from American National Biography

Breckinridge, John Cabell (21 Jan. 1821-17 May 1875), U.S. Vice President, Confederate Army Officer, TU Student
Bio from Early Republic and Antebellum America: An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Brown, Benjamin Gratz (28 May 1826-13 Dec. 1885), State Governor, U.S. Senator, Duelist, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Brown, James (11 Sept. 1766-7 Apr. 1835), Diplomat, U.S. Senator, TU faculty
Bio from American National Biography

Brown, John (12 Sept. 1757 - 28 August 1837 ), U.S. Senator, TU Trustee
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Brown, Orlando (26 Sept. 1801 - 26 July 1867), Writer, Editor, Lawyer, Politician, TU Student
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Brown, Samuel (30 Jan. 1769-12 Jan. 1830), Physician, TU faculty
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Buchanan, Joseph Rodes (11 Dec. 1814-26 Dec. 1899), Medical Writer, Phrenologist, Physician, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Butterfield, Billy (14 Jan. 1917-18 Mar. 1988), Trumpeter, Jazz Musician, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Caldwell, Charles (14 May 1772-9 July 1853), Medical Educator, Phrenologist, Physician, TU faculty
Bio from American National Biography

Cartwright, Samuel Adolphus (3 Nov. 1793-2 May 1863), Physician, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Chambers, John (6 Oct. 1780-21 Sept. 1852), Territorial Governor, U.S. Representative, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Chandler, Albert Benjamin (14 July 1898-15 June 1991), Sports Organization Executive, State Governor, U.S. Senator, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography
Obit from New York Times
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Chivers, Thomas Holley (18 Oct. 1809-18 Dec. 1858), Poet, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Churchill, Thomas James (10 Mar. 1824-14 May 1905), State Governor, Confederate Army Officer, Political Figure, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Clark, Champ (7 Mar. 1850-2 Mar. 1921), Speaker of the U.S. House of Representative, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Clay, Cassius Marcellus (19 Oct. 1810-22 July 1903), Abolitionist, Diplomat, Duelist, Political Figure, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Clay, Henry (12 Apr. 1777-29 June 1852), Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives, Duelist, Political Figure, Secretaries of State, TU faculty
Bio from American National Biography

Clay, Laura (9 Feb. 1849 - 29 June 1941), Activist, Suffragist, TU Student
Obit from New York Times

Clemens, Jeremiah (28 Dec. 1814-21 May 1865), Fiction Writer, Political Figure, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Cole, Richard Beverly (12 Aug. 1829-15 Jan. 1901), Physician, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Cooke, John Esten (2 Mar. 1783-19 Oct. 1853), Medical Educator, Physician, TU faculty
Bio from American National Biography

Crittenden, George Bibb (20 Mar. 1812-27 Nov. 1880), Confederate Army Officer, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Davis, Jefferson (3 June 1808?-6 Dec. 1889), U.S. Senator, Duelist, President of the Confederacy, TU Student
Entry from Encyclopedia of Civil War Medicine
Entry from Americans at War
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Donelson, Andrew Jackson (25 Aug. 1799-26 June 1871), Diplomat, Political Figure, Presidential Adviser, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Drake, Daniel (20 Oct. 1785-5 Nov. 1852), Medical Educator, Naturalist, Physician, TU faculty
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Dudley, Benjamin Winslow (12 Apr. 1785-20 Jan. 1870), Surgeon, Duelist, Medical Educator, TU faculty
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Duke, Basil Wilson (28 May 1838-16 Sept. 1916), Confederate Army Officer, Lawyer, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Dunlap, Livingston (1799-10 Sept. 1862), Civic Leader, Physician, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Eberle, John (10 Dec. 1787-2 Feb. 1838), Medical Educator, Medical Writer, Physician, TU faculty
Bio from American National Biography

Espy, James Pollard (9 May 1785-24 Jan. 1860), Science Educator, Meteorologist, TU Student
Bio from Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Bio from American National Biography

Fenner, Erasmus Darwin (1807-4 May 1866), Educator, Magazine and Journal Editor / Publisher, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Ford, Arthur A(ugustus) (1896-1971), Spiritualist, Medium, TU Student
Entry from Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology

Ford, Thomas (5 Dec. 1800 - 3 Nov. 1850), State Governor, Historian, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Fox, John, Jr. (16 Dec. 1862 or 1863-8 July 1919), Fiction Writer, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Fryer, John E. (7 Nov 1937 - 21 Feb. 2003), Psychiatrist, Activist, TU Student
Obit from New York Times
Wikipedia Bio
Historical Society of Pennsylvania Document Collection

Garrard, James (14 Jan. 1749 - 19 Jan. 1822), State Governor, Baptist Clergy, TU Trustee
Bio from American National Biography

Nicholas, George (1743 - 25 July 1799), Lawyer, Politician TU Faculty
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Giles, Janice (Holt) (28 March 1905 - 1 June 1979), Writer, TU Student
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Goodloe, William Cassius (27 June 1841-10 Nov. 1889), Lawyer, Political Figure, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Greenup, Christopher (c. 1750-27 Apr. 1818), State Governor, U.S. Representative, TU Trustee
Bio from American National Biography

Gwin, William McKendree (9 Oct. 1805-3 Sept. 1885), Entrepreneur, Political Figure, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Hammer, Victor (1882 - July 1967), Artist, Portraitist, TU Faculty
Obit from New York Times
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Hannegan, Edward Allen (25 June 1807-25 Feb. 1859), U.S. Representative, U.S. Senator, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Hardin, John J. (6 Jan. 1810-23 Feb. 1847), Army Officer (1784-1860), Political Figure, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Hardin, Martin D. (21 June 1780-8 Oct. 1823), U.S. Senator, Lawyer, Army Officer (1784-1860), TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Harlan, John Marshall (1 June 1833-14 Oct. 1911), U.S. Supreme Court Justice, TU Student
Entry from the Jim Crow Encyclopedia
Entry from West's Encyclopedia of American Law

Harrison, Carter Henry (15 Feb. 1825-28 Oct. 1893), Mayors, Murder Victim, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Hart, Joel Tanner (11 Feb. 1810-2 Mar. 1877), Sculptor, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Hise, Elijah (4 July 1801-8 May 1867), Diplomat, Lawyer, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Holley, Horace (13 Feb. 1781-31 July 1827), Unitarian Clergy, Educational Institution Official, TU President
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia
Portrait in Library
Portrait in Old Morrison

Holley, Mary Austin (30 Oct. 1784 - 2 Aug 1846), Writer
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Hunt, John Wesley (Aug. 1773-21 Aug. 1849), Capitalist / Financier, Frontiersman / Pioneer, Hemp / Cordage Industry Leader, Merchant, TU Trustee
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Innes, Harry (4 Jan. 1752 - 20 Sept. 1816), Farmer, Lawyer, TU Trustee
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Jillson, Willard Rouse (28 May 1890 - 5 Oct 1975),Writer, State Geologist, TU Faculty
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Johnson, George W. (27 May 1811 - 8 April 1862), Lawyer, Farmer, Governor of Confederate Kentucky, TU Student
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Johnson, Richard Mentor (17 Oct 1781 - 19 Nov. 1850), Lawyer, Ky Senator, US Congressman, VP of US, TU Student
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Johnston, Albert Sidney (2 Feb. 1803-6 Apr. 1862), Confederate Army Officer, Duelist, Army Officer (1784-1860), TU Student
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from The Encyclopedia of Civil War Medicine
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Johnston, Josiah Stoddard (24 Nov. 1784-19 May 1833), U.S. Representative, U.S. Senator, Jurist / Judge, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Jones, George Wallace (12 Apr. 1804-22 July 1896), Merchant, Miner, Political Figure, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Jouett, Matthew Harris (22 Apr. 1788-10 Aug. 1827), Painter, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Kellogg, Albert (6 Dec. 1813-31 Mar. 1887), Botanist, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Koerner, Gustave Philipp (20 Nov. 1809-9 Apr. 1896), Diplomat, Lawyer, Political Figure, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Langdon, William Chauncy (19 Aug. 1831-29 Oct. 1895), Episcopalian Clergy, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Lanier, James Franklin Doughty (22 Nov. 1800-27 Aug. 1881), Banker / Financial Industry Leader, Lawyer, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Long, Crawford Williamson (1 Nov. 1815-16 June 1878), Surgeon, Anesthesiologist, Physician, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Magoffin, Beriah (18 Apr. 1815-28 Feb. 1885), State Governor, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Marshall, Louis (7 Oct. 1773- Apr. 1866), Educational Institution Official, Physician, TU Faculty
Bio from American National Biography

Marshall, Thomas Alexander (15 Jan. 1794-15 Apr. 1871), Jurist / Judge, Lawyer, Political Figure, TU Faculty
Bio from American National Biography

Mason, Stevens Thomson (27 Oct. 1811-4 Jan. 1843), State Governor, Lawyer, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

McAfee, Robert Breckinridge (18 Feb. 1784-12 Mar. 1849), Historian, Political Figure, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

McDowell, Joseph Nash (1 Apr. 1805-25 Sept. 1868), Anatomist, Medical Educator, TU Student & Faculty
Bio from American National Biography

McGarvey, John William (1 Mar. 1829-6 Oct. 1911), Religious Educator, Disciples of Christ Clergy, TU faculty
Bio from American National Biography

Metcalfe, Samuel Lytler (21 Sept. 1798-17 July 1856), Medical Scientist, Physician, TU Faculty
Bio from American National Biography

Miller, Samuel Freeman (5 Apr. 1816-13 Oct. 1890), U.S. Supreme Court Justice, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from West's Encyclopedia of American Law

Mitchell, Myrtle Critchfield (1885-1964), CEO of Coca-Cola bottling, Lexington, TU Trustee
Article on the Mitchells from Winchester Sun

Mitchell, Thomas Duché (1791-13 May 1865), Medical Educator, Physician, TU Faculty
Bio from American National Biography

Moore, James (1764-22 June 1814), Episcopalian Clergy, TU Student & President
Bio from American National Biography
Portrait of James Moore which hangs in the Transylvania Library

Moore, Thomas Patrick (1796?-21 July 1853), U.S. Representative, Diplomat, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Morehead, James Turner (24 May 1797-28 Dec. 1854), Lawyer, Political Figure, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Morgan, John Hunt (1 June 1825-4 Sept. 1864), Confederate Army Officer, Duelist, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Morrow, Thomas Vaughn (14 Apr. 1804-16 July 1850), Physician, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Nicholas, George (c. 1754-25 July 1799), Lawyer, TU Faculty
Bio from American National Biography

Norton, Elijah Hise (24 Nov. 1821-5 Aug. 1914), U.S. Representative, Jurist / Judge, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Patterson, Robert (23 Mar. 1753-9 Nov. 1827), Frontiersman / Pioneer, TU Trustee
Bio from American National Biography
Portrait of Robert Patterson which hangs in the Transylvania Library

Peter, Robert (21 Jan. 1805-26 Apr. 1894), Science Educator, Chemist, TU Faculty
Bio from American National Biography

Pope, Nathaniel (5 Jan. 1784-23 Jan. 1850), Territorial Delegate, Federal Government Official, Jurist / Judge, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Rafinesque, Constantine Samuel (22 Oct. 1783-18 Sept. 1840), Naturalist, TU Faculty
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Rice, David (29 Dec. 1733-18 June 1816), Presbyterian Clergy
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Ridgely, Frederick (25 May 1757-21 Nov. 1824), Surgeon, Physician, TU Faculty
Bio from American National Biography

Robinson, James Fisher (4 Oct. 1800 - 31 Oct 1882), Farmer, Lawyer, Governor, TU Student
Entry from Kentucky Encyclopedia

Rollins, James Sidney (19 Apr. 1812-9 Jan. 1888), U.S. Representative, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Rose, Frank (-4 Feb, 1991), Educator, TU Student, TU Faculty, TU President
Obit from New York Times
Portrait of Frank Rose which hangs in the Library

Rouquette, Adrien Emmanuel (26 Feb. 1813-15 July 1887), Roman Catholic Clergy, Poet, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from New Catholic Encyclopedia

Sayre, Lewis Albert (29 Feb. 1820-21 Sept. 1900), Orthopedic Surgeon, TU Student, TU Faculty
Bio from American National Biography

Shannon, Wilson (24 Feb. 1802-30 Aug. 1877), State Governor, Lawyer, Political Figure, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Shelby, Isaac (11 Dec. 1750-18 July 1826), Revolutionary Army Officer, State Governor, War Hero, TU Trustee
Bio from American National Biography
Portrait of Isaac Shelby which hangs in Old Morrison

Shelby, Joseph Orville (12 Dec. 1830-13 Feb. 1897), Confederate Army Officer, Plantation Owner, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Short, Charles Wilkins (6 Oct. 1794-7 Mar. 1863), Botanist, Medical Educator, Physician, TU Faculty
Bio from American National Biography

Simms, William Elliott (2 Jan. 1822-25 June 1898), U.S. Representative, Lawyer, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Speed, James (11 Mar. 1812-25 June 1887), Attorney General (Federal), TU Student
Bio from American National Biography
Entry from West's Encyclopedia of American Law

Stuart, John Todd (10 Nov. 1807-28 Nov. 1885), U.S. Representative, Lawyer, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Sullivant, William Starling (15 Jan. 1803-30 Apr. 1873), Science Writer, Botanist, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Sutton, William Loftus (21 May 1797-20 July 1862), Statisticians, Health and Safety Reformers, Physician, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Thomas, Charles Allen (-31 March 1982), Scientist, Businessman, Chairman of the Board, TU Student
Obit from New York Times

Toulmin, Harry (7 Apr. 1766-11 Nov. 1823), Unitarian Clergy, Jurist / Judge, Law Reporter, Political Figure, TU President
Bio from American National Biography

Trimble, Robert (17 Nov. 1776-25 Aug. 1828), U.S. Supreme Court Justice, TU Trustee
Bio from The Supreme Court Justices : Illustrated Biographies, 1789-2012

Vest, George Graham (6 Dec. 1830-9 Aug. 1904), U.S. Senator, Confederate Legislators / Government Official, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Watkins, Maureen Dallas (July 27, 1896 - August 10, 1969), Reporter, Playwright, TU Student
Bio from Wikipedia

Whitcomb, James (1 Dec. 1795-4 Oct. 1852), State Governor, U.S. Senator, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Williams, Henry Shaler (6 Mar. 1847-31 July 1918), Geologist, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography

Wilson, Joshua Lacy (22 Sept. 1774-14 Aug. 1846), Presbyterian Clergy
Bio from American National Biography

Yandell, Lunsford Pitts, Sr. (4 July 1805-4 Feb. 1878), Physician, Presbyterian Clergy, TU Student, TU Faculty
Bio from American National Biography
Info from FindAGrave

Yates, Richard (18 Jan. 1815-27 Nov. 1873), State Governor, U.S. Senator, TU Student
Bio from American National Biography
 

last updated 5/15/12